You’re Kidding, Right?

Photo courtesy of GopUSA

My brother (BBJim), sent this to me the other day while I was on the phone with him (I love instant messaging). And we laughed long and hard about it. Oh, my goodness, was it hilarious.

Sad, too, though. Because, really? Ok, wrenching myself out of ValleySpeak for a moment…

The story, in a nutshell, is about a highway in Polk County, Florida. A Christian group called “Polk Under Prayer” got together and blessed the road, using holy oil. A year later, a group of Athiests went out there with a container of “unholy water” and “unblessed” the road. Armed with scrub brushes and their water, they figuratively “scrubbed away” the blessings that had been bestowed before.

I read through many of the comments, as well. And Jim and I had some fun abusing the entire prospect. Disrespectful actions aside, I have to agree with the author of the linked opinion piece: if Athiests don’t believe in a Higher Being (be it “God” or any other deity under the myriad names that are out there), why do they care??? Because if God doesn’t exist, then neither does the blessing!!! But, by saying that they were ‘washing away the blessing’, doesn’t that imply that they’ve bestowed themselves with supernatural power that they don’t believe exists for a God???

I think the best idea appeared a ways down in the comments… this is Polk County’s answer to any graffiti or ‘mess’ problems they may have! Ask one of those ministers to go bless it and let the Athiests know… a little while later, they’ll be appearing with their ‘unholy water’ and scrub brushes, and voila! No more graffiti!!!

This entry was posted in religion, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You’re Kidding, Right?

  1. Joy says:

    This is something that really angers me. It’s one of those things, I feel, that fall in the “just because you can, doesn’t mean you should” category.

    I’m really finding more and more that people think just because “they” feel a certain way about something that the rest of us have to feel that way. I’ve gotten so tired of people spouting off views that I don’t agree with that I’ve just started deleting friends. It happens to me mostly on FB. I hide a lot of the people who really annoy me but lately, I’ve just started to delete. Why get myself worked up over the crap they’re spewing EVERY DAY that I get sick of seeing???

    If someone wants to be an atheist, go for it. It’s none of my business. If someone’s a Christian, fine and good for you. But why do people have to cram their beliefs down other peoples throats?

    This is too unreal.

  2. mssc54 says:

    Thy really is violations. My house needs to be pressure washed. Get word to them that I’m blessing my house this weekend.

  3. Sue says:

    I am just shaking my head.

  4. skl1 says:

    God forbid (no offense to Atheists) that we actually respect one another’s beliefs. Particularly beliefs that hurt nobody.

    I get particularly irritated with the people who think any religion OTHER than Christianity deserves respect and encouragement, but Christians need to keep their faith secret.

    I’m not one to parade my beliefs of any type up and down the street. And I don’t mind the fact that people have different opinions about religion or God or the lack thereof. But lately it seems Christian-bashing is a popular sport, and that is no better than racial taunting or gay-bashing. Frankly, people who can’t discuss religion in a mature matter aren’t entitled to a vocal opinion about it, in my opinion.

    • Joy says:

      I do know what you mean SKL. Look at Tim Tebow for example. At first when he did that kneel down to pray, everyone started making fun of him and then they realized he was serious and people thought he was nuts. Then we have a nice young man like Justin Bieber. When he came out against abortion, people were chewing him up and spitting him out. I kind of found it refreshing that a young man would take such a controversial stand on that.

  5. Nikki says:

    It all sounds ridiculous to me. All of it!

  6. Phyllis says:

    Does anyone else remember the program years back that began and ended with… ” I may disagree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.” ? What ever happened to that concept? Really, are we now supposed to read “freedom OF religion” as “freedom FROM religion?

    My own opinion is that a lot of these people really need to get lives of their own and stop trying to run mine or anyone else’s.

Leave a Reply

