Sunglasses

What determines what kind of sunglasses you buy? Looks? Price? Protection from certain rays? Here’s the truth on what matters when looking for sunglasses.

I’ve had to have prescription sunglasses for so long that I don’t even know what it’s like to just go buy a pair off a rack somewhere. Mine have to last years and most of the time if I have to replace anything, I’ll just go with the lenses because when you’re getting up towards $400-$500 for sunglasses, that’s getting to be too much.

I sure do miss just being able to buy cute ones though from anywhere I want. It seems like such a fun thing to do.

How do you choose yours? How long does a pair usually last for you?

This entry was posted in sunglasses, UVA/UVB and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunglasses

  1. skl1 says:

    I don’t actually use sunglasses. I don’t own a pair. I guess that means that I’d probably be pretty cheap about it if I did need to buy some.

    • Joy says:

      You are SO lucky. I wish I didn’t need to wear them. My eyes are so sensitive to the light. It’s much worse for me in the winter. Or if I’m on the water. I do have polarized lenses in mine too.

  2. Sue says:

    I HATE buying sunglasses! I do look for the 100% UV ray protection, but finding a pair that looks good on your face is a pain in the youknowwhat! The most I’ve spent on a pair is $70 and I’ve purchased the cheap $15 ones. Either seem to be fine to me!

  3. Jenny says:

    I buy the cheap ones. I wouldn’t spend more than $20 on sunglasses. It takes me forever picking them out. I’ll stand there and try on tons of pairs and look in the tiny little mirrors. I usually buy them at JC Penney. How long do they last for me? I end up sitting on them and breaking them a lot!!

  4. Laura says:

    I’m one of the lucky ones. Nearly all shapes of glasses look good on my face. My problem comes to what I actually like. I don’t like the big “movie star/Jackie O” style that is so popular now. I prefer something smaller or aviators. I have two pairs that I use regularly right now. I’ve just replaced my Fossil aviators (which were about $60 glasses that I scored on clearance for $15) because they just plain wore out. They were too big for my face, and I bent them just enough so they fit, but that limited their life. So they’ve been retired. Replaced with a pair of 9 West Aviators (smaller), again, scored on sale for about $20. These are $45 glasses.

    My second pair is another clearance-bin pair of Fossils, this time with purple plastic rims and lenses. I totally love them, too. They’re my “movie star” glasses, even though they’re not big like that style usually is.

    I’ve found that all sunglasses now are 100% UV protection. I’d LIKE to get polarized, as well, but those tend to get pricey, you can’t find them on sale, and none of the really cute ones are polarized. Fossil has some, but not in styles that I like.

    I used to go thru sunglasses like crazy. Now I have a place where they “live” and I keep a case or special place in my purse for them when I’m out, so they don’t get crushed. I really like them, so I take care of them.

    And i can get them because I have contacts. Otherwise, I’d have to be wearing prescription ones, as well, and that’s just no fun.

    • Laura says:

      Oh, and I generally stay away from really cheapie sunglasses, like you get at Wal-mart for $5. I’ve had tons of those and they just fall apart. I prefer to stick to the mid-range. They’re made better. I had a pair of RayBans once. LOVED them. And somebody stole ’em. Not worth the $180 if you can’t wear them.

  5. Nikki says:

    I buy 95% of my sunglasses at Maurices. I have the 2nd pair in. For one, they are CUTE and two, they aren’t expensive!!! They are always $12,and are usually on sale, so I get them for about $9. The 2 things I look for are obviously style, and lens darkness. If I can see my eyes, I don’t normally get them, unless you can barely see them. I can’t stand sun in my eyes. I need sunglasses. They last as long as I don’t lose them. I’ll lose them before the break. That’s another reason I don’t spend a lot on them. $20 is the most I’ve spent.

    I do have a hard time finding a pair that fit my face. I have a thin face and most end up looking way too big on me, and most styles these days are the big ones. I am SO happy with my current pair, I’ve been very good about not just setting them down anywhere.

  6. Phyllis says:

    I go with the cheapies because I tend to loose them or the greats wreck them somehow. My requirements are simple, 100% UV protection, polarized is nice but not a requirement, what matter most of all is that they fit my temples and don’t slide down. I have a small temple area and sliding down is a big issue even with my prescription glasses. Mostly I wear contacts though so any sunglasses will do.

Leave a Reply

