What do you think?

I didn’t believe this headline to be “true” so I had to read the article. A middle school girl was reprimanded in class and kept out of one her team’s basketball games because she said, “I love you” in her native language to two of her friends.

I’m not sure I fully understand the teachers reasoning here. Unless, it was disruptive to the class, which I don’t see is the case here. I’m not a teacher, and I have great respect for them. However, wouldn’t it have been just fine to ask her to repeat what she said to the class, and what it meant? Or to simply say, “wait until after class to speak to your friends.”

Do you think this student deserved what happened? Do you see this as being a big deal, like they are making it out to be? Am I missing something here??

What do you think?

This entry was posted in discipline, life lessons, teachers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What do you think?

  1. SKL says:

    It’s hard to respond to this without being there. I remember when my brother was around that age and started saying something in the popular kid code language to another kid, and my dad had a hissy. Because it seemed like he may have been saying something disrespectful. So I can imagine a scenario where the teacher has had this happen in class and felt it was disruptive or disrespectful because of the circumstances. And I think that if the teacher told her to knock it off and she didn’t, then the student was in the wrong, just as I would have been in the wrong had I continued blabbing, singing, or telling jokes after a teacher told me to stop.

    Then again, if this was during their free time and everyone was allowed to chat freely as long as it was in English, and the girl really was not copping an attitude with the teacher or other students, then I would say the teacher was in the wrong.

    I don’t like the idea that teachers have to walk on eggshells in the name of diversity. Yes, they need to be accepting of differences, but that does not mean they have to let “diverse” students get away with everything.

    And furthermore, it is generally rude to speak in a language that only some of your group understands, when everyone in the group can speak English. It’s rude for adults, so why would it be wrong to teach kids that it’s rude? If it were other rude behavior such as loudly belching in class, would the teacher have leeway to punish in order to get the kid to knock it off? Is it counterproductive to teach “diverse” kids that they are allowed to break basic social rules in class in the name of “diversity”?

  2. Laura says:

    This is the slippery slope that we’ve been sliding down for a very long time. In general, I agree with SKL – I’d have to know more about the circumstance before I can judge; of course, that’s not going to stop me from spouting off…

    The thing that really got me about this article – and what makes me think that it’s more about being Politically Correct than anything else – is the quote from the mother, “I’m not going to let anybody tell me they can’t speak that language.” Nobody is telling this young lady (the student) that she can’t speak that language. They’re just telling her that there is a time and a place. If the situation was reversed – if this was a language immersion program – and a student said something in English, they’d be busted for it. I remember sitting in French Class, and getting busted for saying something in English. So what’s the difference?

    As SKL said, the only time that I would find it acceptable is if it was a free period, a study hall or something like that, where it didn’t really matter, and the students’ conversations were their own. Otherwise, it’s disrespectful, and warranted some kind of discipline.

    I don’t know, though, that the punishment fit the crime… being benched for a game seems awful harsh for a first offense, but then, I don’t know all of the specifics.

    I do think it’s insane that half the staff, it seems, had to apologize not only to this student, but to her family and to the Menominee Tribe. That’s going a little overboard. Political Correctness has gone WAY too far.

  3. Nikki says:

    I do think the whole situation got blown out of proportion. I think all those apologizes were unnecessary.

    I think if it was a full conversation, I would feel different, but it was a few words. I get it, people think it’s rude to speak in a different language in front of people who can’t understand it. I don’t like it either. I just thought it was all taken too far.

  4. Joy says:

    I could have sworn I answered this last night. WORDPRESS!!!! LOL!! I just found this on an open page and I forgot to hit “post comment!”

    I do really think this has been blown way up. Unless it’s been a problem and these girls have maybe been warned about speaking like this. You know how kids get and this may have gotten out of hand in the past and they’d been warned about it. Kids don’t always fess up.

    On the other hand. To miss a sporting event as a punishment? I kind of think that went over the top.

    I just went and listened to the video which I didn’t do last night and it kind of sounds like these girls had been doing this before because she said “the girls kept saying phrases in another language” and the teacher told her “it was rude and asked how they’d like it if she just started speaking Polish?” It makes more sense to me now. Me thinks these girls might have been playing with this teacher. I’ve know a group of girls to misbehave and then lay on the tears and really bend the truth. Now I’m not so sure.

    Still. I think if there was a problem with these girls, the parents maybe should have been called and taking her out of a sporting event like this should have been the last resort. Unless it was and we just don’t know. I also didn’t like the mothers attitude that “nobody can tell me not to use my native language.”

  5. Laura says:

    That mom’s comment really pushed my buttons. THAT’S what is making me think that this is a way blown-out-of-proportion thing, as opposed to a big bad offense.

    That phrase, combined with the fact that she’s demanding that the teacher be FIRED, is telling me that she’s out for her 15 min, rather than has the best interest of the kids or the school, or even an overall lesson, in mind.

    pathetic.

    • Joy says:

      I didn’t care for that mom’s comments at all. She acted so self entitled and the whole “nobody can tell me” attitude shows through in her daughter.

Leave a Reply

