T.G.I.F.

Happy Friday, everyone! Did you all have a good week?

This weekend? The only plans I have are to make a turkey! I’ve had this turkey in my freezer since Thanksgiving, and I’m sick of it taking up so much room…so it’s being cooked on Saturday! We’ll do all the sides; mashed potatoes/gravy, veggies. I plan on making turkey soup with the left overs on Sunday. Unless anyone has another idea for leftover turkey! Keep in mind, the hubs is picky and doesn’t like a whole lot going on in one dish.

I don’t have much to report so I’ll just hand it over to you. Any weekend plans? Anything exciting happen this week that you’d like to share?

This entry was posted in cooking, TGIF, weekend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to T.G.I.F.

  1. Laura says:

    Are you brining it? Ohhhhh, a good brined turkey, cooked so the skin is golden and crispy…. yummmmmmy!!!!

  2. skl1 says:

    How about turkey pot pie?

  3. Laura says:

    I have SO neglected this blog, and I apologize here and now to Joy (and the rest of you) for it. I’ve been running like a madwoman lately. It’s good running – I’m getting TONS done, inside my house and outside of it – but I’ve let a few things fall through the cracks. I’m hoping after this weekend, I’ll be able to focus a little better and get a few things into the queue.

    And this weekend is crazy time around here. Josh’s first Communion. I had intended, way back at the beginnnig of the year, for it to be a small thing, just a “hey! Josh did this!” kinda thing. Well, then people started saying they wanted to come and participate, and suddenly I have a houseful! It’s going to be fun. I’m making Cheeseburger Salad for tomorrow night’s dinner, and on Sunday, weather permitting, we’re doing pork chops and chicken breasts on the grill.

    Aside from that… nothin’ much going on here!

    • mssc54 says:

      I hope you changes the litter box on the back patio!

      • Laura says:

        Hah!!! I took care of the entire yard a couple weeks ago! Although the litter box, complete with sand, is still there!! But I mixed it around so all the chunks were broken up and it looks like regular sand again. Nobody will be the wiser, so shhhhhh!!!

    • Joy says:

      Have fun and enjoy. I’ve been hanging in okay but NEED you. Pictures??????? I’m also really happy you’re getting things done in and out of the house.

  4. Sue says:

    It’s my last regular day at my current job tomorrow. (Or today, whenever you read this!) I am staying casual there so that’s why I say my last regular day. I don’t really know how I feel! I have grown to like it, but the drive really does push me to the edge! LOL! I really like the people though and will miss them. Sigh…life is just full of surprises I guess.

    • Joy says:

      We just get used to things. It makes you a good adapter. You gave this a good shot and fun people don’t make the job. Once you get back to Hutch, you’ll feel like you’re back with family and I’m glad you’ll be around more often. It feels like you’re gone so much. This IS a GOOD thing. Have fun with dinner.

  5. skl1 says:

    It has been a busy week over here, though nothing dramatic is going on. On Tuesday the girls had a free trial at The Little Gym, which was a good workout. I still don’t know whether they will have a schedule that meets our needs for the 2012-13 school year, but I liked the place and so did my girls. Afterwards my brakes started a horrible grinding / sticking, so I made a service appointment for Wednesday. We were there from 7pm to past 10pm, which was rough on the girls, though they have a nice play place. They really do need to get a coffee machine and a water fountain, though. It’s been a week of really long days for all of us, and now I have a big deadline due the 20th which I have not started yet, so it’s going to be another long one. I don’t have anything particular planned for the weekend, so maybe I’ll get to chill a little bit.

    Have a nice weekend, everyone!

  6. Joy says:

    If I were you, I’d go with the soup. I think it’s still going to be a soup weekend. Chilly but sunny.

    We don’t really have any set plans either. I do want to work on the spare room upstairs but that’s just a matter of bringing things down here and putting them away. That room always ends up being a “catch all” and it’s not messy but it’s cluttered with stuff that I don’t know where else to put. Then I want Paul to wire the dish up there too but we’ve done that before and it’s not a big deal. I’d also try and go to the swappers meet if it’s not freezing or raining. It’s been open now 3 weeks and we haven’t been able to make it but I’m dying to go.

    I’m feeling a lot better. It’s sure taken me a long time to resume my strength. That flu knocked the crap out of me. I’m so glad I got the flu shot. When I think how bad it might have gotten it scares me.

    It’s super nice “looking” out today but it’s still kind of chilly. I am going to hang some laundry on the line to dry and will fill some bird feeders. I’ve had the most active backyard lately. I have 2 turkeys that are coming right up into the immediate backyard. I’ve never seen such a thing. They’ve always been around but have never come this close to the house and that Tom is HUGE. There are also 2 mallards down back who are beautiful. Now I’m just waiting for our summer birds to arrive. I’m thinking the Grosbeaks and Orioles will arrive first and a few weeks later we should see the hummers.

    Everyone have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

