Don’t they already know????

Okay. This really irks me. My mom gets this very official look letter yesterday from the United States District Court, Minnesota District and she gets her feathers all in a ruffle and calls Paul at work and asks him if he’ll come and read it. She can’t read anymore and the letter scared her. So he goes over there and reads this letter.

I’m sure a lawyer (SKL) knows about this stuff but I don’t and my poor mother didn’t. Apparently they create something called a Master Jury Wheel and names are just picked at random and you’re kind of “maybe” going to be on a jury if they accept you. I guess it’s killing two birds with one stone. That way the juror knows that “maybe” they’ll be called upon and they let you know “about” when you can expect it in the coming year.

Okay, all very fine and good but my mom is going to be 77 in July. One of the first things is says is: If you are over 70 years of age~check this box! The rest reads:

~A person who has served as a grand or  petit juror within  the last 2 years~A person who serves without compensation as a volunteer firefighter or a member of a rescue squad or ambulance crew for federal state or local government agency~A person having primary care/custody of a child under 10 years of age whose health/safety would be jeopardized by your absence ~check the appropriate box.

We all know the government KNOWS everything about us. They have pictures of our houses for Pete’s sake. Why would they send this to someone who’s going to be 77 if they have a specific box to check so you don’t have to? Do they maybe need or want older jurors but give them an out if they can’t make it? This isn’t in a courthouse near home. It’s not a county thing. It’s a state thing so she’d have to travel to either Mpls, St. Paul, Duluth or Fergus Falls. None of which are anywhere near us plus the fact that she doesn’t drive.

Why do they waste this money? First of all, don’t they know if you’re a fireman or paramedic OR a state worker already? They had her address and all pertinent information when I logged in to fill out her form online so surely they have a general idea about us and at least know how old we are. There are 2 letters in here and one is on very nice paper. It’s not just copy paper. Then there’s a questionnaire, a brochure and return envelope with postage paid.

I think this is a colossal waste of money UNLESS they want older people to be on a jury. How do they expect a 77 year old to make that trip? One way or the other we’ve over an hour away from any of these places with Duluth being the furthest. If money is being wasted for stuff like this, what else is there? Couldn’t they  make a phone call? Maybe actually talk to a real person and hear their story? Now that I filled in that form, my mom is still nervous because we won’t know anything until someone goes over this stuff. I’m going to assume she won’t be selected since she’s almost blind and doesn’t drive but really, this whole thing irks me. Older people worry about stuff like this to begin with and now she’s worried.

At first I tried calling but the “menu” went on and on using almost all the keys on the phone. The Internet was the easiest thing but what about people who may be alone and not have a computer?

Do you think this is a waste? Isn’t there a better way to do this? What else do you find a waste?

This entry was posted in jury duty, united states district court and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Don’t they already know????

  1. skl1 says:

    I do think that many older people do serve on juries, since they are retired and find it somewhat interesting. I’m glad they do give them the option to refuse, though.

    This brings up an interesting thought in my mind. My moms’ aunt recently died at around 98. She had survived 5 different kinds of cancer over the course of her life, plus the death of her husband and whatever other drama every woman endures over a lifetime. Yet she was one of those people who could do “everything” right up until the end. I really think the reason is that she had a special needs daughter (now 70+) who needed her. Also, my granny’s mother-in-law also lived to be nearly 100 and took care of her daughter, who had Down Syndrome, right up to the last day. Can you think of people like that? Do you think that having someone who really needs you can keep you “young” and active?

    I’m not talking about your mom. I know how it is with eyes – my mom also doesn’t drive or read because of hers, and she’s only 70. But elderly people in general, who don’t have that type of problem? Sure, I could see many of them serving on a jury. Beats watching Oprah or whatever “old ladies” do nowadays.

    • Joy says:

      The thing is though she’s so afraid “they’re going to make her go.” She talked about it again on Sat and she thinks they can force her or she’s going to get in trouble and how is she going to get there? She literally rushes to get her mail everyday. She’s put so much focus on it and it probably doesn’t even mean anything.

      • skl1 says:

        Tell your mom not to worry. They have better things to do than bother elderly people.

        I’ve received that letter a couple of times. The first time I was a young lawyer. The law at that time and place was that attorneys don’t get to be on juries, so that got me off. Then I got another letter recently, after I had kids. It was a no-brainer that I couldn’t go off and be sequestered as a single mom. So I sent it back with an explanation of how (a) I am a single mom of two young children, and (b) I was a key partner in a small business that could not afford to do without me. I never heard from them again.

      • Joy says:

        I’ve told her over and over they can’t make her go and if she isn’t driving anymore, it’s just a non issue but it goes in one ear and out the other and the very next time I talk to her she asks me if I heard anything even though I told her it would be in the US mail and not an email.

  2. Laura says:

    I don’t get jury stuff. Literally – I have not been called since I was in college. I have the time, I’m able to do it, even with a child under 10, and yet, never been called.

    You would think, that in this age of massive information, they’d know who is capable and who isn’t, wouldn’t you? Especially since they’re integrating EVERYTHING – those people likely know my underwear size and the kind of shampoo that I use. I agree that it’s a phenomenal waste of money, all the stuff that they sent.

    Perhaps now, (HAHAHAHAHAHA) they’ll enter her info into the computer, and she won’t get the call again. Maybe it was a one-time info gather, and going forward, they’ll use the filters in the computer to weed out those who are ineligible. HAH!!! I can’t sit up straight, I’m laughing so hard at that one!!

  3. Nikki says:

    I was kind of in disbelief when she told me she got called to jury duty! Seriously?? And then to top it off they ask her to check a box if she’s over 70??? They should know!!! They know everything! I don’t get.

    Out of the millions who are able to go, they send it to an elderly person. Again, they should know!!!

    • Joy says:

      The thing also is it’s not a county deal. Even she said she’d love to do one in Wright County. I’m thinking any “elderly” person would have a tough time traveling that far. Most of us lose our night vision as we age so I think this all the way around isn’t right. I also know like SKL mentioned, they won’t harass her and will excuse her but she’s still worried about this every single day and I hope they have the decency to get back to her soon and don’t just think this is nothing because to her, it’s really important.

      • Nikki says:

        Right, to expect her to drive that far. Anyone for that matter!! It should be by county. I wouldn’t want to drive to Alexandria every day. That’s over an hour and a half away.

Leave a Reply

