Question of the day

Have you ever been so scared you checked under your bed?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Question of the day

  1. Joy says:

    I have. I’ve also checked my closets. I just figure once you’re that scared you may as well look rather lay there and imagine things all night long.

  2. mssc54 says:

    Not that I recall.

  3. Jenny says:

    not lately…lol, I really don’t remember!

  4. Laura says:

    When I was little, yeah. But now, no. Although I do sleep with a massive Mag Lite next to my bed…. just in case…

  5. Sue says:

    Yes and I did check the closet too!

  6. skl1 says:

    Yes, on one or two occasions when I had an irrational sense of “someone gonna get me.” No idea where that comes from.

  7. Anne says:

    Heck yeah, from the age of 4 to 14. When I was much younger, I can remember having to go to the bathroom at night and I’d stand on my bed and jump as far as I could from it toward the hallway so nothing would grab my ankles or feet and pull me under there;)

  8. Nikki says:

    I did for a period of time. Or rather, I had my mom or brother check. For good reasons, too!

    One day my friends and I were walking home from school, and our whole street was blocked off. Police everywhere! We were told to only go home if our parents were home, or go to a friends house. Do not go home alone. So, I went to my friends house because she had adults there. It was across the street from my house. We weren’t in the house very long, and my friend opened the door to the garage to let her dog out and there he was. The man they had been looking for, hiding in MY friends garage! She slammed the door screaming, we all panicked. Got the everyone out of the house, the dog scared the guy out of the garage and the cops got him! He had robbed the small gas station by our house, and the news said he did have a gun.

    It was a long time after that, I didn’t feel comfortable in my own home or my friends house! I was in 4th or 5th grade.

    • skl1 says:

      This reminds me of the time they had a jail escapee in my parents’ village. (My parents live a couple blocks from the county jail.) The word was that the guy had shed his prison uinform. “Be on the lookout for a naked guy.” I never did find out how that ended up. What would you do if you saw him? Not like you can grab his collar and hold him till the cops arrive.

  9. skl1 says:

    My dad used to tell us scary bedtime stories, including “the THING under the bed.” I think the point was to “encourage” us to stay in our beds at night. Maybe I should suggest that on the Mommy sites the next time someon posts a “how do I keep my tot in bed” post. That ought to be good for some discussion.

Leave a Reply

