What’s your take on this??

What does everyone think of this story?

This entry was posted in D'Avonte Meadows, zero tolerance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What’s your take on this??

  1. mssc54 says:

    First thing of is how does a child (this age) have such sexual knowledge that his mind would go there in the first place?

    Second thing is, this is the SECOND instance in a month. Suspend him and get his attention now. Aparrently the mother is clueless. I wonder why no mention of the father?

  2. skl1 says:

    Well, what exactly were the lyrics he sang? Did they pertain to doing something sexual to the girl or having her do such a thing to him? Even a 6-year-old knows that some things must not be said in school. Was he warned before being suspended?

    What does this boy’s mother feel about what the little girl should have to put up with? Did the girl feel threatened? Why should students have to put up with that kind of behavior at any age?

    Coincidentally, while I was driving my kids around today, Miss A complained, “Mommy, Miss E is putting her lips like she’s pretending to kiss a boy.” Where did that come from? (Never mind, I know where it came from – Kindergarten!) I also hear a lot of comments about “boobs,” a word I never use let alone approve. But the thing is, my kids know that kind of talk / behavior is not allowed in school. (How they manage to hear it there is a different question.) If a six-year-old first-grader did not know that was a punishable offense, his parents need a wake-up call. I do think suspension was extreme, but without knowing the whole picture including how much warning he got, I can’t say for sure that it was wrong.

    • skl1 says:

      “I got passion in my pants and I’m not afraid to show it?” Ummm…. Call me weird, but who lets their kids listen to / watch that at age 6?

      • mssc54 says:

        It’s statistical and generational. Look at the out of wedlock/std/Aids stats. This is what happens when the baby’s mama is to busy with her own life to properly care for her child.

        I may catch flack from some for pointing that out but that’s part of the problem with today’s society. People are afraid to be called a name for stating truth.

        • skl1 says:

          Poor parenting crosses all demographics.

          But isn’t it amazing how caring they suddenly become AFTER their kid gets punished? Caring enough to get on the news and advocate for his educational rights. Hmm. And what’s he doing while on suspension – drawing pictures? Any bets on whether this child is going to flunk at some point in his early school career? (Note this is not the first time he’s been suspended this year.)

        • Nikki says:

          Maybe I missed it. Where does it say this child has anything to do with being born out of wedlock, std’s, or Aids????

        • Joy says:

          I totally didn’t get that point either Nikki.

  3. Nikki says:

    As parents, you have to always be cautious of what your kids are learning, good or bad. We must teach our children what is appropriate. When to be goofy, and when not to be.

    I’ve heard my almost 12 year old sing this song. I know without a doubt he would never sing it to a girl, or shake his butt to her either. I think this mother needs to teach her son respect, first and foremost.

  4. Joy says:

    I feel that this boy should have been punished. He had done it before and the little girl didn’t like it and it made her feel uncomfortable. I also know that little girls are notorious tattletales but I do believe her. I’ve seen little kids like this who act really inappropriate.

    The mother’s attitude is the same as the little girl who got handcuffed. She just doesn’t see that all the “fuss” is about. Kids do learn things at home that don’t belong anywhere else and I feel that falls on the parent to help kids establish what’s okay at home and what’s NOT okay out in public. Kids aren’t stupid. This boy knew he wasn’t supposed to act like this and he chose to do it anyway.

    In my opinion, it doesn’t matter what he sang it was HOW he did it. He liked this girl and he knew what he was doing. He was doing what was in the video though and that’s where I think with a 6 year old it stops. I think labeling a 6 year old as a sexual harasser isn’t right either because it’s such a serious thing and he doesn’t know what it means.

    There have always been times when kids sang things that they shouldn’t or what just doesn’t sound right coming out of a kid and I’m not sure other than never listening to any music, how you avoid that. This song is everywhere. It’s really catchy and I’ve found myself humming it before. It’s hysterical in that M&M commercial. Remember that song “I’m too sexy for my shirt?” How many of us danced around singing that to ourselves? People just do that with catchy jingles but people have to teach their kids that they can’t act out the videos at school or anywhere else.

    I do feel that this falls on the parent. People swear everywhere. People say all kinds of words. Bitch, damn, ass hole, bastard are all on TV and it’s up to us to make sure our kids know that those words are NOT okay to say. My in-laws cursed like sailors but my kids never got in trouble for ever repeating anything because they knew I’d wash their mouths out with soap and I didn’t care if they got mad at me. They always got over it.

  5. Laura says:

    The other day, in a fit of anger, Josh yelled “What the F***!!!” He narrowly avoided having his mouth washed out with soap and being grounded for a week because it was his first offense. He understands very well that if I hear it again from him – either first hand or from “a little birdie” – the consequences will be swift and terrible. This time, we sat and discussed where he heard it (he and buddies on the playground discussing what their parents say…), why adults can use it but not kids, and why it’s really not appropriate at all, and certainly not in public/in front of girls/etc.

    Josh is 8. The kid in this story is 6. Certainly old enough to understand that, when you hear a catchy tune that might not be appropriate, you don’t sing it in public.

    I am a firm believer that you do not actively encourage your kids to listen to crap like this. When a song comes on the radio in the car or in your home, you turn it off. Kids learn so quickly and easily through music. Example: recite the alphabet. You’re singing it, aren’t you? of course you are, that’s how we teach our little ones. So why are we then surprised when their ears are attracted to a song that includes “Wiggle-wiggle-wiggle-wiggle”? Steve constantly turns it up when we’re in the car, and it grates on every nerve in my body – BECAUSE we have little ears listening, and I’m not afraid to be the stuffed-shirt that says, “No, it crosses the line.” I cannot control if J hears that song at the pool, or on an M&M commercial, or whatever, but I CAN control whether he thinks I approve of it.

    Parents also have control over how their children behave. Josh is very well aware that he has a specific standard of behavior, and if he does not adhere (please, thank you, etc), he’s busted for it. This kid did stuff like this TWICE. He was warned the first time. Apparently, that wasn’t enough, so a stiffer punishment was warranted. I might even be ok with the suspension.

    I am NOT ok with “sexual harassment” being on his record. That’s going to follow him through his school career, he’s a marked man, now. It was NOT sexual harassment, it was misbehaving. Sexual Harassment is using sex as a way to control another person. This kid was using a song with sexual overtones to annoy a little girl. At age 6, BOYS ANNOY GIRLS. It’s a fact of life. Doesn’t make it right ,but it also doesn’t make it Sexual Harassment.

  6. skl1 says:

    I must be living in a box, because I seem to be the only person here who had to google the song lyrics to know what you all were talking about!

    I listen to “moldy oldies” on the radio, but sometimes my kids do hear, even memorize lyrics that may raise eyebrows. (Many of the lyrics to West Side Story come to mind.) They might even cluelessly repeat them in the wrong time and place. But having been warned, it would be on them if they did so.

    I didn’t address the issue of calling it “sexual harassment.” I agree that it is very unlikely (but not impossible) for a 6-year-old to engage in sexual harassment. However, as I’ve said in other contexts, the way to approach this kind of thing is to work with the school, not go on national news and tell the world what your kid did and why you don’t think it was that bad. The mom going on national news to tell the world (even using his real name) is not showing a deep concern for his reputation.

    • Laura says:

      We go to a lot of public places that have music blaring… the pool and the gym are biggies. There is almost always a top 40 station on, and this is one of the big songs of the moment. Other questionable (or downright offensive) ones to be aware of are last Summer’s hit “S&M”, by Rhianna, (where she’s bragging about how much she loves whips and chains), and Katie Perry’s “Last Friday Night” (where she talks about getting drunk and having a Menage a Trois). Both have very catchy tunes, a fast beat, and an easy-to-remember chorus. And you absolutely do NOT want your Kg’ers repeating them.

      I’m mostly a ‘country’ girl, but I’ll surf over to the popular-with-the-kids stations pretty regularly now, just so I can stay up on what he’s hearing in public places and on the bus, as well.

    • Joy says:

      SKL, I don’t know many of the lyrics. I just know the “I’m sexy and I know it” part. I don’t listen to stations like this unless one of the kids are in the car with me and ask me if I’d change it. I either listen to the songs on my phone or a discussion if it’s interesting or country.

  7. Joy says:

    Katie Perry’s “I Kissed A Girl And I liked It” was hard for me too. Trinity loved it when it came out and it just didn’t sound right when she sang along with it but like the others, I was such a catchy tune.

    There’s almost no way around some of these songs that’s why I feel it’s important for kids to know some things need to stay at home.

    • Laura says:

      Yeah, Katie is one of those whose music spans the spectrum. Her song, “Firework” is one of my favorites, and I’ve got it on my iPod. I like her voice and her musical style. But you have to really pay attention to her stuff, because it seems like she enjoys the shock value.

      This is one of those areas where I long for the ‘good ol’ days’ when parents looked out for other people’s kids. They’d turn a bad song off because there were kids in the car with them because it was inappropriate, period. Managers at the public pool would just not play ‘that’ station because they knew what kind of music it played, and that half of their attendees were kids who didn’t need to hear it and whose parents wouldn’t approve.

      Now, so many parents want to be just like their kids, they are willing to look past the nasty crap because “I like that song”, “I listened to stuff like this when I was a kid just to piss off my mom”, “they know it’s ‘just’ a song”, and worse. It’s sad.

      = = stepping off of soapbox now = =

Leave a Reply

