Question of the day from SKL

What kind of art do you display in your home?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the day from SKL

  1. mssc54 says:

    Just framed pictures of the family.

    Although, we do have one framed piece of art. When our now 23 year old daughter was in fourth grade she was the runner-up for the official Piccolo Spolleto poster for that year.

  2. Jenny says:

    pretty much family photos

  3. skl1 says:

    Downstairs, we have some original paintings that one of the roomies’ mom bought – the starving artist types with flowers, trees, etc.; and also some purchased prints. We also have some small sculptures from various traditions and some decorative traditional “housewares” from different countries.

    In my room, I have some copies of “famous paintings” that I found in my grandmother’s house after she died. Mostly portraits. The ones I have on display are the girl with watering can (Renoir) and that Spanish L’Infante one (the blonde five-year-old).

  4. Laura says:

    I have several paintings done by my uncle who is an AMAZING wildlife artist. When I’ve shown photographs of his work, people have asked me where I saw the bird… he’s that good. He’s given me several paintings; one is of my first parakeet, one is a pair of wood ducks. He also painted a pair of horses for me when I was about ten. And the other one of his works that I have is my favorite one that he’s ever done, and it would have broken my heart if someone else had bought it, so I bought it before anyone else could. It’s a cardinal sitting in a snowy evergreen tree.

    I also have two calligraphy works that I did in college. The rest are photos of family, silly signs or sayings, that kind of stuff. And one of these days, I’m going to get around to buying a print of a man getting knighted. It’s a medieval setting, very cool.

  5. Joy says:

    I alter things around all the time. We like wildlife art like Terry Redlin’s stuff. I also have a bunch of paintings I got from my Aunt Mabel. Some of them are very old and I really like a few of them. I don’t have anything hung on my walls right now other than some pics of the grandkids. I don’t want to make a bunch of holes on my freshly painted walls that I’m not sure of.

    I also just like what I like. It doesn’t matter to me if someone is famous or not. If I like it, I like it. I don’t “follow the crowd” with what I like.

  6. Nikki says:

    I have mostly pictures of Bailey, and family. I have a few that are prints. I have 2 matching butterfly ones, that I love. I love butterflies. I had a “wild kingdom” painting, but Jason hates it so it’s not going up in the house house. Other than that, I only have mirrors hanging. I have no particular style, more eclectic than anything.

Leave a Reply

