Do you think carrying a knock off makes you a liar?

Do you carry a “knock off” purse? Would you? Do you have any other “knock off” stuff?

I saw this on a discussion one morning on CBS This Morning and some guy was saying if we carried or used a knock off, we were liars.

I couldn’t disagree with this more as it pertains to myself. I buy what I like. Whether it’s a designer bag or pair of jeans, shirt or shoes. I wouldn’t buy anything because it had a “brand” name on it. Besides that, I’m pretty sure no matter how much money I had, I’d never pay $1000 for a purse. NO way NO how.

Now, if someone were to buy this purse to “fool” someone or to make themself look better or richer, I guess maybe that’s different but I don’t buy anything for that reason.

Have you ever bought a “fake” and tried to pass it off or did you just like it?

This entry was posted in designer handbags, name brands, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Do you think carrying a knock off makes you a liar?

  1. SKL says:

    No, I am not at all motivated by that sort of “image” stuff. I am unlikely to even know if it is a knockoff in the first place. If I like it and the price is right, that’s all I care about. Personally I think it’s ridiculous that people will pay tens or hundreds of dollars just for a trademark. So no, I would not pretend to do so myself.

  2. Nikki says:

    I have bought knock-off’s but I’d never lie and say it was real. I’m pretty sure my friends and family would call me out on that! LOL No way could I ever afford a real Prada, but it was cute and pink and $30! So, I bought it! I don’t think it makes you a liar, unless you flat out lie and say it is real, when in fact it’s fake.

  3. Jenny says:

    I buy a purse maybe once a yr ….I don’t spend no more than $30 on one! I would never lie and say it was the real thing when it was a knockoff. I just buy what I think is cute.

  4. Joy says:

    I have 3 of these purses. When I got the one in the photo I just fell in love with the orange in it. I could care less what it says on the side or the tag but I wouldn’t act like it was real either and also, who asks? Who would say to someone “is that real?” That would seem so rude to me. It would be like asking someone if their diamond was real. I just wouldn’t.

  5. Sue says:

    Only makes you a liar if you’re trying to pass it off for the real thing.

  6. Joy says:

    I was also thinking that I’ve spent over $100 on a good leather purse from Wilson’s. I’ve probably had half a dozen over the years but I think leather wears such a long time and it’s nowhere near $1000. But again, I buy something because I like it and not what it says on the side.

  7. Laura says:

    Hah! That guy’s an idiot. Ok, if you’re trying to pass that Joe’s Purse off as a Coach, and you continue to insist that it is when obviously, it isn’t, then I guess you’re a liar. But it begs the question… who cares?

    A purse is a purse. If it looks good and gets the job done, who cares? And this is coming from a self-proclaimed “Bag Whore”. I LOVE bags. Purses, tote bags, backpacks…. I’m addicted. Even wallets. But because of that addiction, I tend to keep the purchase price low. I look for sales, but i’m not into “cheap”. I like Fossil brand, and Lucky, too. But I’ve never once bought one of those things for retail. My current favorite wallet is by Fossil. It’s all leather, will last forever, and retailed for like $90. I found it on 70% off clearance, used a gift card, and ended up paying like $10 out of pocket for it. And i would have bought it if it was a Joe’s. I didn’t care that it says “Fossil”, except that they stand behind their products.

  8. Phyllis says:

    I don’t carry a purse, but there are other knockoffs in life. I buy what I like and don’t care latest styles or anything else, although I know plenty of people who do.

    My own “knock off” item is fake fingernails.
    I wear fake fingernails. I like the convenience of them as well as the look, however, these nails run me under $3.00 (I get them at Family Dollar and glue them on). They look like they’re done professionally, and the latest ones I’m into have a design on them that doesn’t wear off. I get a ton of compliments on them (color, design, length) and I tell everyone just what I told you. Under $3, glue ’em on, shape them so they’re rounded, not squared and a set lasts about 2 weeks before they come loose and buy them at Family Dollar. The color and design do not wear off. So am I lying by wearing them? No, I just don’t have the time or inclination to mess around with polish on, polish off, touching up, etc. I don’t try to pass them off as professionally done and I haven’t a problem admitting that I’m way too frugal (read that as I’m a cheapo) to pay a ton of money for the same look.

Leave a Reply

