TV Dads

Is your favorite TV dad mentioned? Celebs reveal their favorite TV dads. Who would you add or take off this list?

This entry was posted in people magazine, tv dads, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TV Dads

  1. Joy says:

    I just loved Charles Ingalls and John Walton. I also liked Fred Flintsone. He had such a big heart.

  2. SKL says:

    I don’t watch TV nowadays, and I don’t remember too many tv dads. I like Archie Bunker, of course, just because he’s funny. Same for Fred Sanford. And even Al Bundy. Would I want them to be my dad? Maybe not. Hmm. I thought Pa was pretty cool too, but that whole series just rubbed me the wrong way. I can’t think of too many other shows where there was a good dad figure. Andy griffith, etc. were too pollyanna. Most TV families seem to have a really ineffective / idiotic or over-idealized dad. Bill Cosby was cool but I was too old to really watch that series.

  3. Phyllis says:

    The dads I like are the ones that come across as smart, involved and with a sense of humor in dealing with life. Most of those shown just don’t do it for me. Bill Cosby, Michael Landon as Charles Ingalls, Alan Thicke and the guy from Family Ties. The rest are made to look bumbling and idiotic too much of the time. Hugh Beaumont’s another that I like as well as Robert Young on Father Knows Best.

    The others are funny to watch, but I wouldn’t want to be their kid, know what I mean?

  4. Nikki says:

    I’ve been thinking about this all day. lol I couldn’t think of any TV dads that I loved as a child, that aren’t on there. A more recent TV dad, that I adore and would love to have had as a dad is Eric Taylor from the TV show Friday Night Lights. Just a good husband and dad. I miss that show 😦

  5. Laura says:

    I always liked Andy Taylor (Andy Griffith show). He came up with creative ways to handle things, he didn’t just hand down “you’re grounded” or “spanking”. Yeah, the show was an idealized portrayal of life in the ’50s, but the core remained – he was a solid guy, who set boundaries, and had buckets of patience. More people should try for that.

    On the other hand, I agree with the others. Good TV Dads went extinct in the ’80s. Cliff Huxtable, Steven Keaton, and the rest of them were the last of the stand-up dads. The idiots came in with Al Bundy and Homer Simpson. Yes, they’re funny, but they are pathetic, useless, fools. A symptom of our society, I suppose – I know a lot of wives with the “Debra Romano” syndrome. To her husband’s face, she’s all loving, but when she turns around, he’s an idiot. So did that come from television? We idolize these “strong” women, but at what cost? Why can’t we have both – a strong mom AND a strong father?

Leave a Reply

