A Two-Fer

An {Almost} Effortless Way To Clean Your Oven Racks | One Good Thing by Jillee.

Well, this is a fun little trick. First off, you all get a link to a site with a pretty cool tip for cleaning, and I discovered a new button on my WordPress dashboard.

See, they have this little button that you can add to your bookmark toolbar (at least, you can with Firefox) that’s called a “Press This” button. Well, I stuck it up there about a month ago when I discovered it, but I’ve never messed with it. Until today. And today, I hit it instead of the “Pin This” button that I’d intended to use to “Pin” that page up there to one of my Pinterest Boards. So instead of canceling the action, I just decided to blog it.

So. You get the benefit of learning something new, and I’ve discovered a new toy for the blog. I’d say that’s a Win-Win!

And for the record, I’m trying that dryer-sheet trick tonight, so I’ll be back to let you know if it’s as good as she says it is.

24 Hours Later: it worked!! Holy cow, it worked! I still needed to use my metal scrubbie (stainless, similar to steel wool pads), but I didn’t need to scrub all that hard to get the stuff off. And all that was left, besides the clean racks, were a few really nasty, hard to get off black spots that I didn’t feel like dealing with. I threw my oven grill-pan in there, too, because it had gotten really caked with stuff, and it came nice and clean, too.

So there you have it. Next time you clean your oven, stick the racks in the bathtub with hot water, dryer sheets and some Dawn.

This entry was posted in cleaning tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Two-Fer

  1. Joy says:

    I can’t believe this. I’m going to do it for our grill racks. Sweet. My oven racks come pretty clean with the self cleaning oven but this is great for the grill stuff.

    Interesting side note. It’s funny about the “anti cling” powder that gets released and that’s what helps get the “gunk” off the racks…..that is supposed to be really bad for your dryer because it gets trapped in the lint trap and it literally chokes it off and could start a fire. If you take your lint trap and fill it with water and the water doesn’t go through it, that’s supposed to be really bad so if you use dryer sheets all the time, you have to keep that lint trap clean and rinsed out or you could have a fire.

    I think I’m going to do this right now.

Leave a Reply

