T.G.I.F.

I don’t know about you, but I know us up here in MN are in some serious need of sunshine. We’ve gotten so much rain, there are small ponds all over town. In the last 24 hours, we’ve gotten more than 3.5”. We need the rain, but we also need sunshine!! Hopefully it will make an appearance this weekend.

It’s Memorial weekend. Do you do anything special? We have no real plans, which is nice. We’ll just relax and enjoy the time off. Maybe take Bailey fishing if we’re able to.

So, tell us about your week, and your plans for the weekend!

This entry was posted in holiday weekend, TGIF, weather conditions, weekend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to T.G.I.F.

  1. mssc54 says:

    I hate to be nit picky but not so much that I wont. That flag banner is beautiful but not on point for Memorial Day. Veterans Day he’s but Memorial Day is specifically set aside for those who need to be memorialized because they were killed in battle, typically on a foreign battlefield.

    As for the rain vs sunshine: we have just the opposite issue. Although we did receive a little rain from the first tropical storm of the season it wasn’t much at all.

    Memorial Day weekend is the time we usually go to the grave yard and visit Our American Hero (SGT BUDDY JAMES HUGHIE). It stilll stinks, but on some level it has gotten easier.

    • Nikki says:

      I can’t ever win. So, I won’t try anymore.

      • mssc54 says:

        Nikki, I didn’t mean to hurt your feelings. It’s not the flag banner that I (personally) find out of timing. It’s the message written with it. “For all those who have served.” While it’s true that we should be thankful to all those who have served, not all who have served have been killed while serving. That was my point. Memorial Day is not about those of us who have served and returned home. Memorial Day is about those who no longer enjoy the benefits of life, liberty and the persuit of happiness.

      • mssc54 says:

        Nikki, I am sorry that I hurt your feelings. It won’t happen again. I hope you enjoy your weekend.

        • Nikki says:

          Does it even matter anymore, Michael? We are just two totally different people, with different opinions on how to treat people. You knew you were nit picking, you said it yourself. I don’t go out of my way to call anyone out, intentionally make them feel less than myself, etc. If what you said, made yourself feel better, then that’s fine. Thank you for deleting me from your facebook. I won’t miss being judged, and criticized.

    • Joy says:

      Nikki, some people just don’t have that sensitivity chip. I thought the same thing. There are flags honoring Memorial Day all over my Facebook page. Oh but wait, we can honor American Hero’s but we can’t have flags???

      Please don’t give up. Only a very rude person would have said that.

      Sometimes it’s better to keep your mouth closed and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. Some people take longer than others to learn this. I wish I would have deleted this rather than have your feelings hurt. Sometimes I feel like I can’t win either.

      • Nikki says:

        I was actually surprised to see his comment. I thought I was going to be “safe” because I didn’t say, “Happy” Memorial Weekend. I don’t understand why people feel the need to share every thought that pops into their mind. Speak kindly, and keep your unkind thoughts to yourself. It’s pretty simple. I shouldn’t let it hurt my feelings, but you know me…Thanks for having my back, once again.

      • Joy says:

        I have thin skin too and I knew it would sting you. It would me too. It was 100% insensitive and unnecessary. Did I mention RUDE?

      • mssc54 says:

        Joy, don’t try to be cryptic. Just say you think I have a sensativity chip. You would be wrong but you couid say it. I am sensative. I am sensative about Memorial Day being used as a second Veterans Day.

        Like I said in my reply to Nikki’s comment, it’s not the banner that I find off it is the, “For all who have served.”

        How was I rude? Simply because I pointed out the difference? And I was polite. I didn’t say it in a harsh manner.

        I don’t get how I offended either of you by simply saying Memorial Day isn’t Veterans Day.

        • Joy says:

          I think it was rude because you knew it would hurt her feelings and I don’t think it was necessarily. Last year you picked on her post when she said “happy memorial day.” This year she found a photo that said “For all that have served, thank you” and you still found fault. How is that photo wrong? Are all of these photos wrong?

          Sometimes I think you just like to be a wet blanket. It may be fine if you act like that at home but when you’re out in public, sometimes it’s best to just keep your trap zipped. Nikki wouldn’t hurt anyone in real life is she tried and if you knew her at all, you’d know that.

          • mssc54 says:

            I’m glad you can’t begin to understand how sensative this is for me.

            And I don’t look for ways to hurt anyone. Memorial Day is a very sensative time for many people, of which I am one.

          • mssc54 says:

            I’m glad you can’t begin to understand how sensative this is for me.

            And I don’t look for ways to hurt anyone. Memorial Day is a very sensative time for many people, of which I am one.

            I didn’t look at all the photos on that page. The vast majority of them seemed to recognize Memorial Day or had a Memorial Day theme. There were only a couple with a “remember those who served,” or “proudly serving” theme. Those I find more appropriate for Veterans Day.

    • Joy says:

      Michael, sometimes I just don’t have the right words for you. Sometimes I find you so distasteful that it makes me ill. I happen to think that if you didn’t die in a battle in a foreign land, you’re still a hero. Call me crazy but I don’t feel you have to be dead to be a hero. I think all of our military are hero’s. Even the good for nothings that had no other way in life. They still gave part of their lives for our country.

      • mssc54 says:

        Joy, so you are saying that simply the fabric an individual wears makes them a hero? It’s a uniform? Simply by signing a contract and putting on a uniform doesn’t make a person a hero. If that were the case Major Nidal Hasan would be (by your definition) a hero. And the guys that refused to engage the enemy when Buddy was KIA would be heroes.

        It takes uncomon action and personal sacrifice to make a hero. Not all military personnel are heroes. And not all heroes are military personnel.

        Sure all military personnel gave part of their lives for our country. We recognize those individuals on Veterans Day. Is it so wrong to want one specific day to honor the dead?

        • Joy says:

          I am saying that the men and women who are in our military are hero’s. I don’t believe you have to die to be one. What if someone gets killed in action but was an ass hole? Does it then just make him a hero because he got killed in action? That makes NO sense to me. I think it depends on how you lived your life. Not how you died.

          How is Nikki’s image wrong? It doesn’t say the people who served were alive or dead. It just says thank you. Why did you have to nit pick? You knew you shouldn’t. You said so. You KNEW it was going to hurt her feelings or you wouldn’t have said that.

          Does it ever hurt to thank our military?

          • Joy says:

            I’m also saying that at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter and therefore, maybe should have just been let go. We know what Memorial Day is. We don’t need a lesson from you and Nikki was just trying to be nice. That’s it. She even remembered how last year you got upset so this year she tried something else and this happened. Next year we won’t say crap about this holiday. Trust me! We won’t.

    • skl1 says:

      I think it’s absolutely appropriate to honor those who have not died on a foreign battlefield on Memorial Day. Every soldier goes into war knowing that his/her life “may” end that way. Yet they go anyway. That’s the whole point of honoring their courage in the first place. And also, many of today’s soldiers are mourning fallen comrades on Memorial Day and that’s another sacrifice they make.

      It’s not like the dead will be offended by seeing their colleagues appreciated before death. Wouldn’t it be nice if we didn’t wait until after people die to honor them? That always makes me shake my head. Someone dies, and the next 24 hours the whole world is talking about how wonderful they were. Too bad they aren’t around to hear it. We should honor the living heroes more than we do.

      I also agree that calling out someone in public (including here) when her intentions were good is a bigger mistake than not picking the most appropriate (in your opinion) photo for the post.

      • mssc54 says:

        “I think it’s absolutely appropriate to honor those who have not died on a foreign battlefield on Memorial Day.” Really? Then why is it called MEMORIAL DAY? Perhaps you could spend a few minutes and look up the origin of Memorial Day.

        Wouldn’t it be nice if we didn’t wait until after people die to honor them? Ummm, yeh, it’s called VETEREANS DAY.

        • skl1 says:

          Mssc, in the past, you have said a few racist/xenophobic things that personally offended me on behalf of my brown-skinned, foreign-born children and others close to me. Not to mention comments about single mothers, of which I am one. But I chose not to engage you because this site is not about my personal hot buttons.

          If I choose to honor my dog on Memorial Day, it’s my business. It’s not a personal insult to you and yours. Let’s face it, most people are just honoring Budweiser this weekend. Nikki’s heart was in the right place and that’s what’s important.

  2. skl1 says:

    I’m never quite ready for Friday, it seems. This week I worked really hard, including several very late nights (5am, 5am, 3am), and I closed a big project. But at the same time, a lot of stuff just got farther and farther behind. It’s scary because you wonder when someone’s going to ask for stuff that was supposed to be done already. I wish I could just do another all-nighter and finish everything, but I’m too tired. So I’m not too thrilled that tomorrow is Friday. But on the other hand, I look forward to a three-day weekend to catch up on work stuff.

    I don’t have “plans” for this weekend like most families do. Summertime is our busiest time work-wise, so it just ain’t happening. I’ll just be happy if clients etc. don’t bother me. Which is iffy, because right now, we’re working on a project where the whole team seems to work 24/7 or something. They expect to go back and forth on stuff all weekend, early morning, late night, whatever. And some of them seem to be a-holes. Can’t wait to put this project behind me.

    Tomorrow (Friday) I have to quit early to watch my kids’ last dance/gymnastics recital. Over the long weekend, I may do some grocery shopping and housework, but I don’t have any other plans.

    I’m glad to hear that you guys got rain, because that usually means we’re going to get ours next. It’s too dry over here. On the other hand, we’re supposed to have some guys come over and empty out our garage to replace the slab, so that won’t be so great if it’s raining. We’ll see.

    This week I created a behavior chart where my kids have to earn points to qualify for privileges. It seems to be a good way to draw attention to the type of behavior I expect without me being a hag. Time will tell if this is good or bad. I’d rather kids just did things because they were the right things to do. But I was getting so sick of being blown off.

    My current household project is the freezer. We have so much crap in there from God knows when. Nobody bothers to use the stuff, but they keep buying more until the freezer is stuffed to the gills. So I went through and got rid of some stuff, ate some other stuff, and reorganized what was left. It’s a work in progress. I really don’t love eating other people’s leftovers, but I’d rather do that than look at them for the next several years.

    • Joy says:

      Most people I ever knew that used charts for chores and behavior have really liked them. They do work for most kids. I was a huge fan of charts.

    • Laura says:

      The biggest thing for me with charts like that is keeping up with it. When J was about the age of your girls… maybe a little younger… we did a chart like that, and it worked very well. I’m working on putting a chore chart together for him now. It will include chores (free/contribute-to-the-family work) and allowance opportunities (above and beyond chores). I’ll letcha know how it goes.

      • skl1 says:

        I threw a couple of “chores” into the behavior chart. It has 20 items on it, actually, including behaviors, attitudes, and “work.” Seemed like a bit much, but I wasn’t sure how to whittle it down. I will be printing off a new one each week, so I can change it as we go.

  3. Sue says:

    None of our plans are set in stone for this weekend and I like that. I do have to get the jungle of a lawn mowed today and thankfully the sun is out so I should be able to do that this afternoon. The cable guy is coming this morning! Goodbye DirecTV!!! Hello Saving Money!!! WHOOP WHOOP!!!!!!

    I would like to hit the Swapper’s Meet either today or tomorrow, but tomorrow will be CRAZY so we’ll see. I would like to get some flowers planted, too. Our garden is doing great so far and things are starting to come up like crazy. Michael, I don’t even want to hear how you’ve already eaten things out of your garden! LOL! I would also like to get to the service in our little town down the road on Monday. They put up a beautiful new memorial so the service will be there and it would be fun to see it. I should do a post about it! Hmmm…..! Anyway, I played Taps for their service every Memorial Day for 7-8 years starting in 7th grade and I was always honored to be a part of it. I can only hope that Trinity carries on the family tradition and plays for them also. (My aunt and my cousin both played before me.)

    I can’t think of anything else off the top of my head. I’m just glad the sun is shining today and I can have the windows open! Have a great Memorial Day weekend everyone!

    • Joy says:

      I really like the cable so far. I don’t like the lag from room to room but I just leave the kitchen on mute. I’m also not used to the remote yet but I’m playing around with it.

      I want to hit the Swappers Meet but I’ll probably go tomorrow. I just don’t think everyone will be there today. On the other hand, I could wander alone 🙂 But, I know I’ll wait. This will be a huge one.

  4. Phyllis says:

    I don’t have any special plans for the weekend. I hope all of you have a great time, whatever you may do! Just be careful driving wherever you go since driving may be hazardous.

    The week has been interesting around here with the bathroom demo and rebuild going on. It had to be totally destroyed because of mold from the tub surround leaking. Floor, walls (and closet), insulation, EVERYTHING! The good news is the mold was only in the bathroom area so it could have been much, much worse. Also, everything will be brand, spanking new! Whirlpool tub, toilet, vanity, ceramic tile on walls and floor (which has been reinforced since the house is at least 50 yrs old and codes have changed). I was also forced to empty the closet which was a total disaster. There were things in there I haven’t seen in 20 yrs. LOL! Most everything was eliminated except sheets, towels and hygiene items. That means I can organize as things go in and actually establish some sort of system again. And, of course, pray it stays organized! How do you folks maintain order in your bathroom closets? Any ideas you can share? I’ve been checking ideas on the internet….some are really good but just not feasible, others I see and say, “oh, yeah…right… that’ll work…NOT!” I’m thinking shoe bins for separating meds for the kids from ours and makeup items, but what about all the cleaning supplies (top shelf), makeup, shampoo, etc? The closet is 24″x24″ so stuff in the back tends to get lost when we shuffle things around hunting for what we’re looking for.

    Another thing that’s good is that I spent some time cleaning, relining and organizing my kitchen drawers. My infamous “junk drawer” went from the previous 22×20″ drawer to a mere 13×15″ one and the cooking utensil drawer went from 9 X 15 to the former junk drawer. OMG! We’ll actually be able to see and find what we’re looking for at any given time! Course that also take half the fun out of it. 🙂

    I’ve also had the computer to myself all week!! Yay!

  5. Laura says:

    Oh, PLEASE erect a Beverly Hillbillies Fan and blow some of that rain down here to Iowa!! It is dry-dry-dry. Our farmers are beginning to worry, just a little. I saw a picture of Manservant Jim the other day… his face was BLACK. Completely covered in dirt and dust. He’s spent the best part of this week out in the fields picking up rocks that the plowing and planting have unearthed, and the wind has just been brutal. 20+ mph winds every day. And that particular day, it was blowing the dirt right into his face the entire day! It was awful for him, but the pic is a pretty funny one. Circles around his eyes where his skin is clean (protected by his glasses), but the rest is just caked with dirt.

    The pool opens this weekend… thank GOODNESS!! Josh has been out of school since noon on Tuesday, and he’s already driving me up one wall and down the other. He had friends over on Wednesday, and we had a giant water fight when they “helped” me “wash” the truck. Yeah… I got soaked and the truck is a bigger mess than it was! But it was so much fun.

    We’re going fishing tomorrow, too. Taking Jim’s family with us, because they’ve never been. Josh and Wyatt worked with Steve on Wednesday, and knocked out some of a checklist, so they’ll be able to earn their Fishing Pin for Cub Scouts.

    Sunday, we’ll probably spend at the pool, if it’s warm enough. Ironically, it’s been in the upper 80’s all week, but we had a storm come thru last night (canceling baseball games), and it cooled us way down. Now that the pool is open, they’re forecasting 70’s!

    And my big news is that I had an interview yesterday for a job as an insurance agent. I SOOO want it. For a lot of reasons. So say your prayers, keep your fingers crossed, light candles, whatever you do to send “positive vibes” my way… I should hear something around Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

