Question of the Day

Do you understand Obamacare?

This entry was posted in Question of the day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question of the Day

  1. Joy says:

    I really don’t because I think there is so much about it that we don’t know. Other than the kids can stay on their parents policies longer and if you can’t be denied if it’s a something you’ve always had, I don’t think much more about it has been said. Or did I miss it?

  2. SKL says:

    I have taken one or two continuing ed classes where I got the highlights from an insurance expert. Not recently, though.

    I know some stuff about it, but my thing is, I don’t know if I believe it will really ever be implemented as passed. It’s like a lot of things in government budget stuff, including this “fiscal cliff.” In the tax world, you get used to them agreeing at the last minute to retroactively fix something to head off problems. And then there are many US laws that nobody really bothers to enforce.

    Here’s something I always wonder about. Medicare fraud crackdown. I mean, do we really need a new law saying that anti-fraud laws need to be enforced? Shouldn’t it go without saying that the crime of fraud is going to be punished?

    But back to Obamacare. I think lots of people have come up with their own creative definitions that bear no resemblance to the legislation. For example, I have to pay 100% out of pocket for most of Miss A’s therapies, treatments, etc. My friend mentioned that Obamacare would change that, as if suddenly the government is going to suck up all my non-conventional medical costs. Ha. On the other hand I have friends on Medicare who have had to lobby for a year to get enough sugar test strips to keep them alive. They worry that Obamacare will eventually just cut them off from lifesaving treatments because of their age etc.

  3. Nikki says:

    Short answer, no. I have really looked too much into it, to be honest. I have a girlfriend who has a son who is a diabetic and she’s very concerned about the cost of all his needed meds with Obamacare.

  4. Laura says:

    I don’t understand much of it, either. I keep thinking of Nancy Pelosi and her famous, “You have to pass the bill to find out what’s in the bill.” I work with a man whose bread and butter is Medicare Supplement policies and all the flim-flam that goes with them. A very small percentage of his business is also regular health insurance policies. He tells me that within 5 years, we will not recognize our health-delivery system. He’s pretty much planning for that part of his career to be over. Why? Because insurance companies will no longer be allowed to refuse people, but they can “rate them up” to prohibitive rates. And when you see that your health plan is going to now be $1000 or more a month for an individual, you’re not going to be able to pay that. So what will you do? You can’t go without, it’s illegal now. So you’ll be forced into the government pool – Medicaid. Soon, everyone will be on Medicaid, and voila! Obama’s goal is reached: a Single Payer System.

    I really hope that this doesn’t happen, but honestly, I’ve already seen it, in small steps.

Leave a Reply

