Pull Up an Egg

Easter Egg Chicks - click for instructions

Pastel Easter Eggs, click for instructions

Ahh, Easter is done, but now you have a TON of food, including a dozen hard boiled eggs. What now? I found these fun ideas, thanks to Pinterest, and I thought that for today’s Pull Up, we could get together and give our best ideas for leftovers. Me? I loooove deviled eggs, so that’s what I’m making. How about you? What are you doing this week, and what’s on your post-Easter-feast menu?

This entry was posted in Pull Up Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pull Up an Egg

  1. Laura says:

    Aargh!! I can never get side-by-side pics to print right!!!

  2. Joy says:

    I made these chicks and they were a pain in the butt but they were so cute and so good. I said I wouldn’t do it again but I know I will. I’d also never made deviled eggs before so it was fun.

  3. Laura says:

    Well, I don’t have many eggs left, after eating some for breakfast, and Steve stealing a few for egg-salad this afternoon. But I’ll be making some more for Josh’s Communion, and I’m going to try the chicks for that.

  4. Sue says:

    We actually had more leftovers from our soup feed Saturday night than we did tonight. We did get a container of beef brisket and we’ll just eat those on sandwiches. YUM!

  5. skl1 says:

    We only had 14 eggs survive the coloring process, of which several were eaten Sunday morning, so I don’t think we’ll have any trouble using them up. However, an Easter tradition for my mom is to make potato salad and macaroni salad (with hard-boiled eggs, of course). They don’t use Easter eggs for it any more, but they still make it.

  6. skl1 says:

    Man, what a day Sunday was! I went to bed Saturday before I set up the baskets, because I was too tired. So I got up around 4-5am to do that, then went back to sleep and slept through the actual basket finding. The kids ate a ridiculous amount of candy before I ordered them to stop. Then I cleaned up the Easter grass and got ready for church.

    We were running late for church, so of course there was no parking except on the street. I pulled partly into this guy’s driveway to turn around so I would be parking in the right direction along the curb. Well, he had a monstrous hissy fit, complete with loud cussing for my daughters’ benefit. Seriously, a grown-up tantrum over someone parking on the street (legally) across from the church parking lot on Easter morning? So glad I don’t live with that guy! There was a pregnant woman there and I can only hope he isn’t that way with her all day.

    So anyway, after church we went to visit the grandparents and all was well most of the day. The girls played the piano for the grandparents, read some books, watched a movie, and went to the park. Then as they drifted to sleep in front of a second movie, I got busy on my mom’s tax return. It was a pain as usual, but I got it done around midnight and saved it to pdf and then I was shutting down to leave. Problem is, I forgot to save the return in TurboTax before closing it. Argh! I had to re-open it and re-enter all of the data so it will be there for next year’s roll-forward. Meanwhile, my dad was having all kinds of trouble getting it to print. OK, fine. So we got that all done and I went to the restroom before leaving.

    As luck would have it, the toilet clogged (from something previous to my visit) and I plunged it down a few times, but their plunger was the wrong size/shape so it was not going well. I flushed the toilet a third time and it got possessed and the water kept filling and filling until it had flooded the floor and rained down into a downstairs storage area, where there was a large pile of stuff (light bulbs, toilet paper, etc.) It was a nightmare. At 45 I’ve plunged my fair share of toilets, but nothing prepared me for that. So of course my dad (who had just settled down to rest) heard the “rain,” ran upstairs, and spent the next hour cleaning up nast (I did part of it, but most of it was a one-man job and he wanted to be the man). I felt so bad. I could not help laughing, though, because that’s what I do when something so utterly ridiculous and out-of-control occurs. How do you even make amends for that? Finally at 2:30am I got the kids into the car and drove home. Ugh! I don’t think they are going to be too excited for our next visit.

    On that note, I think the week can only get better! Here’s hoping!

  7. Nikki says:

    We had a nice Easter day, and the meal was really good. I hope everyone liked the ham! I have to say though, I’m happy to have Monday right now! It is a lot of work, but it’s also really nice to have a get together like that and not have to drive anywhere. It was low key, but the ham itself had me a little stressed. When cooking for other people, you want everything perfect.

    Right now, I’m just enjoying the peace and quiet, and the sounds of the Backyardigans! 🙂

    • Nikki says:

      Oh, I’m making ham and bean soup with the ham bone and left over ham meat! 🙂 It’s cold today, and I wish I had everything to make it today, but I don’t. I may wait until Saturday, it’s supposed to be a rainy day.

  8. Laura says:

    Well. My ‘big thing’ today is that I started a new blog! It’s for our Cub Scout Pack. I’ve been dancing around the idea for some time, trying to figure the best type of site to serve the parents best… I needed something that was cheap (free qualifies), easy to read, and easily updatable by myself and other leaders. I couldn’t find a good website hosting place, so I decided that a blog might just do the trick. So I duplicated Us Girls over at our site. I used this same format, so I know what I’m looking at, and even created pages and stuff! I’m all excited about it. I hope the other leaders and parents like it, and find it useful.

Leave a Reply

