Movies

There have been so many reruns on TV lately that I’ve been watching a lot of movies during the day and evenings just to have something on. My mom gave me The Bodyguard to watch. She said it was one of my brothers favorite movies and I really liked it. I really did. I fell madly in love with Kevin Costner. But I was at Target and saw The Preachers Wife and Waiting to Exhale for 5 bucks so I picked them up. The Preachers Wife was one of those books that I read for a few chapters and just couldn’t get into it so I put it away. I LOVED that in movie form. Who doesn’t love Denzel? Waiting to Exhale on the other hand was, in my opinion, one of the worst movies of all time. Talk about racist. I couldn’t watch more than 30 minutes of that one.

Then I got The Descendants and I really liked it. I do like George Clooney but this movie shocked me because I had no idea what it was about. It was in a lot of Academy Award categories so I knew it had to be “kinda” okay. Given what his man had to deal with and what he learned in that process really drew me in and I really liked it. I don’t know how anyone could deal with what he was dealt.

I had also really waited with bated breath to see My Week With Marilyn and what a bomb I thought that was. With Michelle Williams up for the Oscar, I thought the movie would be so much better but honestly, I couldn’t force myself to finish that movie either. She did a great job as Marilyn but that movie was a BOMB!

Don’t you hate it when you think you’re going to love something and you don’t? It’s so disappointing.

What are some movies you think should have never been made? What did you just hate and couldn’t even finish watching? On the other hand, what are some of your favorites? Have you seen any “new” movies?

This entry was posted in movie stars, movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Movies

  1. Jenny says:

    This last weekend we watched Bridesmaids. It was hilarious and I loved it, but one thing didn’t make any sense to me at all! It starts out as this woman owned her own cupcake shop and failed. Through out the whole movie this guy is trying to get her back into baking. She did eventually bake a cake to give to him to say sorry, but that was it!! The movie ended and there was no word about baking or opening up another shop! I was just confused by that whole storyline. Like it didn’t have to be there, at all!! But we did enjoy the movie.

    • Joy says:

      I ended up not even watching that movie Jenny. Sue told me she didn’t care for it so I just skipped it.

      • Sue says:

        I was really bummed with that movie 😦 I LOVED the Hangover and Hangover 2 and I didn’t think Bridesmaids came close to the other 2 movies. Parts of it were funny, but that was it.

  2. mssc54 says:

    Saw THE LORAX last week.

  3. skl1 says:

    I am so bummed. I had a whole comment typed out and hit the “backspace” and it took me to another screen. Weird how that happens out of the blue.

    Anyhoo. The movie that most disappointed me compared to expectation was “American Beauty.” I didn’t really know what it was about, but it had won movie of the year if I recall correctly, so I figured it must have some redeeming qualities, right? WRONG. Actually that was such a disgusting movie. The kind that makes me angry and makes me wonder what Hollywood’s agenda is.

    I am really picky about movies. I don’t have very many that I like without reservation. My favorite non-classic movie is probably Fried Green Tomatoes. Others that I liked were Steel Magnolias, Beautiful Mind, Apollo 13, and probably a few others which don’t come to mind. I really don’t care for “chick flicks” or anything that is full of sex, violence, exaggerated stupidity, or political/social agendas. Which doesn’t leave much, frankly.

    • Joy says:

      I didn’t like American Beauty either and it did win an Oscar. Sometimes who knows why movies win. I loved Steel Magnolias. I just watched that not long ago. Apollo 13 was excellent too.

    • Man, I totally dig AMERICAN BEAUTY. I just love the look at the mediocre, disappointing nature of expected middle-class life. It’s a great take on turning an expected situation into happiness and enhancing life. I’d recommend giving it another look. Of course, I admit the stuff with the floating bag is a bit weird.

  4. Sue says:

    We rented the new Footloose 2 weeks ago and I was really disappointed in it. The original was so much better. Even the dancing was better (in my opinion) in the original! I know that Toby and Jason LOVE A Christmas Story, but I just can’t get into it.

    I would like to take the kids to see The Lorax and Trinity wants to see The Hunger Games. Other than that, I don’t know what’s even out there right now! I love the Pirate movies and the Bourne movies. I love Coyote Ugly too 🙂

    • Laura says:

      I won’t see the new Footloose on principle. Same with the Dirty Dancing knockoffs (did you know they did a “sequel” called something like Dirty Dancing: Latin Nights?). I have ‘The A-Team’ in my Netflix queue, but honestly, I’m on the fence about watching it.

      I just wish they’d come up with original ideas instead of going into my formative years (the 80’s) and raiding all my classics. I swear if they go ahead with their RIDICULOUS idea of Indiana Jones 5 I might have to write Harrison Ford a nasty letter. And he is one of my all-time favorites. The man can do no wrong. Except for Indiana Jones 4 which absolutely blew chunks the size of ice cubes. It was AWFUL.

      • Good call on avoiding FOOTLOOSE remake. I think what filmmakers forget in this current sequel-cycle is that some movies are intricately rooted in the time period they were made. FOOTLOOSE is a perfect example. It is just so tied with 80s mentality, lifestyle, and especially music that a remake in the 2010s doesn’t make sense and feels uninspired.

    • Joy says:

      I love Julianne but I won’t go there either. I adore Kevin Bacon. Some movies should be a huge NO NO to even consider.

  5. Laura says:

    A movie that I was seriously disappointed in? Dumb and Dumber. Mars Attacks. I’m a comedy girl. Also RomComs, and serious adventures (think Indiana Jones). Some SciFi or Fantasy (LOTR). I like silliness or movies with a really good story line that keeps moving. Lately, I’ve been into period dramas, too, mostly out of England.

    So I had hopes for Dumb & Dumber, and remember sitting in the theatre thinking, “I paid 12 bucks for this???” (as Steve howled with adolescent boy laughter beside me) It was the same with Mars Attacks. I went looking for funny, and all I got was poo humor.

    A move that recently took me by surprise? Greenfingers. It’s an English flick, about a prisoner who is moved from a regular prison to an “open” style, where they have job training and such. He learns to be a gardener, and discovers that he’s really good at it. I wasn’t sure when I Netflixed it, but it looked interesting. Turned out to be a truly good movie, so good I watched it twice before sending it back.

    There are TONS of movies that I absolutely love, for various reasons, in most genres. It’s easier to say what I don’t like – I don’t do horror, ever. I rarely do heavy drama, so movies like Steel Magnolias doesn’t appeal, because I heard that somebody dies. I look to movies to take me out of myself and my depression and my troubles, and take me somewhere for a couple of hours, which is why I tend to gravitate to adventures, or RomComs.

    • Laura says:

      Anyway, lately, instead of Netflixing movies, I’ve been doing series’. I went through the entirety of BBC’s “Robin Hood” (where I discovered the delicious Richard Armitage), then MI-5 (also out of BBC, also an Armitage work, although not the entire 9 seasons I’ve seen so far), and most recently, Downton Abbey, which I missed on PBS, so I Netflixed it.

      THAT is a good series. I was shocked, again, at how good it is. I was all cynical about it, thinking everyone was just going overboard about it, but ONE EPISODE in, and I was a fish on a hook. Totally drawn in, and couldn’t WAIT to watch the next ones. I’m going into some severe withdrawal waiting to find out if there’s going to be a third series.

      BTW, I highly recommend all three series, Robin Hood, MI-5 and Downton. Although Robin Hood is a bit campy – everyone I’ve talked to has said that Armitage, who plays Guy of Gisborne, and Keith Allen, who plays the Sheriff of Nottingham, make the show. And I have to agree. It’s still good, mostly clean, fun. And family oriented – it’s ok for kids. MI-5 is WICKED good, and NOT for kids. But it’s an amazing show. Comparable to 24, Ive heard, although Ive never seen 24.

      • If you’re into the BBC series, I recommend checking out SHERLOCK, a modern retelling of the famed Holmes character. It’s a wonderful update of the police procedural that puts all America’s crime thrillers television series to shame.

    • skl1 says:

      It’s true that someone dies in Steel Magnolias (near the end), but it’s actually got a lot of good humor in it. It’s really not a dark movie.

    • Joy says:

      Tom Skerritt and Shirley MacLaine are hilarious in this movie. The whole cast is wonderful.

      • Laura says:

        I may have to reconsider. I love a good, fun movie, but I really hate to rent one that’s going to drag me down. I’ve got enough of that in my life!!

  6. I’ve heard so many negatives about MY WEEK WITH MARILYN, but I really got into it. I read it as an actualization of male adolescent fantasies. It captures how unrealistic and immature they are, but also shows how sheltered stars like Marilyn can continue in this adolescent dreamworld for a lifetime.

    • Joy says:

      She was very sheltered. It also showed how almost everyone was willing to do anything for her. She had that naivety about her that made people just want to help her. Then I think she took that downward spiral with the drugs and then she became dependent on everyone doing everything for her and then when it’s expected, it’s not pretty. I found it very sad. I can see how a young man would feel. She oozed sexuality. What else I find sad is that everyone treated her like sex object but then when she acted like one, they tore her apart. I don’t think people in general were very nice to her.

      I also really like Michelle Williams as an actor an a person. I love the way she doesn’t let anyone dictate anything to her and she lives for her daughter. She’s a wonderful mother.

  7. Nikki says:

    The Airplane! movies should never have been made! Planet of the Apes, I can’t stand. I won’t even attempt to watch them. I know a lot of people like them, but they freak me out. Snakes on Planes! Major Fail!

    I know there are more, so I’ll be back!!! I have to go work on my TGIF/house post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

