Question of the day from mssc

Does your family have a tradition that they all participate in?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the day from mssc

  1. Joy says:

    Not really. We gather together for holidays but that’s about it.

  2. skl1 says:

    Like Joy said, other than celebrating holidays and getting together at those times, not really.

    Some of my siblings had a sort of tradition going for a while: going to a particular Christian family camp each summer. They talked me into it one year. But it gets hard for anyone to be away from home for a whole week. Now that my sister (the main camp enthusiast) is in the dog breeding business, and my dad isn’t always in condition to help with that, I haven’t heard much about family camp.

    It would be nice to start up something like that with my kids as they get a little older. Maybe I could take them to the week-long camp and have my sister just drive up for a short stint. Probably not this year, but maybe next year. Eventually we might be able to rope my other sister into it as her kids get older.

    Oh – we do have one tradition. My parents buy each kid a leather Bible around age 13 or 14. (I hope they didn’t forget my nephew’s – he’s 15 now. I’d better ask my mom.)

  3. Laura says:

    Does insanity count? ‘Cause my family is NUTS.

  4. Laura says:

    We did have a tradition for a long time, when I was in junior high and high school, everyone gathered on Saturday Nights to play racketball and then over to someone’s house (my parents, one of my brothers) to have pizza. for years and years this went on, and people joined in (friends, relatives) if they were around. It’s kind of fallen by the wayside now, but it was around for a long time. That was pretty cool.

    And then there are the usual holiday get-togethers, wherever we are.

  5. mssc54 says:

    Yeppers.
    Our first thres daughters are 4-4.5 years apart in age. Each of them were stand-out in their respective positikns on the varsity softball team. Catcher, utility (golden glove), pitched/firsf baseman.

    Each dajghter wode the number 6on gheir jersey. We had a daughted playing varsity softball for thirteen straight years! It became common knowledge that the girl with the #6 on her jersey was our daughter.

    Now that our grandsons have begun youth sports, the tradition continues!

  6. Nikki says:

    No, not really. We used to all go cut out Christmas trees down together, but we’re the only ones doing that now. My mom and I always make sugar cookies and frost them with the kids on holidays. Other than that, I can’t think of any.

Leave a Reply

