Question of the day

How did you decide what to name your kids?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Question of the day

  1. Jenny says:

    I had a long list of girl’s names and Jason had 1 name picked out for a boy. So when we found out we were having a boy, there wasn’t really much of a choice since we only had Hunter picked out.

  2. Laura says:

    Josh has always been a favorite name of mine, so we decided on that one early on. But we didn’t know he was a boy, so we tried on a lot of girls’ names. We hadn’t decided on one even in the delivery room!! Whenever we “settled” on a name (Josh, plus the girls-name-of-the-week) I would picture myself yelling out into the back yard: “[first][middle] Hayes! Get in here RIGHT NOW!!!” if it wasn’t comfortable at gut-busting level, it didn’t pass muster. Obviously, Josh passed.

  3. skl1 says:

    My girls’ names had to be (1) feminine, (2) reflecting their Latina heritage, (3) reflective of personality traits I’d like to encourage. While waiting out the adoption process, I was reading some biographies and decided that a couple of the individuals were inspirational for girls. I translated their first names into Spanish and that was that. My daughters’ middle names are the names given to them by their birth moms.

  4. Sue says:

    Well, our first child didn’t have too much excitement when it came to naming her. We had a list like everybody does, but I actually got the idea from a customer who called in about his credit card account through Fingerhut. His name was Trinidy and when I transferred him to CS, the rep who picked up the line was Trinity. When I told Toby the name idea that night he said, yup that’s her name and it was the end of discussion as far as he was concerned! I was a little more adamant to wait til she was born to actually say her name b/c what if it was really a boy?!

    Our second one has a better story in that he spent 3 days without a name! He was 1 month early so we had not finished arguing about names yet! The day I was released (he spent 10 days in the NICU) I was not willing to leave without him having a name so we both put our top name in a k-basin and I even let Toby draw just so he knew it wasn’t rigged and low and behold he drew his pick! I wasn’t thrilled that he got to name both of our children, but deep down I knew that Christopher was a Christopher and not a Carter.

  5. Joy says:

    I named Jason Donald when I was a teenager. I knew I wanted my first son to have that name. I loved it and still do. Toby (Christopher) was a lot tougher. Christopher was the ONLY name we could agree on with the stipulation he never be called Chris. I had a bad name association with Chris. So Paul nicknames him Toby before he was even 2 years old.

    But I got another Christopher all these years later and he’s my Christopher.

  6. Dina says:

    I must say, naming our children was one of the hardest things we ever had to do! We had some strict guidelines 🙂
    1) We wanted it to work for them in their younger and older years. No growing into or outgrowing the name. 2) We didn’t want any shortened version of a boy’s name. 3) We had to be able to yell it from the porch and have it sound good 4) it should sound good preceded by “President” … okay that was a friend’s guideline after we had our first but, it’s a good one isn’t it?

    We didn’t know what we were having either time. And while we had decided on names for our 1st, we couldn’t decide on a boy’s name for the 2nd. My husband wrote suggestions on the whiteboard in the hospital room while I breathed through contractions…huff, huff, huff…no! huff, huff, huff…maybe?

    We’re happy with the names we choose and feel they fit our children’s personalities.
    Harrison Patrick and Gillian Renee

  7. Nikki says:

    We tossed a few names around but most didn’t sound right. It was between Chase Robert, and Bailey Donald. Bailey Donald just sounded like a strong name, and I really wanted to carry that name down. It’s his dads middle name, and he was named after his grandfather. Bailey, now (he’s almost 12) says he wants his sons middle name to be Donald. We’ll see. I love that names are passed down. I absolutely love the name, Jason. My husband didn’t want a Jr. He wanted him to have his own name. I kinda wish I would have fought that, but Bailey is Bailey!!!!

    We didn’t really ever have a girls name nailed down. Most of my life I wanted a Taylor Cheri (not cherry-but like sharee) I also loved the name Grace. Jason never ever gave the girls’ names much thought, because he just knew we were having a boy.

    The day we found out we were indeed having a boy, is the day he was named Bailey Donald. 🙂

Leave a Reply

