I’m not sure…….

I’m not sure if I should call this a break or what I should call it. I just think we all need some time off and this might be the best time do it. It seems everyone is busy and are elsewhere too. Baseball, soccer, swimming, golf, vacations, fishing. We’re all really busy right now.

I can say with almost certainty that I’ll be back. It may be next week for all I know but I did want to tell you all something. In all these years, we’ve never taken time off like this. I just feel right now, at this time, I want to get my hands dirty in “real” dirt and take care of “real” plants and flowers. I want and need to spend more time outside.

I read somewhere the other day that the average blog is lucky to make it to 90 days. I think we got really lucky. We’ve had 5,496 posts and 55,256 comments. Since starting, we’ve also had 1,213,434 hits. The counter on the main page I got long after we started the blog. Can you imagine? Over a million hits??!! Wow.

I thought if this day ever came that I’d be really sad and if we don’t come back, which I’m sure won’t happen, but if it did, I’ve met great people and feel I’ve made some lifetime friends so how can I be sad about that? But I’m almost positive I’ll be back. As for the other “girls,” I’m sure they’ll be on board too but I’ll have to let them answer for themselves.

If you do feel the need to vent, I’ll always still be around. I still come here 45,742,347,839 times a day “just to check” anyway!! LOL!!! So we can still chat. Plus, stop by and feed Harold. I’m sure he’s going to get lonely.

I’ve already been working on posts but it’s really nice not to have deadlines or think “I don’t have a Braingle ready” on a Friday night. I need this break. This blog started on March 30th of 08 so that’s a long time to go with no breaks.

So have fun. Have a great summer. If you have any help for us, write things down or send them to me. I am working on stuff as I mentioned and we do need and welcome the help from you guys. Without you, there would be no blog either.

Thank you for coming and we’ll see you soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to I’m not sure…….

  1. Laura says:

    I wanted to write something in here, too, but today’s been in-and-out crazy. So I have a minute now… I’m just as busy, with new opportunities maybe opening up for me very soon, which are likely to make me even more busy. And unfortunately, would take me away from writing for the blog for a while. So it’s a bit of a blessing that Joy is feeling this way right now, too… so I don’t feel like I’m letting her down. I’ve felt that way for a little while now, as things have ramped up in my life, and I’ve not been able to write so much. Maybe now, without that pressure, I’ll be able to get some things ‘in the can’ as well – more personal things, and not so reliant on the news, which makes such easy fodder, but seems to not generate as much conversation.

    I’ll miss talking with everyone for a while, I have such fun with you folks… but right now, I’m with Joy, that with the craziness, this is the right thing to do. And I’m sure, when I figure out how to juggle things, that I’ll be back too. I need an outlet, just like she does!

    So long for now, see you on the other side.

    • SKL says:

      Are congratulations in order?

      • Laura says:

        Not yet…. sitting on pins and needles. I’m tellin ya. This is KILLING ME!!! Second interview on Friday. Keep your prayers going, fingers crossed, candles lit, do a “give laura a job” dance, whatever it takes. (I want a video of the dance, by the way)

        • SKL says:

          Sending good thoughts your way.

          As for the video, THAT would give you a good long laugh, if I was willing to be taped. Ha! Self-conscious people should just not try. When I was young I used to develop a pronounced limp every time someone thought I ought to be dancing. Don’t get me wrong – I love dancing, and I love watching others dance. I just can’t be seen dancing.

          • Laura says:

            I completely agree! Unless I’ve had lots of lessons and lots of rehearsal, I’m a “keep my feet glued to the floor and sway like a white guy” dancer.

  2. SKL says:

    OK! I’m glad you checked in, because otherwise I was going to check on you. I totally understand needing a break. You have earned it! And now seems like the best time to take it.

    You shouldn’t have to worry about those Braingles and stuff. Everyone deserves to have a rest once in a while. Maybe you could just put up a whole-weekend post on Thursdays or Fridays. Most blogs I visit only post a couple times a week at best.

    I hope everyone is having a good time wherever they are. As for me, I hope I meet my deadlines! My break will come in a few weeks (I hope).

    • Joy says:

      That’s a good think to consider SKL. I’ve thought about doing a couple a week and see how that goes but for right now, I just don’t want to think of deadlines. But, I do like being here and talking so I’m very conflicted.

    • Jenny says:

      I agree, Joy you don’t have to put something up every single day! That’s a TON of work. And yes, we appreciate everything that you ladies do. So maybe throw in a couple during the week or so. See how that feels

  3. Karen says:

    I so enjoy reading this blog every day and have often thought how amazing it was that you posted something Every. Single. Day. With that being said, I find it quite alright to take time away from your computer and enjoy your families without worrying about the blog. Thanks for brightening my days. 🙂

    • Joy says:

      I’m so glad you commented Karen. I always wonder who the people are who come and read but never say anything. There are times we get down in the dumps because of the lack of comments. We think nobody’s around. Thanks so much.

  4. Your break is well earned. You guys are all fantastic bloggers – you keep your deadlines, you have regular spots, and you harvest and encourage discussions in the comments area. I enjoy hanging around here, and I’ve never let that one incident scare me away and I never will.

    I will be glad to see you back, Joy, but I also know you need the break. We have each others’ emails and Facebook pages, so we can always be in touch when needed. *Hugs*

  5. Nikki says:

    I think a break is needed for everyone. With summer here now, we’re all out doing more things. It will give us all some time to work on things at our own pace, and once we’re up and running we should have plenty in the can. I agree with maybe a few times a week. Our regulars will still come, and then it’s less pressure for you to always have something ready to go. If there’s something ready to go, great, if not, no biggie. 7 days a week is a lot and like you said, most blogs are only a few times a week, if that.

  6. Phyllis says:

    You ladies have definitely earned a break and it’s well deserved. What better time to take one than now? Summer is the time to enjoy the weather, the family and the “great outdoors”. I’m hoping to see you back come fall, even if it’s only a couple of times a week. Daily stuff can be a real drain, but you’ve done a wonderful job, each and every one of you! Thank you so much for the effort and thought you’ve put into each day’s conversations! I’ve often been one of those that “check in but don’t reply” due to time issues but I’ve been here most of the time.

    We can keep up with each other on fb if that’s ok with you. Enjoy your time off!!

  7. starlaschat says:

    Hi Joy :+) Summer I think is a good time to take a break. I think a lot of bloggers are busy with summer in full bloom. I’ve taken a few breaks over the years. One break that was almost a year long. I actaully didn’t think I would ever come back to blogging. I was surprised when one day I had an idea for a post and the next thing I knew I was having fun blogging again. I think having the rest for a year was a really great thing for me. As you know blogging can take up a lot of time and energy. I will pop in from time to time to say hi and see if your computer is still hooked up. :+) I actually literally turned off my computer for a year that’s hard for me to imagaine today. Sorry that it took me so long to check my email. I am terriable at keeping tabs on my email I’m not sure why it’s just one of those strange quirky things I guess. Getting your hands in the dirt and having fun gardening sounds wonderful. Blogging will always be around and after you have had a nice rest you can always fire up the blog. :+) It did take me awhile at first to get use to not thinking about things as posts. Life sure can get busy and it’s funny how summer seems to get so busy. I wonder why that is maybe because the roads are better and people are out and about more I’m not sure. Miss You and I will keep in touch. :+)

  8. SKL says:

    Nice header photo! Whose is it and from where?

    • Joy says:

      Another one from Laura’s trip. I love turtles too.

    • Laura says:

      Those turtles were BEGGING to have their picture taken. When we left for vacation, one of the last things Joy said to me was, “see if you can find header photos!” And when I saw this log, all spread out like that, it was like the turtles knew. The loons, though…. they mocked me the ENTIRE trip. I tried to photograph them, I really did. They just laughed at me and gave pics of water rings.

  9. Karen Joy says:

    Im glad your taking a break!I have marveled at how something is posted every day.Thats ALOT of thinking,I know my brain would need a rest!Enjoy your your time off.

Leave a Reply

