Cast Iron-Roasted Potatoes with Rosemary and Onion

  • 1½ pounds red potatoes, quartered
  • 1 large sweet onion, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Place a 12-inch cast iron skillet in the oven and preheat oven to 350°.

When the skillet is hot, add the potatoes and onion and drizzle with the oil. Add the rosemary, salt, and pepper to taste, and roast until the potatoes are browned and tender when tested with a knife, stirring occasionally, about 45 minutes.

From Oprah

This entry was posted in oprah, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cast Iron-Roasted Potatoes with Rosemary and Onion

  1. Joy says:

    I’ve seen more and more recipes lately that call for these cast iron skillets. They sound good don’t they???

  2. Nikki says:

    Yes, they do sound good! I’m not sure I’ve ever cooked in one. Does it really make that much a difference? Anyone know???

  3. Joy says:

    I know back in the day everyone used these for camping and stuff because apparently you’re not supposed to wash them with soap and water but sand or salt and water so they were easy for being outdoors and I guess eggs are wonderful fried in these. I just always thought for home use they were a lot of bother. Things to tend to stick in these but they might work really well in the oven. I’d never really thought of doing it but I’ll bet things do taste really good made in them. Here are some cleaning instructions. I know people who use these regularly swear by them.

    • Laura says:

      The only thing I don’t absolutely love about my cast-iron skillets is that they are so heavy!!

      They’re wonderful for cooking – especially if you need a good, hot sear on meat. I made some filet mignon in mine a while ago, and it went from stovetop to oven with no problem.

      And as for cleaning, it’s easy-peasy. No soap, that’s correct. But a well-seasoned skillet will clean up very quickly. I hold it under very hot water and scrub it out with a scrubby. Most of the oils and yuk will come out easily using a combination of the heat/water (the water boils on the still-hot skillet, loosening the food) and the scrubby. Especially if you do it quickly while it’s still hot, it only takes a moment. Then pop it into the still-warm oven to dry, and go about your dinner and whatever else.

      To season a new skillet – I use peanut oil. Put a generous amount in the skillet and swirl it around. Use a paper towel, if you need to, to coat the sides. Get all the surface well coated. Pour out the excess. Put in a VERY hot oven (like 500 F), and let it cook for about an hour. Take it out and let it cool. Wipe out any excess oil.

      I cook with mine pretty often, so it’s still in pretty decent shape, but you can reseason as needed.

      NEVER PUT YOUR CAST-IRON SKILLET IN THE DISHWASHER. (not that I’d know this from experience or anything……….)

  4. Laura says:

    I’m not a big fan of rosemary, but I’m betting these will be awesome with basil substituted for the rosemary. So confident am I in that bet, that I’m making them tonight to go with the chicken that is brining in my fridge right now!

  5. Laura says:

    They’re in the oven right now, and they smell like HEAVEN. I changed the recipe a little:

    Substituted Coconut Oil for Olive Oil (because I’m totally devoted to C oil right now, for a billion reasons); Substituted Basil for Rosemary; and didn’t “drizzle” it over, but instead, stuck it all in a gallon ziplock and shook like there’s no tomorrow.

    I’d use a larger skillet next time, too. Gotta get my big one back from my mom.

    More bulletins as events warrant

    • Laura says:

      Ok. Thought it’d be a good idea to do the chicken and the taters in the oven together. Maybe, but not this way. The taters are done in 30 min on 400 oven. Chicken still has at least 20 min left to cook….

      • Laura says:

        oh, they turned out FANTASTIC!!!

        After the chicken finished cooking, I put the taters back in the oven to warm them a bit (they’d been sitting on the stove with a cover on them), and they were just awesome. A really perfect complement to the roast chicken and salad.

Leave a Reply

