Is ‘Screen Time’ Bad For Your Vision?

When I first got my Nook, my eyes got really sore when I read on it and even more sore when I played games for a long period of time so if I would have been asked this question, I’d have said, yes it bad for our eyes.

Well, according to this Good Question, it’s not. Go read it for yourself. What’s kind of funny is this doctor, Dr. Geoff Emerson, is my moms retinologist.  I just had to share that.

So I guess it’s also true that what our parents used to tell us about sitting too close to the TV will make you go blind wasn’t true either.

My eyes do get sore at the end of a day but my eyes usually get more sore from the sun and wind than my computer or games. I’m not sure if my eyes adjusted to my Nook after a while or not because I hate to admit it but I haven’t held a “real” book in my hand in months. I guess we also should take fish oil and Ocuvite as we get older too just to help keep our eyes moist. That in itself can cause dryness which in some people is painful.

Do you find your eyes get tired and or sore when you’re on the “screens” too much? What other things bother your eyes? Do you take anything to help your eyes? My mom hates going blind and like she always says to us, “once you start to lose it, it’s too late. Take care of your eyes now.”

This entry was posted in computers, vision problems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Is ‘Screen Time’ Bad For Your Vision?

  1. skl1 says:

    I used to have a lot more trouble before my laser surgery. It seemeed the screen time dried out my contacts or something. I used to have a big screen with large fonts to reduce the strain so I could work. Now I can tolerate a lot more.

    I too worry about deteriorating eyesight. So far I do not have any obvious symptoms but my mom’s eyes are a mess and her grandmother gradually went blind. I don’t do anything in particular to help or hurt my eyes’ health at this point.

  2. Jenny says:

    I do get headaches if I’m on the computer too much. Looking at Pinterest, scrolling through everything that gives me a headache if I do it for a long period of time. But I can’t stop! That site is so darn addicitng. LOL

  3. Laura says:

    I take fish oil capsules. According to my eye doc, my tears are ‘made wrong’ – they’re missing some element, so even though my eyes can pour, they’re not staying moist. But since I started taking the fish oil caps every day, it’s MUCH better.

    Word of warning – if you do the fish oil? GET ENTERIC COATED CAPLETS. The enteric coating keeps the capsules from being digested in your stomach, and GREATLY reduces the “fish burps” that are just vile.

  4. Joseph says:

    I believe my eyesight is bad because of working on computers. Not till I started working on computers excessively did my eyesight deteriorate. Perhaps just coincidence. But I personally don’t think so.
    I must take frequent breaks from the computer to rest my eyes. Staring at Word docs on the computer screen is very straining on my eyes. Sometimes so that I have a hard time to stay focused physically (and in turn, mentally).
    I know the refresh rates are much better, if still there. But it cannot be good to look at an electronic device ALL day long. Just MOO.

  5. Nikki says:

    No matter what I’m doing, reading, on the computer, or watching TV, I have to occasionally look away and change my focus. I will get a headache. My vision is really good, according to the eye doctor, but I do go blurry sometimes. And I get floaters more than I’d like. Those suckers are annoying!!!

    I just went to the eye doctor recently, this past year for the first time in my adult life. I’ll go back now, every year. I’m very surprised I don’t have bad eyes. Both my parents have always worn glasses. My dad, for reading, and my mom always. I consider myself lucky!

  6. Phyllis says:

    I’ve worn glasses since I was 7 yrs. old. It’s just one of those family issues. I’ve suffered pretty constant headaches since my teens. I awaken with them and though they ease with Excedrin throughout the day the drs haven’t been able to help. Anyone who knows me is aware that I’ve been around waaaay longer than computers so that’s not one of my issues, fortunately, because I’d be lost without my reliable computer.

Leave a Reply

