Pull Up a Treadmill

I know most of us, in one way or another, are either in shape and trying to stay that way, or are trying to get there. Personally, I’m trying to get into the same STATE as “not really roly-poly”, and somewhere in the neighborhood of “can run up a flight of stairs without needing oxygen and CPR.

So today, let’s meet in the gym and sweat while we talk. Sometimes the workout can go faster if you have someone to take your mind off the torture.

While we’re here… what’d you do this weekend? And… in the absence of that… I’m looking for ideas for workouts. What’s your favorite?

This entry was posted in Pull Up Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pull Up a Treadmill

  1. Sue says:

    I am thankful that it’s now quiet in the house. It’s been a long weekend and I don’t say that very often! Friday was Toby’s birthday so we went tubing at the local ski hill. It was a nice evening and the snow pack was icy so it made for some fast runs! Saturday we didn’t do anything exciting. Grocery shopping, that was it. My parents, brother, and sister and her family came over Saturday night to celebrate Toby’s birthday. We played In a Pickle and Apples to Apples. Another late night for the kids so we had one cranky little guy here today. Holy. Cow. Today was the 4-H meeting at the bowling alley and then volleyball this evening. I’m glad to be sitting in my chair right now 🙂

    As far as working out…I hate going to a gym. Part b/c of where I live and the other part b/c I don’t like people watching me! I really do love my Turbo Jam DVD’s and would suggest those if you can stand doing a workout video. I also run and play volleyball. I ran this morning b/c my thermometer said it was 30 degrees outside, but it was like 10!!!! It was FREEZING! Thankfully there was only a light breeze or I wouldn’t have made it! I think another way to help stay on track is to set a goal in the near future so you have something to train for. Whether it’s a 5k run/walk or something like that. The Spooky Sprint we did was a blast. It’s hard to get in the habit of working out, but the benefits are great 🙂

    • Jason says:

      I, like Sue, went for a run this morning. I knew it would be cold, but at least it wasn’t like yesterday!!! I have been taking our German Shorthaired Pointer with me. I think the dog could go for miles on end at my pace, so in a since he pushes me! I think setting a goal is a great way to get in shape. Even better is to register for a race, such as a 5K Walk/Run. Then you have reason to exercise. I am trying to work my way to a Half-Marathon for the end of April. I did a little over 5 miles today, and felt rather good at the end of it. We didn’t really do much this weekend I think the cranky boy bug must have passed from our house on Saturday to Sue’s house today. We did head up to Saint Cloud, just so we could all get out of the house. We were all starting to come down with cabin fever.

  2. mssc54o says:

    My weekend consisted of staying home with the kids while my Mrs. was at the hospital with our six year old grandson and oldest daughter. The pollen was so bad Friday his asthma caused him to be transported (by ambulance) to the MUSC. He was released late Saturday.

    Saturday night we received over five inches of rain so that washed the pollen away… for now. So that means I just stayed in Sunday.

  3. SKL says:

    Well, right now I’m feeling kinda fat because I’ve been overeating for three days. I didn’t plan it tht way, but people just kept giving me more food than I should be eating. On the positive side, I did get some exercise on Friday and Saturday – more than I can usually say. But today I have been pretty much a vegetable with a mouth. However, I felt so good after doing some exercise on Friday that I may be motivated to get back into it. The thing that got me going was playing some upbeat music on the boombox in my room, while waiting for my computer to do something slow. I usually have soft CDs in there and I usually don’t play them much. The lively music got me moving, so I think I will try to do that for a little time each day.

    I didn’t really do anything of note this weekend. Saturday I worked as usual, and in the evening, I didn’t have any particular plans so I took the kids for a walk and then to the McD’s PlayPlace (their treat for doing well at school last week). Sunday was also no thrill – church / Sunday School, music practice, work. I got rid of a couple piles of kid stuff (off to the baby cousins) and filled out the kids’ school registration form. That’s about it.

    Coming up this week, we have primary elections, so I need to figure out what to do. How to decide on someone I like who would also have a good chance of winning in November. I checked out Rush but in the last few days, I have not seen anything on who he thinks would do well in November. I think I know whom “I” like best, but that may or may not be the right person to vote for.

    That’s about it for now. My, I’m boring these days.

  4. Laura says:

    My weekend was pretty busy, actually. Saturday, we had a Pinewood Derby Clinic with our Den (6 boys and their dads), so the boys could get a good start on their cars. We got them all cut out, and made sure the boys understood the rules and weight requirements. And I even talked several of the dads into participating in the Open Class. Pinewood Derby is always so much fun, it’s nice to have so many adults involved.

    After the clinic, it was back here to catch the start of the Iditarod. They stream it online, so I was glued to the computer for most of the afternoon, watching for “my” mushers, and Josh came and checked in every once in a while. He loves to watch the dogs leaping in their harnesses. So do I, actually… man, do those dogs love to run!!

    Sunday started with church – Josh is in the Children’s Choir, and they were on today. Then my Facebook Sale paid off, and, after a visit to McD’s, Josh got to go to his friend Will’s house for the afternoon. I came home and got some treadmill work done, and did some online Scout Leader Training. Had a bit of a hissy fit when my internet cut out at the end of a training session, and I had to completely re-run it again (45 min that I will never get back…), but the second time it worked, and I am now a fully trained Cubmaster. Thank you.

    My current favorite workout involves a treadmill and my television. Ok, it’s not my favorite, but it’s the one I can almost guarantee that (1) I will do, and (2) be able to do regardless of weather conditions. I walk for a half hour, watching “Friends”. I love the show, and it keeps me off of the ever-increasing incline and speed of the treadmill. The only problem I have with it is that Hobbes has suddenly developed a fascination for the belt, and I have to make sure he’s not trying to crawl under. Idiot cat.

  5. Nikki says:

    We had a pretty productive weekend. Geez, when Jason wants soemthing done, it gets done! lol I love that! We got almost everything that could be packed, packed. We do still have 2 weeks here, so not everything can be in a box. I am not living out of boxes for 2 weeks. So we basically have a few clothes still hanging, most of the kitchen and the bathroom left. Crazy to think this coming weekend will be our last weekend in the house.

    I forgot to mention last week that Bailey and I finally watched The Help. It was a snow day, so it was a perfect day to cuddle up and watch movies. We’re both glad we watched it, and I recommend everyone seeing it. We both cried, laughed…and cried some more. Bailey walked away from it with a good understanding as to why we treat people equally. He felt really bad that anyone would be treated that way. Great movie!

    What else? I have my follow up urologist appointment at 9:45 this morning. I’m hoping for the best, but there is still stuff going on that shouldn’t be going on. So, I hope to at least walk out with some answers, and an end in sight. Longest. Three. Weeks. EVER.

    Other than that, not a whole lot going on this week. Packing and cleaning. Hoping for some warm temps so we can start working on cleaning the garage out. Well, Jason…not me!

    Have a good Monday! 🙂

    • Nikki says:

      Oh, favorite work outs. I love Pilates. I can’t do a whole lot of jumping around, or my knee will hurt. Pilates works for me, and my body responds really well to it. I do enjoy running outside. I learned how to run with ease, so it’s much easier on my knee. I am not as ambitious or dedicated as Sue is, so I wait for warm weather! lol

    • Vicki says:

      We really liked that movie The Help too. I see why it won so many awards.

  6. Vicki says:

    It will be 4 weeks on Thurs that i slipped on the ice and hurt my tailbone which put a screeching halt to any excersise i was doing..its better but still not right, i still cannot sit right.. I plowed snow last week and had to bring the donut out to sit on which seemed to help. I was in and out of the tractor ATLEAST 20 times, i kept breaking pins because the snow was so heavy. i eventually went unto the little tractor with the bucket on..needless to say after 5 hours outside of bumping twisting, up and down i could hardly move the next day and to top that off i didnt finish!! then that evening to add to that i had mandatory Use of Force class i had to go too, of course I was limited to what i could do but i was there and participated the best i could. I cant wait to get back to normal, I plan on hitting the excersise equipment hard.
    Sean and I went to a Sheriff’s Auction on Sat in Stearns County(waite park), It was outside and VERY cold. didnt buy nothing, things were going pretty high in price.
    So excited that tomorrow and the next day temps are going to be in the 50s!! CMON SPRING!!!

    • SKL says:

      Oh man, I’ve done that to my tailbone. I literally could not sit down for three days. Of course I still had to go to work (desk job, long hours) and go to a restaurant for someone’s birthday. Ow, ow, ow! I sure hope I don’t make that mistake again.

      I’m thinking how funny I must have looked trying to work in my office, standing with my legs spread out.

      I hope you feel better soon.

      • Vicki says:

        Thank you SKL, Trust me when im outside i walk with a shuffle ( i call it the old lady shuffle) and very carefully, i told everyone at home if i fall again in the state im in i guarantee you’ll be hauling me to the hospital..LOL It sure is a slow healing process thats for sure.
        I forgot to mention my fav work out item has to be the treadmill and next in line would be the eliptical.. a year ago i wouldve never ever said the eliptical but now that i got used to it i kind of like it. when i first started on it i couldnt do more the 5 minutes and id be exhausted, now i think i could go for as long as i wish too. I love to have the music playing while working out, usually loud and i like to listen to rock and hard rock..acdc,guns n roses,metallica kind of stuff. 🙂

    • Joy says:

      Do you want me to bring you over “the cane?” I’m really only half kidding.

      I know the way you fell that it would be a really long recovery. I fell like that once going down the stairs and I laid there for a long few minutes. Nobody heard me. It took me months to feel better. It’s such a slow process. Does your tub help? I know I said this before but I’ll say it again. You might feel better moving around wise to go swimming. There’s also a huge whirlpool tub over there. I’ll take you anytime you want to check it out. Seriously. It really helped me a few weeks ago to loosen up my sore back.

      • Vicki says:

        lol @ Toby Keith…ugh! LOL Thats why when you come over to excersise i play something in the middle of our likings kind of music and not blasting..I wouldnt want to subject you to my likings and i surely dont want to hear no country western (crap)!! LOL
        I don’t need the cane, I walk fine now.. but gee thanks. lol
        Tub, hot water, jets rolling feels good and helps, yes. but even there i cant sit right..lol
        If i do too much it kind of sets me back a little…such as the tractor stuff was too much last week. I’ll keep your offer in mind..thanks
        oh well, all in good time i guess.

  7. starlaschat says:

    Favorite workout is watching exercise machine infomercials. I use to like cross country skiing, biking, walking. I bought one small 4 pound pink wieght I like to say to Navar as I show him my bicepts” Welcome to the Gun Show.” He laughs hystarically oh well, I just started to use it. I’m slow to exercise these days I think more about it than really the act of doing somthing. I went to the doctor for bronchitus Saturday, so I’m still slow and puney drinking tea and thinking of napping soon. I know I misspelled a bunch of words but I don’t feel well so I have a good excuse.

Leave a Reply

