T.G.I.F.

Well, hello Friday. Nice to see you again. 🙂 Did everyone have a good week? We finally got a good amount of snow. It’s already melting though, so I don’t see it sticking around for too long. It sure was pretty though, and this is great for our lakes.

Weekend plans? Nothing too exciting for us. I’m going through our clothes and packing away things I know we won’t be wearing until after the move. I’ve moved so many times in my life, I am a pro at it! However, I am looking forward to *hopefully* never moving again. Or at least, not for many, many years.

What’s going on in your neck of the woods?

This entry was posted in moving, snow, TGIF, weekend and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to T.G.I.F.

  1. mssc54 says:

    Funny you asked what neck of the woods.

    Friday night a group of men from our church are going to one of the guys hunt club. There is a cabin and a few campers. Some of the guys really get into the camping thing so they are bringing tents.

    There are two thousand acres. Some of the guys are bringing dirt bikes and ATVs for Saturday.there is also a skeet range and targets for rife an pistols.

    Oh! I’m bringing some of the straw bails so we can shoot some archery too. One of the guys said he has a crossbow pistol!

    Squirm and rabbit hunting too.

    • Laura says:

      All except for the hunting, I am totally jealous. This sounds like a really fun weekend.

      One question, though… what is “squirm hunting”? Is that where you cull out the squirmiest, most annoying guy and give him a head start, then track him through the woods and shoot peas at him? Sounds like fun. I think I’d be in…

  2. Laura says:

    Well… Josh got our plague. Took him to the Dr today, and he’s got bronchitis. Yuk. But he’s feeling ok, as long as I keep him stuffed full of decongestants and ibuprofen…

    This weekend? We’ve got a Pinewood Derby Car Clinic and Pizza Party at the home of one of our scouts. His dad has a woodworking shop, so he’s opened it up for the boys to use – they’ll have saws, sanding stuff, all the tools we need to get our cars done, except maybe the paint, which is fine, because the woodworking is the time-consuming part. I just have to remember to bring my digital scales, because they’re very strict on the weight of the cars. Boys get 5 oz cars, and adults/open class are 8 oz. Last year, mine came in 3rd overall for Best Look. Boy, was I surprised!!

    The rest of the weekend will just be kind of a ‘hang out’ weekend. All three of us are in some stage of recovery from various strains of the Ick. Steve and I had sinus infections, I’m sure I had bronchitis, and now Josh with his. It’s a wonder the animals are still healthy.

    Oh, yeah!!! Get out your booties!!! Saturday is the IDITAROD!!! I have several favorite mushers… Martin Buser, DeeDee Jonrowe (who wears a pink coat, and has her dogs in pink harness, as she is a breast cancer survivor). Lance Mackey, of course, who has won the race for the last several years. Apparently his dogs are racing fools. But I have two special favorites. The first is Karen Ramstead – I follow her “Pretty Curly Tail” blog, usually written by her Border Collie, Bet. It’s usually pretty funny. Karen races a team of purebred Siberian Huskies – not the fastest dogs on the trail, but arguably some of the most hardy. And Cym Smith. When I went to AK a couple years ago to visit my childhood best friend, Jill, Cym was there. He and his wife are pretty good friends of Jill and her husband. So I always watch his team extra close.

    So, for the next week and a half, I will switch my obsession away from Downton Abbey to the cold winds of the Iditarod Trail…

  3. SKL says:

    My week has been busy, somewhat productive, not too crazy. I got a new project in the field I used to work in before I had kids, and I was surprised at how easily it came after all these years. Now I have to find time to work on it, as it is an urgent project. I still have other work backlog, but I’m chipping away at it little by little.

    I don’t have specific plans for this weekend. I should really start looking for stuff to do on alternate Saturdays, such as amateur theater and such. I do have some info on that kind of stuff, but a lot of it isn’t family-friendly, and the weather isn’t yet good enough to just hang out at the park or ride bikes. But I feel like time’s a-wastin’. (Putzing at home isn’t really an option when you live with a workaholic.)

    I really don’t have much to talk about today. I know, what a shock. I hope you all are having fun and will enjoy your weekend.

  4. Karen joy says:

    Hey did I miss something?Your moving Nikki?

    • Nikki says:

      We are! I’m loading pics up to FB right now. 🙂 We signed the papers last night. We’ve decided to lease to own. This house is so perfect for us, we’d be fools to pass it up.

  5. Nikki says:

    Whoohoooo finally I am no longer spammed! LOL I cleaned out my entire computer, did a whole scan. Geez, that was annoying. For the last 3 days every single comment I made here went to spam.

  6. starlaschat says:

    Cute picture and fun flashing sign! I know someone another blogger that was happening to all the comments he made ended up in the spam pile. I had to look in my spam folder I found a few. He sent me a link to the spam museum that was fun on their website they have a fire breathing dragon and sharks moving in the water. Spam recipes which no matter how good the picture is I still couldn’t talk myself into cooking a meal with spam. I can’t believe I used my whole comment on spam. Oh well such is life.

    • Joy says:

      I think it’s great Starla when we talk about things like that. I find I learn a lot from other bloggers. I can’t for the life of me figure out how things go to spam. If Paul makes a comment it goes there too but he hardly ever does. Maybe a Braingle but why would Nikki’s go there? She’s an administrator of the blog for crying out loud. I’ll go check around a little bit because that would irritate me too.

  7. SKL says:

    Today my sister dropped over with Baby Gwen. She’ll be a year old in March, and this is the first time I’ve been under the same roof with her since she was in the NICU.

    She is so cute. She is still fragile and her mobility is not quite “normal” on her right side, but they are working with her and I think she’s perfect! What a gift.

Leave a Reply

