The Lego Desk

It’s finally done. Almost. Well, maybe not so much, since it’s probably a work in progress, but for now, it’s DONE!!

Josh’s Lego Desk!!

We started with this nightmare:

That’s the bottom 4″ of a refrigerator box, reinforced with duct tape (of course). And it’s FULL of Lego, and overflowing. This is what my floor looked like when the Lego collection was under control. Out of control, and there were Legos EVERYWHERE. Something had to be done. So I started browsing about the Web, and came upon two different Lego organizing systems that ladies had made for their kids. The first was at I Heart Organizing (that’s page 3 in a series). Hers was cute, but impractical for us because the tops of the bins were open, and we live on a VERY dusty gravel road. Open tops are dust-magnets. But I loved her idea of a build bin:

I found a really cute (and not at all girl-ish) bin at Target that would be his Build Bin. He started using it immediately.

The second source of inspiration came from Playing House. She made a similar organizer, but hers was a full-on desk with drawers. THAT idea I liked much better than just a stack of drawers that required him to continue playing on the floor. I wanted him up and contained. So I stole the idea of the plastic drawer stacks.

Sorting took some thought, too. Big Brother Jim suggested sorting by size, which is a good idea if you have a wall of space and about a billion drawers. But I only had six drawers. And ten colors. So I decided to use smaller bins to organize the collection by color…

(the computer is there for music. MUST have music for sorting) And while the sorting may have taken a couple of days, it ended up taking a month, because I kept finding a thousand other things to do. Anyway, while Josh and his friend started the sorting, I worked on the second half of the project – the table top. I’d purchased a large piece of 3/4″ plywood – a 4 by about 3 sheet from Home Depot, and a friend cut it down the rest of the way for me. The finished board is about 4×2. I sanded it, primed it and painted it:

Hobbes helped:

And then, FINALLY, we finished sorting, and put it all together in a cubby next to the fireplace in our living room. We decorated the wall with parts of the boxes that some of his kits came in, I donated my office chair, and voila!! Lego Desk:

We had to consolidate some of the colors (yellow/orange and blue/purple) so that all of the smaller containers would fit into the larger drawers…

And we separated out all of the people and their paraphernalia, so they’re easy to find and don’t cause trouble when stuck in with all the colors.

We also put all of his manuals into a big bin, so he has easy access to them.

We may still edit things. After I took all the pictures, I found a little box and put his Lego Take-apart-the-stuck-ones tool in it, and stuck it to the wall, so he can always find that little tool. We also may consider the option of pulling out all the 1×1 and 1×2 pieces and putting them in a little tiny drawer-sorter. But for now, we’re happy with what we have. And God willing… no more Legos on the floor!!!

This entry was posted in Organization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Lego Desk

  1. Joy says:

    This is by far the coolest thing I’ve ever seen. Oh I wish I could have done this for Toby. He was always on the floor too. Jason liked lego’s somewhat but not like Toby. Josh must just love it. This is a good idea for a lot of other things too. I’d love something like this for scrap-booking.

    I was so glad to see that Hobbes was pulling his weight.

  2. skl1 says:

    Very cool! There is something satisfying about getting the kids’ stuff organized; maybe because it always involves fitting a zillion things in a small space without it looking like chaos. I hope Josh is motivated to keep it organized. Just imagine how much time you will have for other projects now!

  3. Jenny says:

    Love it!! Great job 🙂

  4. Sue says:

    Awesome!!!!! It would be so nice to not play on the floor, but Chris always ends up there! He has one of those Lego tables and may start there but eventually there’s stuff everywhere!

  5. Joy says:

    Is the top screwed into those drawers and “could you” add wheels or buy the storage cabinets with wheels already on them??

    • Laura says:

      The top is not fastened down yet. I wanted the option to change things around if I needed to… but the idea of permanent fastening is out there. The drawer-stacks DID come with caster wheels. I couldn’t pop them in – they were very resistant. I’m going to ask Big Brother Mike to do that for me this weekend – if HE breaks it, HE can fix it!! But yeah, the idea was for it to be on wheels from the beginning, in case we wanted to move it around.

    • Joy says:

      I’m so impressed. I just love this. I have 6 of these cabinets now full of sewing, knitting and craft stuff and it would be so cool to tie them together somehow. I wonder if there is some kind of a plastic clamp or something instead of having to use screws. That way you could take if off for whatever reason you needed to. Sometimes screws strip and then “you’re screwed!”!!!!!

      Sorry!!!!

  6. Nikki says:

    This is really cool!. Nice job! Now, you just hope it works! LOL I think if you keep him in the routine of using the table and putting it all back nicely, it’ll become habit.

    I may do this for Bailey! He has never really been into Lego’s. But he has so many pens, pencil, markers, colored pencils, notepads, etc. We don’t have a designated area for them. Great idea!!!!

  7. This desk and all the organization looks fantastic. I had 4 Lego loving kids at home many years ago, and all I can say is – Good Luck! Those little pieces really hurt when your foot “finds” one, don’t you think?

  8. skl1 says:

    Coincidentally, this morning my kid pulled out her lego bin, and her half-finished project is currently on the floor. Who knows what kind of organization system is in our future?

    • Laura says:

      I started with just the “Build Bin”, and it was amazing how just that helped. He had projects all over the place, and nowhere to put them. Can’t put them back with the rest of the legos, it might get taken apart. Can’t leave it on the coffee table, mom will connipt. So when I came home with the bin for his “in-progress/in-use” stuff, it was a godsend.

  9. Staci says:

    Thanks so much for linking me! We love our lego table and it has helped save my feet from those pesky pieces!!
    Staci

Leave a Reply

