Question of the day from mssc

When was the last time you bought a full set of pots and pans?  What sold you on them?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Question of the day from mssc

  1. Vicki says:

    I think it was like 3 years ago i got a set of Paula Deen pots and pans for christmas.

  2. Joy says:

    I think it was also 3 years for me and I got mine for Christmas also. I got them for myself and gave them to Paul and told him that’s what he got me and I got them because I like the Teflon on them. They’re Farberware. I love them.

  3. Jenny says:

    I believe we got some Paula Deen pots and pans maybe 2 yrs ago for Christmas.

  4. Laura says:

    When we got married, we did all kinds of looking around and researching and settled on a set called “Magnalite”. It was supposed to be the new up-and-coming thing. Well, they were true to their word, even if I’m sure the company doesn’t exist any more. They’re that annodized aluminum or something. they cook really even. The only things I hate about them is that they’re not non-stick (I think they were supposed to be, but without a coating), and they have metal handles, so you can’t grab them without a hot pad. But they’re about indestructable, go from stovetop to oven and back again, and they’re heavy enough that when Steve ticks me off, I can get a good swing in with one of them.

    So several years ago (probably 9 or 10, because it was before Josh was born, but while we were still in the house in Illinois), I told Steve I wanted a set of nonstick pans. we didn’t have a lot of excess cash, so he bought the best he could – a set of T-fal (which is the “cheap” strain of Farberware, I think). They’re ok. I like them. They’re not great, but they do fine. I also, a couple years ago, needed a small 9″ or so frying pan for eggs and stuff, so I bought an Emeril pan. THAT one, I love. It takes a beating and is still relatively nonstick.

  5. Sue says:

    We haven’t had to buy our own set of pots and pans ourselves. Our current set (and truly only full set) was a wedding gift from Paul and Joy. They are very nice, but I have no idea where he got them!

  6. skl1 says:

    Not sure, but a very long time ago. We bought a couple really cheapo “starter” sets around 1990 – first one with copper bottoms, and then, the cheapest set of non-stick pans ever made. At some point, someone bought a newer set of non-stick, but I still think it’s around 15 years old. We have never really gone for “quality.” We would not agree on what we would want. Personally I do not like using non-stick pans, but the others use them until the bottoms are all scraped out. (Certain people are incapable of cooking without burning at least one dish.) My mom loves Farberware and I tend to agree with her, but I am still happily using the couple of Farberware pots I “borrowed” from her when I moved out decades ago. I will use them until they aren’t useable any more before I buy (or borrow, LOL) any more.

  7. Karen joy says:

    We bought a new set of Kitchen Aid pots after this last Christmas.They were on sale for half price!!Awesome deal!They stayed packed away and I just opened up the box about a month ago when our kitchen Reno was done.My first set of new pots!bery nice!

  8. Nikki says:

    I don’t think we’ve ever had to buy them either! For a long time, my mom would move from MN to CA about every 2 years, and she’d always leave everything for me and start over. So for many years, I had all kinds of odds and ins of pots and pans. This last Christmas Paul and Joy bought us a new set and I love them! It’s nice to have new, and all matching. 🙂

  9. mssc54 says:

    I can’t remember the last time we bought an entire set of pots and pans. More than twenty years I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

