What Do You Think? Kind of…

Photo Credit: TheChive.com

Driving around today, someone on the radio said that Godfather 2 was quite possibly the “only sequel ever to be better than the original movie”. And it got me to thinkin’… is that true?

There are SO MANY sequels out there, from the never-ending Halloween series, to the completely planned out Star Wars Saga. Surely Godfather 2 isn’t the only sequel that was better than the original, was it?

What do you think?

This entry was posted in movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What Do You Think? Kind of…

  1. SKL says:

    I can’t think of any, but that is probably because I haven’t seen as many sequels as most people. I generally distrust them. (Besides, I don’t spend that much time watching movies.)

  2. Laura says:

    My short list:
    Indiana Jones & the Last Crusade (we will NOT discuss the debacle that is the 4th movie)
    Hp & the Goblet of Fire (the books got better, but as the story got more complicated, they had to abridge it in the final movies)
    Return of the Jedi

  3. Laura says:

    Steve’s list:
    Return of the Jedi
    The Star Trek movies got better with time
    Porky’s II
    some of the James Bond Movies, including Goldeneye

    • Joy says:

      Do you consider James Bond to be numbered movies? I always thought of them as sequels. I loved almost all the James Bond movies but never thought of them as 2, 3, 4 etc.

      • Laura says:

        Yeah, we discussed this, and decided that, since they kind of progressed as time did, that we’d loosely consider them “sequels”

  4. mssc54o says:

    ICE AGE then ICE AGE: THE MELT DOWN was pretty good.

    Alvin and the Chipmunks and the Squequal vacuumed pretty bad.

  5. Nikki says:

    The Underworld series keeps getting better. The 4th, Underworld-Awakening came out in January, and we haven’t seen it yet. That might be the only series I look forward to!

    The worst, in my opinion were the Saw movies. We watched the 1st one in the theater, and we also watched the 2nd one, but that was it. Same story, different kill scenes.

  6. Joy says:

    I shouldn’t have posted this today when I knew I’d be gone. I didn’t expect to be gone all day but my mom had other plans!! URGH!!!!!

    The Godfather 2 was excellent. I agree. It us way up there high on this list. It was almost better story wise, than the first. I think seriously the only other 2nd movie I liked was Back To The Future 2. The sequels just aren’t as good IMO. I don’t care for all those other movies. The Saw movies and horror movies. I can’t watch them. They’re just way too corny for me.

    I’ve racked my brain. I honestly can’t think of anymore I really liked.

    • Nikki says:

      We love the Back to the Future movies!! Thanks to Uncle Darryl (I think!)we have them all! What a great idea to have a movie marathon with them!

  7. joanharvest says:

    Definitely Star Wars sequel Return of the Jedi. Batman Begins sequel The Dark Night. The Terminator sequel Terminator 2 Judgement Day. Alien sequel Aliens. The Fellowship of the Rings sequel The Two Towels. The Godfather sequel Godfather II. Toy Story sequel Toy Story 2.

    • Nikki says:

      I’ve never seen the Star Wars movies! I know I’ve seen bits and pieces of them, but I don’t know the “story.” Toy Story!!! I forgot about those. We loved them too. We actually saw the 2nd one in the theater with our brother and sister in law. I liked most of the Shrek ones too. I guess my brain wasn’t screwed on all the way when I answered this. lol

Leave a Reply

