T.G.I.F.

How was everyone’s week? Mine was good. Glad the weekend is here, though. The highlight of my week was that a friend of mine came to visit me. She has a 5 month old son, and it’s hard to get together. They live about 45 minutes away. It was really good to see her, and she hadn’t seen Bailey in a very long time. He’s maybe an inch shorter than  her now. lol Of course I held the baby the whole time. I can honestly say, there really is no feeling like the one of a sleeping baby on your chest. That made my whole week. 🙂

It’s fishing opener this weekend, and I can not wait to get out there! I  have my fingers crossed for good weather this entire weekend. Sunday, for Mother’s Day, we are going out to Paul and Joy’s. Ham is on the menu, and I think I heard something about scalloped potatoes. 🙂 But I’m not sure. I am bringing M&M’s bars. Fingers crossed it’s nice, we plan on spending most of the time working in the yard.  Add in a yummy beverage and it sounds like the perfect day.

What are your plans this weekend? Enjoy them, whatever they are and HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to ALL MOMS!!! 

This entry was posted in fishing, holiday weekend, holidays, mom's, TGIF, weekend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to T.G.I.F.

  1. Laura says:

    I’ve had a screwed-up week. Steve has been home all week, which just totally throws off my mojo. He’s supposed to be at the gym three days a week, and he usually goes out with friends for an hour or so on Tuesdays. So during that time, not only do I get a chance to recharge, it’s my ‘clean the place, get organized, get things DONE’ time. Otherwise, I’m trying to clean, vacuum, etc., and I’m tripping over people, or people need me, or whatever. Well, this week, he’s been hanging around, ’cause he caught a cold and hasn’t wanted to go to the gym.

    Add to that the fact that it’s already halfway through MAY, and we only have like 10 school days left!!! HE JUST STARTED SCHOOL LAST WEEK!!!!! DAY-um, this year has gone by FAST. It’s insane, really. I’m totally not prepared for summer. Not at ALL. Haven’t signed J up for swimming lessons (tried getting him interested in swim team, no joy). I’ve made arrangements with friends (Manservant Jim and his wife) to rescue their three kids one day a week from Day Care, but not sure how I’m going to handle the car situation… since I only have 4, maybe 5 available seats in my truck, and with me, steve and josh, we need six… but I’m sure we’ll work it out.

    Even though we’ve been invited to our neighbor’s traditional Mother’s Day Party, I’ve shamed Josh into watching Princess Bride with me. That’s my Mother’s Day Present, I said. I want him to watch my favorite movie with me. As a bribe, I’m making my popcorn, which is WAY better than that microwave stuff. And we have excellent microwave stuff (Scout Popcorn). I hate to badger him into watching a movie, but I think he’ll love it, and it’s about time he watches a movie with his family. He’s getting better at watching them at school and with friends.

    Anyhoo… Happy Mom’s Day to everyone!

    • Joy says:

      Oh man, I hate weeks or weekends like this when everything in your normal schedule’s off. Nobody understands this more than I do. I don’t react well AT ALL when my world gets shaken up!! Hope things go back to normal soon. I never realized that school is almost over. Oh gosh!!!!

  2. skl1 says:

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. skl1 says:

    I can’t believe it’s the weekend already! And I rarely feel that way. I have so much to do. I’ve been working pretty hard (for my standard), but my t0-do list just keeps growing. It’s that time of year. Stressful!

    This weekend Mr. Houseguest (remember him?) is coming up for his aunt’s birthday, which happens to fall on Mother’s Day this year. So I’m not going to my mom’s house until next week (Mom’s birthday is closer to next weekend). As far as I know, we don’t have any “plans” other than to go out to eat for 2 lunches and 3 dinners (ugh!!) between Friday and Sunday. Just the thought of all the eating out and the cakes and the leftovers is making me want to barf. (That could be partly because I am stuffed full of leftovers at this moment, and have been for the better part of this week.)

    Like Laura said, it’s that time of year – school is winding down. The girls have their dance/gymnastics “show” coming up as well as their KG graduation. (Is it just me, or is that way overdone?) I’m trying to figure out a good summer schedule. I think I have it mostly figured out. The girls are enrolled in “day camp” which is a program for ages ~6-12, so hopefully they will benefit from being in a group with a broad age range. Naps will be out the window (I know, this is late to be saying that, but Miss A likes her sleep!) and hopefully we will ease into a schedule that will help them transition to 1st grade come fall. The “camp” program sounds really cool – everything from swimming to NASA field trips to math games. I have been very tempted to get them involved in a short-term “theatre camp” this summer, but I don’t know how to make it work logistically (it’s weekday mornings). I have to give this some more thought.

    So right now I have a cold and the weather here is pretty sucky. Not a good way to start a weekend. So it could go either way from here, I guess. I just hope I get a lot of work out before the weekend so I can relax a little.

    • Joy says:

      That camp thing sounds really fun and a good way for many different interests. Is it for the whole summer?

      • skl1 says:

        It’s another program of the daycare they attend. It’s basically summer day care for school-age kids, but they really put some effort into it. They have “field trips” / outings most days, and each week they have a “theme” such as outer space, oceans, etc. Of course the marketing could be somewhat different from the reality, but they seem pretty serious about it. Anyway, I have to have the kids someplace, and I haven’t seen anything similar that isn’t inconvenient. There are summer camps at the science museum, etc., but those are out of the way and don’t seem cool enough this year to be worth the extra hassle. Maybe another year. Another option is the rec center, but the hours aren’t the best. Maybe when the kids are older and can walk themselves home.

      • Joy says:

        That sounds really nice though. Trying to get the kids out like that is a really good thing.

  4. Joy says:

    That puppy is the cutest thing. I could just suck that cute little nose! NO!!!! NO MORE PUPPIES!!!

    My brother is coming out today and Paul and I are very excited for the golf/summer season to be here. We love it when he comes. Tonight we’re going to eat at the Triple R and if it’s not raining Darryl and Paul will go golfing. Tomorrow morning we’re really hoping to hit the Swapper’s Meet and then the guys will golf again and then Sunday the kids will come over and the guys are going to get the pool up and I think us girls are just going to fool around in the yard. Maybe get my yard jewelry out. Do a little weeding. Have a cocktail and a ham dinner. Sound good no??

    Everyone have a great Mother’s Day.

    • Nikki says:

      Hope they all have fun! Enjoy your time with him.

    • Joy says:

      If you’re not doing anything and it’s nice, come to the swappers meet in the morning.

      • Joy says:

        Text me if you do and I’ll tell you where we are. It’s supposed to be really nice in the morning.

        • Nikki says:

          Ahhh I forgot Bailey has Birthday party to be at tomorrow. He has to be at their house at 11:30, then they are driving to coon rapids to go to Grandslam!!! I’m very jealous of him! LOL I think we might do this for his birthday with some of his friends. Doesn’t it look FUN!!!

          I knew you’d love that puppy. I have been having puppy/baby withdraws lately. I wonder if that ever truly goes away?

        • Joy says:

          That looks like it’s a blast. How fun. We’ll see you Sunday anyway. No biggie. The summer’s just starting. You’re so much closer now that it’s not really that far. We’ll do it another time. Bailey loves it too.

  5. Nikki says:

    Well my little excitement bubble was popped! Bass opener isn’t until the 26th. 😦

    • Joy says:

      Who cares about bass??? Walleye is the REEL deal!

      • Nikki says:

        Well, yes we’d fish for anything at this point. We just typically fish for bass. I like what ya did there…REEL deal! LOL

        • Nikki says:

          What the heck is the difference anyway??? lmao We’ve always fished for bass, but why? I’ll have to ask Jason. I know people prefer one over the other, but I’m not sure of their reasons.

        • Laura says:

          BUT HAVE YOU EATEN THE BASS YET????? Oh, sooooooo good…. a little Panko breading, fry it up, and douse it in melted butter. glaaaahhhhhhhhh………..

      • Nikki says:

        Okay, so bass are the only fish that jump and are aggressive, so they are more fun to catch. More of a fight. That’s the answer I got. Makes sense, but I’ve never fished for anything else.

        • Joy says:

          I have to agree with him. I love when they’re on the line and they leap through the air. I speak of walleye because I love to eat them the most. I’m just teasing you.

          • Nikki says:

            It got me thinking why though, so I’m glad I asked! LOL I didn’t know the difference. I love eating walleye, and I keep saying I will keep a bass to try but never do. I really should, just to try it.

Leave a Reply

