Make an Impact

I believe we’ve talked about this before. I’d like to address it again, because I can’t remember what people thought of it. I received an email this morning from another baseball mom. Her son suffered traumatic brain injury due to a concussion during hockey, 7 weeks ago. He has yet to return to any activities, or school for that matter. He has dealt with severe headaches,  memory issues, balance problems, personality changes and has even lost his ability to problem solve.

The only progress that can be monitor though, is the progress that he has made since the accident.  You see, his parents were not familiar with a Baseline Concussion Test.  Knowing what I know, I stress to everyone I know, as soon as your child is 10 years old, have them get tested.  Yes, this will not prevent the injury, but it does help in the unfortunate event of a concussion. My son, will be getting this done. Concussions can happen at any time, playing any sport.

Had these parents had the baseline test done, they would know where he stand in HIS progress, and not the “national average” of kids his age.

ImPACT has partnered with Dick’s Sporting Goods, to offer free testing for one year. However, they only offer during football season. If you have one near, I urge you to take your kids in. Or speak to your local hospital, or school. Even if they aren’t in sports. Concussions can happen in any situation. Falling out of tree, off a bike, etc. Here’s the link. 


This entry was posted in accidents, activities, concussions, safety, sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Make an Impact

  1. SKL says:

    Interesting idea. What are they taking a baseline of? Cognitive ability? Brain activity?

    • Joy says:

      I kind of wondered that too but I’ll bet it’s all of them. Or checking to see there hasn’t been a concision already and if there were one, they’d know how different the two are.

  2. Laura says:

    This is a really good idea, and I’ve sent this info to our school’s principal. Too bad I didn’t get it sooner, I would have brought it up at our PTO meeting tonight. This just makes good sense, to me. I get my blood tested every year for the same reason – if ever I need it, I have baselines for comparisons. God willing, I will never need it.

    As far as ImPACT (the test itself), here is a link to the “about” page, which tells you what they test, and more about how it works.

    • Nikki says:

      Thanks Laura for providing that link.

      You have to have some sort of idea of where you were before an unfortunate accident, to truly know how you are improving. I wish every school would do this! I sent this information over to our athletic director for the school. Hopefully something will be done. I think it’s like $500, and I know our school isn’t the richest, but they aren’t hurting either.

  3. Joy says:

    You also should keep in mind that kids don’t need to play in sports to get a concussion. Falling off a bed or couch. Falling down the stairs or off a bike. There are hundreds of ways kids knock their heads many times throughout the day. My kids were riding their bikes down the big hill at the lake when they were 6 and 7 years old. Little buggers!! So keep that in mind if you think it’s unnecessary. Anyone can get a concussion and this way they can see what’s been hurt and what hasn’t been.

    I’m really glad you put this here Nikki.

  4. mssc54 says:

    This is a great idea. But what is so magical about the age of ten? And remember girls get concussions too. Heading the ball in soccer can cause injury.

Leave a Reply

