T.G.I.F.

Happy Friday, everyone! How was your week? Mine was good. I got a lot of stuff done, but I have so much more to do. This will be our last weekend to pack, since we’re moving next Friday/Saturday. I feel good about the whole move though, everything is pretty organized. Lord knows, I’ve had enough practice! 

So, how about you? Anything fun planned for the weekend? 

This entry was posted in moving, Organization, TGIF, weekend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to T.G.I.F.

  1. Laura says:

    I CANNOT believe I’m going to say this but… I have the plague. AGAIN. I started getting that “pinchy” feeling in my nose last night, and during the day today, felt the congestion building. Now my nose is all clogged up, I have a light sore throat, and the beginning of a headache. I don’t care what “scientific evidence” people throw at me, I am firmly convinced that if we don’t have a hard, freezy winter, the bugs just don’t die, and they get passed back and forth and back again. Steve’s been sick for a solid month, between colds and now some bronchial ooze that’s making him cough up a lung an hour. Seriously, I had to call the locker in the next town and have him bring over a case of hog lungs just so we’d have extras. It’s disgusting. Even Josh fell prey to it, getting his very first dosing of antibiotics, ever, for a mild case of bronchitis. They gave him the pink syrupy stuff. He loved it.

    Otherwise, I’m nose-deep in projects. Besides hunting up stuff for here (I was on a roll last week, this week, not so much), I’m tracking the Iditarod (one musher dropped this afternoon, everyone else is still on trail, and most are out of McGrath, and heading for the “through the mountains” part of the race), working on a slide show for a live/silent auction fundraiser benefiting Josh’s school (3/24), preparing for the pack’s Pinewood Derby (3/17), and doing research for a grant request for some first-aid stuff for his school (due 3/31). I had all this stack up on me like this last year, too. And I SWORE that I wasn’t going to do it again this year. HAH.

    Oh, yeah, and I haven’t done our taxes yet. Which should be a walk in the park, ’cause our taxes are pretty simple and straightforward, but it’s always a nightmare for me, because I swear I am Tax-phobic. I literally shake the entire time that I’m doing them. It’s pathetic.

    So if I’m grumpy for the next month, you’ll know why.

  2. Sue says:

    Tomorrow is volleyball until 9pm. Yes, 9pm 😦 Saturday Chris has a bday party and I would love to clean the house/do the laundry. Trinity needs to get going on her 4-H project so it’s ready for demonstration day. Sunday is religion and volleyball for us adults. Thankfully, I don’t work Monday! I am just SO GLAD tomorrow is Friday! It’s been a long week.

  3. SKL says:

    I got some stuff out this week, but still am backed up! I can’t decide whether to feel good or bad. It always feels good after I get a challenging project out, and if I’m lucky, I get to chill for a little while before getting back into the grind, but never for long. In addition to the usual stuff, and the new thing that uses my old job skills, there is a new category of particularly stressful stuff that I am just starting to learn, but it’s really important and time-sensitive and if it gets screwed up, there’s no going back to fix it. So that is making it hard to relax.

    It’s been a bumpy road with my kids this week. Nothing major, just a continuous series of minor stuff. This morning something pissed Miss E off (who knows what), so not only was she a putz, but every few minutes there was some new thing that wasn’t good enough for her. I don’t like this, I don’t like that, . . . ugh. After a half hour of this, I misinterpreted something Miss A was doing and ended up screaming at her for no good reason. I’m not big on apologizing to kids, but this morning I did. On the way to school, I said, “this is not a good way to start the day,” and Miss E said, “you’re right, Mommy.” To which I answered, “finally, something we both agree on.” I definitely need to go on a spiritual retreat before that kid’s 13th birthday.

    Oh yeah, Tuesday was voting day. I guess it was exciting for some, but I wasn’t that passionate about it (though I did vote). There isn’t really anyone that great in the lineup, and the frontrunner does not excite me at this point, but I’ll vote for whoever wins in order to overturn “Change” in November.

    This weekend, my only “plan” is to do my routine shopping and stuff. It would be nice if the weather allowed us to putz outdoors.

    This morning I got up at 4am to work (theoretically) and now I’m pretty tired. I have to send out an email and then get to bed. I hope you all have a nice weekend!

  4. mssc54 says:

    Life as usual here on the SC coast this week.

    The biggest thing that happened to me this week is being my usual insensative self and (unknowingly) hurting a couple of people I care about. Can’t believe how this has affected me.

    Our two year old granddaughter has been sick all week. I had her half a day on Wednesday and I’m fixing to go pick her up again to keep her the remainder of this day too. I think I will take her on a little mini-hike in the woods today if she feels like moving around. I want to look for some mushrooms.

    Also today my Mrs. is taking a group of high-school matheletes to Myrtle Beach for their annual math competition at Coastal Carolina College.

    Then tomorrow (Saturday) my Mrs. FIFTY-FIFTH BIRTHDAY! ALL four of our daughters wanted to bake her a cake but (believe it or not) she asked me to get her a vanilla COSTCO cake. I’m not sure if she likes their cakes that much or if she just didn’t want them to have to spend time in their kitchens on her account. So tomorrow at 2:00 we will all be gathering at our oldest daughter/son-in-law’s home for the 55 birthday celebration. Our oldest will be makeing her famous chiciken enchiladas.

    I want to try to get the Mrs. out for some one-on-one time but don’t know if that will work out for this weekend.

    Hope everyone else has FANTABULOUS WEEKEND!

    • mssc54 says:

      Actually I just got back from taking our two year old granddaughter on a little mini-hike. We were only out for about forty-five minutes. She found some yellow jasmine flowers. She has WHITE HAIR so in the brown of the woods she just looked too cute bending over picking up the flowers and then fixing them just right in her little fingers to show me. She also found some little purple flower and wasn’t very interested in the old white turtle shell we came across.

      I put pics up on Facebook (of course). 🙂

  5. Jenny says:

    It’s going to be beautiful out this weekend! Gosh I can’t wait till spring. Now they’re calling for 60’s next week…Yes 60’s! Gonna have to go buy some more bird seed. I’ve seen tons of birds lately.

    Jason applied for a different job at his work. It will get him out of welding and he would be in the office doing sales. Which the hours would be different then what he works now. He works from 5:30 am to 2:30. These hrs would be 7:30am to 5. He said he was about 75% sure he was getting it. Will know for sure next week 🙂 Excited but nervous cause then we need to figure out daycare and my hours at work as well.

    Heading to Hutch tonight for grocery shopping and meeting 3 different people who are buying stuff from us. Man I do love those facebook garage sales! We have sold a TON of stuff on there. It’s awesome!! It’s much safer than craigslist, its local and you see who you’re selling to.

    Well everyone have a gorgeous weekend!

    • Joy says:

      That would be really nice if Jason could get a different job in the same company. Welding can really cause bodies to age quicker than normal. They are more “normal” hours and daycare could be tricky but it can be done. Would you want to add more hours or decrease Jenny?

      • Jenny says:

        I don’t really know. Depending on what the daycare hours would be. If he does get this job, we’ve been looking into The Good Shepard Church that does daycare and preschool. And you only pay when your child is there. They also do drop ins, where your child doesn’t have to be there all day. Which we need that! Cause I could only have 1 or 2 patients and just go drop him off for a couple hours. So we will see what happens!! But he will be going to preschool there.

      • Joy says:

        That would be perfect for Hunter. Where is it?

    • mssc54 says:

      American sales people are amoung some of the highest paid people on the planet! How would you like to have a sales job for BOEING?!

      But there are lots of hidden expenses in sales. If he gets it get him something to keep all of his receipts in. I used to keep an envelope in my vehicle. The envelope would be marked with the current month on the outside. I would make whatever necessary notes on the reverse side of the receipt and place it in the envelope. It also helps to keep them in chronological order. I kept most recent in front and placed the newest receipt in back.

      • Jason says:

        The position that I have applied for is an inside sales position. The only traveling that I might have to do is to go to a local show but even then it would be once a year at the most. Most of their traveling sales people live across the United States and attend to their own regions. While I am really good at what I do, I know that I do not want to be welding for the next 30 plus years.

        • mssc54 says:

          Yeh, I hear ya. I took welding at the Tech College when I got out of the Navy in ’79. I remember our instructor’s glasses looked like Coke bottle bottoms!

          Best of luck in you’re new position. Bur I guess someone is going to need office attire now without steel toe shoes!

        • Joy says:

          Good luck Jason. You’d be good at that. Welding is too hard on the body. It’s a good thing to know how to do but forever, no. When will you find out?

        • Joy says:

          If it’s good news, you have to buy the beer.

  6. SKL says:

    Just ’cause I don’t have enough work to do, I googled “oppositional” (as in Miss E) with the intention of getting some ideas as to how to fix this.

    It seems the main thing is for ME to not let her crap get to me. Which makes perfect sense.

    On that note, does anyone know where I can get an IV that will deliver caffeine to my bloodstream before I wake up? Because I’m pretty sure that’s our only hope.

    [Now, don’t get me wrong – Miss E was a darling this morning (when I wasn’t combing her hair). I just know this is going to be a recurring issue. I was, however, happy to note that based on the definition, we’re only “mildly” oppositional at this point.]

  7. starlaschat says:

    It’s been a long week still getting over the crud. I see others have been sick as well. I don’t feel so alone although who wants to be sick? Nobody! Oh well I’m hoping the antibotics did it’s magic. I still don’t feel great, but life has to go on. I guess that’s all the news I have that’s fit print. I’m glad it’s Friday looking forward to the weekend. No plans so we’ll see what comes about.

Leave a Reply

