Question of the day

Where are you spending Easter? What do you have to eat?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Question of the day

  1. mssc54 says:

    Our family is going to church then we all go for lunch at our oldest daughter’s home.

    Not sure exactly what we are having to eat but I’m pretty sure it will be some sort of swine flesh.

  2. skl1 says:

    Home, then church, then the grandparents’ house.

    I don’t know what will be for supper. Call me weird, but I don’t even think about that stuff. Usually my mom makes ham and potato salad.

    We just finished coloring eggs. Not sure why it has to be such a drama. Every Easter I mumble to myself, “I’m glad we only have to do this once a year.” This time, among other things, Miss E decided to retrieve her purple egg from the dye by dipping her whole hand in there. You know how smart people can be so dumb sometimes? Well . . . it seems I may be taking a kid with purple hands (and nearly black fingernails) to church on Sunday. Kind of kills the whole pretty Easter dress and hat thing. (Oh wait – is that why little girls used to wear white gloves? Too bad we don’t have any of those.)

    • Laura says:

      LOL, SKL!!! Be glad they only got it on a hand!! I cover EVERYTHING with a cheap vinyl tablecloth, because I don’t know who gets messier, Josh or me! This year, when he went to dump the colors in the sink, not only did he mix them all together to make “camouflage”, he climbed on the sink and STUCK HIS FEET IN!!! He’s got grey-green feet AND hands!

      Oh, and I exploded a color-filled q-tip that I was trying to figure out how to use. Blue dye EVERYWHERE!!

      Ahh, the joys of childhood. Think of the memories they’ll have. After all, what’s a little dirt if it’s the coating on all the fun?

      • skl1 says:

        It’s one of those “it wasn’t funny at the time” things.

        My mood is a bit soured by the fact that we have a massive ant infestation again. I put out an ant trap and I swear every ant in the county has been through my kitchen at least once. I just love Terro, but man, those first couple of days it’s disgusting! And if they aren’t gone by tonight, are they going to get into the kids’ Easter candy? Ick, ick, ick.

  3. Jenny says:

    Having lunch at my mom’s house. Having ham & she’s gonna try and grill a turkey. Mashed potatoes, coleslaw, fruit salad, corn bread, veggies, Jello Cake for dessert. And Hunter will have an Easter hunt outside.

  4. Nikki says:

    We are having our 1st Easter dinner, in our new house. Sue has family coming in from out of state, and they’re spending Easter with them. So it’ll be Jason, Bailey and I, Paul, Joy, grandma, my mom, brother, niece. I have a ham to bake, and to be honest, I’ve never baked a ham like this before. I have done my research, so I feel confident! 🙂 I’m making crack potatoes in the crock pot, and Joy is bringing an asparagus casserole. I’ll have green beans or corn for those who don’t like that. Hawaiian rolls. What else? Deviled eggs, wings, smoked turkey, and I’m sure more. For dessert so far, all we have is a pineapple upside down cake my mom is making. It has blueberries on it. 🙂 I know not everyone likes that so, I’ll make something else.

    • mssc54 says:

      Smoked turkey and Whitney Houston potatoes are a great combination.

      Lots of of firsts for the new house. Good for you guys!

    • skl1 says:

      Every time I see “crack potatoes” in close proximity with “crock pot” it reads “crack pot” to me. (Dyslexia runs in my family!)

      Sounds like nobody is going hungry in your house tomorrow! Have fun!

    • Joy says:

      What kind of ham is it? It’s not a spiral ham is it?

      • Nikki says:

        No, it’s not a spiral. Bone-in, shank. I found a really good glaze. 🙂

      • Joy says:

        I’m so glad. A bone in is awesome. That way you can make soup after. I only put cloves in mine. What kind of glaze did you find?

        • Nikki says:

          It has molasses, maple syrup, orange zest, clove, and brown sugar. I read all the reviews and they were all good.

          • Nikki says:

            Well, scratch that idea! Yes, I made the stupid mistake to wait until today to do grocery shopping. It was a freaking zoo, and I couldn’t find molasses! Or anyone to help me find it, so I left pissed off!

            • mssc54 says:

              I just Google’s “Molasis substitute recipe.” Looks very simple… not that you couldn’t handle the most complex of recipes.

              Hope this helps. Make it a good day. Don’t let all those (other) last minute shoppers and slack customer service people ruin your first big New Home Shindig!

              Decide to enjoy the day no matter what. (And don’t over cook the swine flesh. I can’t stand over cooked swine flesh) 🙂

              • Nikki says:

                Okay, I have a 9.5 lb bone in ham. Most sites tell me to put it in for 2 hr 30 min at 325, take it out, pour over glaze return to 425 for another 30-45. Does that sound right? It seems like an awful long time.

                Thanks, Michael! 🙂

                • mssc54 says:

                  Just use your thermometer. I think most of those published cooking times tend to err on the side of well done (so you won’t get swine flu or something). Just make sure it isn’t under cooked either. You don’t want people to spontaneously begin oinking a hour after they eat.

                  But the good news is, if swine flesh is a little over cooked the glaze moistens it right up.

                  Don’t stress. And do NOT make everything perfect!
                  That raises the expectation bar too high for the next gig.

    • Laura says:

      Pineapple upside-down cake WITH BLUEBERRIES????

      I’ll be there, too.

      • Nikki says:

        I know! I love her pineapple upside cake, but she’s never made it with blueberries. I’m excited for that! Come on up!!! 🙂 Plenty of food!

  5. Laura says:

    We’re doing a quiet Easter. Our big festivities this year are in two weeks, when Josh makes his First Communion. I didn’t expect it to be a big deal, but when the GodParents expressed interest in coming out for it, it kind of exploded into this big event. Which is fine with me, I LOVE having a houseful of people. It’s fun, and gives me a chance to cook for more than just us.

    Tomorrow, we’ll do the Easter Egg Hunt (which means up at 4 AM for me), likely do the Church thing, then come back here to just hang out. Steve wanted to make dinner, so he’s doing pork ribs with a dry rub (BBQ sauce on the side, ’cause I don’t like a lot on my ribs). I’ll probably make some sort of salad, and maybe some Deviled Eggs, which I just love. Josh also said that he wanted to make either cookies or cupcakes, so we’ll probably have that on the menu, too.

  6. Joy says:

    I’m trying these right now. Chocolate chip and sugar cook ones.

    • Nikki says:

      Are those coming here??? 🙂

    • Laura says:

      Harumph. Do you think they’ll work with scratch dough? I don’t like the taste of the premixed stuff. I don’t know what they put in it, but it’s not as good as homemade. Maybe they don’t use butter. I don’t know. But they’re awfully cute, I’d like to make them for when my family is here.

    • Joy says:

      I am bringing them Nikki with ice cream. I used sugar and chocolate chip. I think it would work with real dough Laura.

  7. Laura says:

    Nikki, if you can’t locate Molasses, you might be able to substitue Dark Corn Syrup for it. It might be a little sweeter… (let me go taste, I have both) … yep, it’s a little sweeter and a little thinner. So.

    Use the dark corn syrup, and a little liquid smoke or Worstershire Sauce (yep, you read that right). Add the smoke/Wooster a DROP at a time. You’re just looking to “pungent” up the corn syrup. Steve says this will get you closer to Sorghum than Molasses, but it should still help you get your glaze.

    Also, you might have to cook the glaze a little longer to get it thick because the syrup is thinner than the molasses.

    • Laura says:

      PS, if you’re willing to brave the store again (or send Jason, that’s what husbands are for!!), you should find the Molasses in the section with the pancake syrups. I usually find it tucked away on a top shelf.

      • Nikki says:

        I thought that’s where’d it be, and I couldn’t find it! But, then again, I wasn’t exactly in the best mood. And, there were people everywhere! I might make a late night trip. 🙂 I realized I didn’t buy any chocolate! Thanks!

        And thank you too, Michael. I’ll keep a close eye on it. I do not want dry ham!

      • Joy says:

        I have vanilla oreo and caramel swirled in vanilla ice cream if you want any other kind, pick it up to eat in the cookie cups.

Leave a Reply

