What Do You Think?

Ok, we had the “which sequel was better than the original” post, so now, I want to know what movie remake was better than the original? (I suppose you can include TV shows that were “remade” into movies, if you want, although that’s sort of a different category)

And if you need a refresher, Wiki has a pretty exhaustive list: A-M, and N-Z.

This entry was posted in movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Do You Think?

  1. Laura says:

    When I was writing this, I was thinking of the movie, “The Fugitive”, with Harrison Ford and Tommy Lee Jones. It’s one of my favorite movies.

  2. Sue says:

    That is a good movie Laura. It’s funny you should have Footloose as your picture b/c we rented that Saturday night and I have to say, I was disappointed. It just wasn’t wow.

    • Laura says:

      That’s why I used that pic. It was a tossup between it and “Dirty Dancing”. For the record, I refuse to see either remake. I don’t know why I see them as different from remaking other movies – maybe because the 80’s seem so recent, and those are part of my childhood?

  3. SKL says:

    The only one that comes to mind immediately is “Little Shop of Horrors.” I am sure there are others! But I started looking at your list, and I got into the D’s and found not one movie that I’d seen in both the old and new versions (most I had never seen at all), so I gave up on that.

  4. Joy says:

    I have to think about this. Not one movie is popping into my head.

  5. Nikki says:

    I can’t think of any remakes that were better than the original. Arthur was awful! I liked the original with Dudley Moore.

    I’ll have to think on this one!

  6. Joy says:

    I love the remake of East of Eden with Jane Seymour. That movie is one of the best movies I’ve ever seen.

    IMO, Footloose shouldn’t have been remade. I don’t know how you could ever do that movie justice.

    Also, I’m really glad I never knew Brian’s Song was remade. Seriously????? HOW?????

  7. starlaschat says:

    I think for the most part I would rather see the original movie and not the remake.

Leave a Reply

