T.G.I.F.

Happy Friday, everyone. How was your week? Any weekend plans?

We’ll be gone all weekend at a softball tournament. We’re looking forward to it, we have a couple friends coming out to join us. So, I will be on the side lines, with my shades, sunscreen, lawn chair and seeds! Sounds like a good weekend to me. Hopefully the sun will be out, and add in a few Coronas and I’m set!

Oh, yeah…as of today (Friday) at 4pm, I am on vacation for 9 days. I’ll miss the kids, but I won’t miss the constant bickering between them. They (sisters) are 4 and 8, and they just pester each other. Typical I know, but I’m glad I don’t have to hear it for a week. 🙂

What’s going on with you?

This entry was posted in TGIF, weekend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to T.G.I.F.

  1. SKL says:

    Well, I finished the “big deadline” and lived through it. Now I have to get caught up on all the stuff that had to wait for that. I have over 500 emails in my inbox, and that’s after deleting all the junk and filing all the easy stuff. Plus I have several things due Friday. So it isn’t time to relax yet, but the stress level is down.

    What I really want to do is just spend hours cleaning in my house. I have had to let things go and that gets to me. Makes me feel out of control. So I’m hoping certain people go away during the work day tomorrow so I can do a little here and there until I feel better about it. Hopefully the maids will come next week; we told them to hold off so they wouldn’t be a distraction during crunch week.

    The kids will be happy to have a little more of my time again (I hope). I have some new books I’ve been wanting to read to them, need to go buy some camping equipment and figure out our plans for that, etc. I want to get out the jump ropes and see if they are ready for them yet. Skates too – someone bought them some tot skates last year, but I might go buy some real ones.

    I’ve been shopping online for school clothes. The dress code is kind of conservative, which is fine with me, since my girls like dresses. I was hoping to find some versatile blouses and jumpers and have them effectively be our “uniform.” However, I could hardly find any nice-looking, affordable jumpers. I guess times have changed! I will keep looking, though. Maybe I should try eBay – that’s where I found the overalls I bought them last year.

    We might go for a concert Friday night, if there are any tickets left – which I doubt, but we’ll see. On Saturday I hope to do the zoo and shopping. On July 2, hopefully we’ll get to the free concert and fireworks in our nearby city. For July 4th, the girls have the day off school, so maybe we’ll do something, but I don’t know what. On July 5, Miss A has a neurological-type evaluation. So it’s going to be a busy week, but different from usual.

    I hope everyone has a very nice weekend!

    • Laura says:

      Try Land’s End (landsend.com). Yeah, I know… spendy. But…. They have really good quality clothes – I will only buy J’s winter stuff from them, because it lasts so freakin’ long. He’s outgrown a pair of snowpants from there already, and he wore those for three winters, I think. They reinforce the knees AND have an unconditional guarantee – if the kid tears them, they’ll replace them. He’s on his second winter coat, too. The first one I got at a garage sale, and we’ve since passed it on.

      So, ok, you’re at Lands End. Check their regular stuff. If you like it, go to retailmenot.com and search for Land’s End. They usually have good coupons up there, or request to be on their mailing list. They often have really good sales, especially on school clothes.

      Also, check their “Overstock” page. It’s a little hit-and-miss, but you can find some REALLY good deals there. But if you find one, get it RIGHTNOW, because those overstock items go pretty quick.

      • SKL says:

        I did check Lands End a couple of times. So far I’m not seeing what I want on there.

        I found a couple of things on eBay, a couple on Amazon, a couple at “French Toast.” I was hoping to just get a bunch all in one place, but it looks like that’s not going to happen. Who knew shopping for school clothes was such a challenge?

        I like some of the uniform jumpers they have out there, but most of them just scream “uniform,” and I think it would make my kids stand out and feel awkward. Since I was always the awkward kid in school, I don’t want to do that to them if I can avoid it. (Not that they don’t already stand out as the darkest, smallest, oddest family structure, etc.) I’m probably a little too defensive on their behalf.

  2. Laura says:

    My interview is this morning at 9. I’m nervous. Wish me luck. See you when I get back…

  3. Joy says:

    Have fun at the softball tourney. Where is it?

    We don’t have too much on our plates at all for the weekend. If we’re up I wouldn’t mind heading to the Swappers Meet. We haven’t been there for a while but we always just play that by ear. I’m not even sure what the weather is supposed to do. I guess it’ll just do the opposite of what they say it’s going to do. I do have a little weeding I could do so we’ll see.

    Have a great day and weekend all.

    • Nikki says:

      It’s in Delano. He plays at noon and 6, I believe on Saturday. Then on Sunday, Tuesday and maybe Wednesday. It all depends on how well they do. If you’re up to it, come on over. They have the carnival going too. I am vowing to not eat any carny food. We’ll see how that goes. Maybe just a burger. 😉

      • Joy says:

        It’s supposed to get to 90 on Saturday. Chances are pretty high I won’t be able to be outside like that 😦 Wed kicked my ass and I’m still paying for it today.

        • Nikki says:

          😦

          Wow. I haven’t looked at the weather. I should fill the ice chest up with ice and water/tea then. If it’s that hot though, we’ll come home in between games.

        • Laura says:

          NOOOO!!!! IT CAN’T BE THAT HOT ON WEDNESDAY!!!!! I have to walk in a parade then play a concert!!! NOOOOOO!!!!

          And THEN we’ve got Cub Scout Camp next weekend. Please GOD, make the weather cooler! We had 4 days of 95+ with about 90% humidity last year. I do NOT want to do that again. It was awful.

      • Joy says:

        It doesn’t say how humid but still, that’ s pretty hot.

  4. SKL says:

    So a couple weeks ago, I got my kids’ Iowa test scores and they both got a bit below average on the vocabulary part. I thought, gimme a break. What words did they test on? Something isn’t right.

    A few days later, Miss E asked me, “what’s a pin”?

    Now today, she asked me, “what’s a nail”?

    Gimme a break. Are you pulling my chain or what? You can’t be 5yo and not know what a nail is. We even did a Home Depot project where you personally hammered the nails into the wood. Hello? Or are you just confused because we clip nails one day and hammer them the next?

    Weird kids I have.

Leave a Reply

