Pull Up a Dogsled

It’s so stinking hot, I wanted to put up something to cool us all off. Those are Siberian Huskies up there, both teams belong to my friend Jill (front sled) and her husband Karl (rear sled). Her dogs are absolutely gorgeous and so incredibly trained… I could go on for hours. But the point is, doesn’t that picture just cool you off? All that snow? And the happy dogs are a lovely bonus.

So, what are y’all doing to keep cool this week? Me? I’m thinking of calling my Alaskan Friends and asking them to send me some snow.

This entry was posted in Pull Up Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pull Up a Dogsled

  1. SKL says:

    Well, everyone must have had a great weekend, because again I was all alone in TGIF land. Obviously I need to get a life!

    This weekend I did accomplish a couple of my goals – set up the tent and played camping (in the backyard), and taught my kids how to sew. Just the bare basics, of course. They both loved the camping stuff and Miss E was thrilled to sew a lace border on her doll dress. (It’s about half done.) It may seem like a little thing, but isn’t it weird how kids can get to be this old without ever seeing a pincushion? Or is it just my kids? And now, how many needles will I be stepping on?

    Other than that, it was a relatively normal weekend, if baking in an oven can be considered normal. I am more thankful for my air conditioning than I’ve ever been before. I just don’t want to see the electricity bill.

    This week I hope I will have a better focus on my work and not have so many distractions. I have a ton to do, and a couple of big projects coming up. Yikes. Just thinking about it makes me tired, so I’d better stop thinking.

    Have a great week, everyone!

  2. Laura says:

    I’m back! I survived the Campout, barely. Turns out that water with a very high iron content – well water with a very strong taste – can affect some bodies in a very negative way. I have one of those bodies.

    Got to camp on Thursday night, did our Swim Test (so we know what part of the pool we can swim in… long story, if you want me to explain, I will), got camp set up, went to bed. Slept out under the stars since it was so flippin’ hot.

    Friday was bright, sunny, and carried a 110 degree heat index. We were out in it all day. We monitor the kids like crazy – “Drink!” “Pee!” “Drink More!” “Why haven’t you asked to pee yet???” And, being the good Cubmaster, I set the example by drinking like crazy. Refilling my water can throughout the day (which I started doing the night before, by the way). At lunch, I was putting my bench up on the table to help clean up, and I was hit with a yukky feeling. Not nausea, but I was feeling very weak and lightheaded. It was weird, like I was looking through a fog. Manservant Jim and my Wolf Den Leader, Amanda, saw me kinda standing still and swaying, and asked if I was ok. I said, “I don’t know”, and Jim told Amanda to take the pack, that he was taking me to A/C immediately. He walked me down to the Trading Post – I had to stop twice – and made me sit in the cool for like a half hour, drinking a bottle of water (purchased, not out of the ground). I started feeling a little better, so we continued with the day. He (and the other leaders) kept after me, not letting me drink a drop of the camp’s water for the rest of the day, running back to camp, if needs be, to grab another bottle of water (and after a while, they started alternating me on Gatorade).

    It took until late afternoon on Saturday, before I was really feeling back to my old self and not getting waves of dizziness or weakness. Just bizarre.

    So here’s your warning – if you’re not used to very hard water, BE CAREFUL. Drink in moderation until you know your system can handle it!!!

    The rest of camp? Rocked. It was awesome. Kids were great, and I absolutely love love love the rest of the parents in the pack. It truly is a pleasure to lead when you have so much talent to work with.

  3. Nikki says:

    I don’t know what our plans are for the week. Evenings are pretty packed now with practice in full swing for our Fall baseball league. Maybe hit up the beach some time. That always seems like such a JOB though. Wish I had a pool in my backyard. We’ll see. I need to start working out harder this week. I know that. I do 20 minutes a day on the elliptical, and I do lift weights also, but I’m not losing that extra weight. I am gaining good muscle, I can tell in my legs but my waist is not getting any smaller….should lay off the chips and salsa??? Maybe! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Our weekend was GREAT! Bailey and his team took home the championship trophy and that town was not happy. They practically threw the trophy and medals at the coach and left. Usually (heard from a local) they do a ceremony. Apparently they didn’t like MN coming in and taking it all away from them! Hahahaa!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Bailey pitched better than we were even hoping for. Very proud! And he and the other kids on the team got a long great. He made some new friends.

    Sunday was Bailey’s birthday! ๐Ÿ™‚ We had a good day. Low key, and relaxing. Family came over for pizza, wings and ice cream cake. All in all, the whole weekend was pretty dang perfect! His party is next Saturday.

    Have a great Monday everyone!

    • Joy says:

      Toby’s headache was starting to leave last night and brought over the cooler from golf and I was telling him how good those wings were and it wouldn’t surprise me if he went over and picked some up this week. I will get them again FOR SURE. Thank you for everything. It was fun.

      • Nikki says:

        They do have VERY good wings. I’m not one to eat meat off a bone, and I love them! So they must be good. You’re welcome, and thank YOU! It was nice to get together again. We’ve been seeing a lot of each other here lately. I like that. ๐Ÿ™‚ And again next weekend!

      • Joy says:

        You seem so much closer. Isn’t that funny? That extra 10 minute drive seemed so much further than where you are now. I don’t ever think it was the time value but having to drive all the way through town to the complete other side. Does that make sense??

  4. SKL says:

    So I was just informed that I’m going to a concert tonight. Someone bought tickets and the people she originally invited aren’t using them, so it was decided (without consulting me, of course) that I’m going to drag my kids over there. And subject them to yet another unhealthy downtown restaurant dinner (our 4th since last Monday, not counting the huge lasagna dinner my sister cooked last night). And keep them up half of the night.

    I wouldn’t mind it so much if I didn’t get so much CRAP for doing such selfish things as, say, reading with my kids at bedtime! When I could be working! SLACKER! Or, the irresponsible act of taking my kids out to get some exercise! What a slug I am!

    You know what really ticks me off? I don’t have the balls to really say no and mean it. This is a big week – we have a ribbon-cutting ceremony at our building involving the mayor, etc., a gazillion people are supposed to come, etc., and the “boss-partner” is superstitious about any remotely bad attitude screwing up everything. Which of course means that I get blamed for everything that ever goes wrong around here, because I’m not PollyAnna when I wake up on the morning. Ugh. I just don’t wanna go there; it’s not worth it.

    So. This other grunt-partner (the one who always sides with the boss) just spent the weekend camping with her friends, and she comes home in the middle of the night last night and announces how we’re all going to spend our Monday night. Mind you, I already had plans for tonight – grocery shopping for the first time in 3 weeks – which got me “the look” as in, “do you really HAVE to spend time on that?” My kids have a field trip tomorrow, for which they will need a sack lunch, and I have no bread in the house. So yeah – aside from the fact that it’s NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS!

    So now I’m under orders to get as much work done today as possible since I’m not going to have time this evening. I’ve been informed what work I’m going to finish and what time I’m going to leave work. Personally I think it would be better if I picked up the kids early so we could do some reading and Miss A’s therapy and maybe a little bike riding (if it’s not too hot). I hope I can swing it. If nothing else, it could convince me that I might have some balls after all.

    Thanks for listening to my pathetic rant!

    • Joy says:

      I think you should do your last choice. Spend the night with the girls. I’m not sure how you can stand that. It would be one thing if you were asked but like that, I’d say “thank you but no, we had other plans made for tonight.” The grocery shopping alone should be done and the girls need a sack lunch.

      You’re a lot more tolerant than I am.

      • SKL says:

        I know, nobody normally puts up with this crap. Honestly I think certain people are mental around here, but I have no desire to stir the poop if you know what I mean. Some things are worth it, some things are not.

    • SKL says:

      Full disclosure: I ended up having a good time at the concert. I admit it! (It was James Taylor and the venue was a pavilion by the river. Nice and laid-back.) And I also admit that I did not do a lot of the work I was supposed to do beforehand; in fact, I took a nap. What’s the worst they can do – fire me? Ha ha.

      There was something else bugging me earlier – complaints about my parenting which is none of anyone’s business – so that was probably what pushed me over the edge about the concert. I feel like I’m over it now – until someone starts in again.

  5. Joy says:

    I’m sorry for leaving you all alone here last week SKL. I seriously got depressed last week. This humidity has kept me locked in the house. It was so hard for me to breathe that it hurt. I’m teetering in needing oxygen or not and I hate to have to go back to that but hopefully this week will be better. I’m really beginning to hate summer.

    I felt so bad on Saturday because Toby and Sue were here cutting down trees and I had to stay inside. I felt like such a slacker. But I sure do love my new view. I can see almost the whole path up to the big hill. We finally got rid of a bunch of “junk” trees and a great big dead one. I think another two times like that and we’ll be set. Thank you guys.

    This week is supposed to be less hot and less humid and I’m so glad. I really need to do some things outside like weeding and taking better care of my flowers. So lets just hope the weather people are right this time.

    Have a great week all.

    • SKL says:

      I totally understand about the weather. Normally I insist on getting outside at least a few times a week, but last week I didn’t care! I just wish my room wasn’t the hottest room in the house, making me sweat even in the air conditioning. Blah.

      I hope your lungs hold out. I wouldn’t want to go back on the oxygen either. Hopefully the rest of the summer will be nicer.

      I just went outside and took down the tent. It’s warm, but breezy out there. Much nicer than last week.

Leave a Reply

