Why Does Your Stomach Drop On A Roller Coaster?

Do you love roller coasters? This was the Good Question the other night. What do you think of them?

I’m not a fan and I never have been. They’ve always scared me. I like spinny rides like the Scrambler and the Tilt-A-Whirl. Paul on the other hand likes the roller coasters and Mad Mouse rides but gets nauseous on the spinny ones.

What about rides like the Ferris Wheel? Can you do the “height” thing? The thing about these that I don’t like is the rocking back and forth as they stop to let people on and off.

Does your stomach drop on rides? Does it drop for other things? I’ve felt like my hearts stopped before and my stomach has done this. This has happened to me during a “falling” dream.

What rides do you like? Not like? What makes you get the heebie jeebies?

This entry was posted in amusement parks, roller coasters, Uncategorized, wcco and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why Does Your Stomach Drop On A Roller Coaster?

  1. Jenny says:

    I used to LOVE roller coasters. I say used to, because I haven’t been on one in a very long time. Jason doesn’t like them so he would never go with me! I love that feeling when your stomach drops. It’s such a weird feeling. My stomach also drops on that one hill on the golf course road out by our house. But it’s not always such a good feeling, especially coming home from a night out! LOL

  2. mssc54 says:

    Nope! I took our 8 year old son to CAROWINDS for his birthday a couple months ago. We road the coaster and er both had a blast. Some of you may have seen the video on my Facebook wall.

  3. skl1 says:

    I haven’t been to an amusement park in so long. I never had a problem with getting sick on rides, and I loved them all – especially roller coasters. But a lot changes with age. I wonder how I’ll do when I take the girls for the first time. I hope I won’t be a big party pooper.

  4. Sue says:

    I like most roller coasters, or I should say I use to. It’s also been a long time for me since I’ve been on one. I use to be able to do spinny rides, but since I’ve had kids, forget it! Sometimes I have a hard time riding in the car and swinging on the swing set!

  5. Phyllis says:

    I’ve always loved roller coasters, any size will do. I don’t do well on spinny rides but I’m ok if I space them out. I haven’t been to a park for a very long time, probably about 10 yrs. now. That’s when Mom and I took the kids to Disney in Orlando and had a blast! I think we did every ride there at least once, some of them multiple times.

    After shattering the leg bone I’m not sure if all the shaking that goes along with roller coasters would be a good thing or not, since I still feel where the healing took place at times. I’m also still working on strength and distance walking since I haven’t been off the cane all that long. Walking Great America would be a stretch for me right now.

  6. Phyllis says:

    Hey! I already commented…where’d the darn thing go? This happens to me periodically. Oh, well, here it is again:

    I’ve always loved roller coaster, the bigger the better but even smaller ones will do. I’ve never done well with rides that spin but I’m usually ok if I space them out. I haven’t been to an amusement park for about 10 yrs. That’s when Mom and I took the grands to Disney in Orlando and had a blast.

    Since I shattered the bone in my leg, I’m not sure all the shaking that goes along with roller coasters would be a good thing. I still feel where the healing took place at times so I’m pretty careful at this point. It hasn’t been very long since I needed the cane, so I’m currently working to get strength and distance back. Sooooo, walking an amusement park would be a stretch for me right now. Maybe next year!

  7. Laura says:

    I LOOOOVE roller coasters!! My favorites are down at Islands of Adventure in Orlando – the Hulk and the Racing Dragons (Fire and Ice). It’s been a long time, I don’t even know if they still bear those names, or if they have changed them, but they were good ones. Super fast, and really really smooth.

    I can handle spinny ones, too, like the Tilt-a-whirl, but I do NOT like the “spin around and the floor drops out” one that they (used to) have at Great America. I don’t know if it’s still there. I never understood the point. I went on it once, just to say I did it, but probably never again. Yuk.

    Ferris wheels, I used to like, but I have this serious issue with heights, and I can’t handle them much anymore. I get really twitchy when they stop and I’m at the top.

  8. Nikki says:

    Any and all roller coasters. I’ll go on anything. They do scare me, and I get very sweaty palms, but I LOVE IT!!! I am not a daring person in my every day life, so maybe I like it because it makes me feel adventurous. The really high ones, like Wild Thing at Valley Fair, that took every thing I had to get on, and I was scared sh*tless, but after the first time, I had to go again. The only one I won’t go on, just because to me it’s not fun, is the ship that hangs upside down. It hurts, and you are upside down way too long. Not fun. I’m not a huge fan of Ferris wheels only because they aren’t that fun. The one ride, that I have yet to find the courage for are the swings. Maybe this year.

Leave a Reply

