Question of the day from SKL

What are the oldest food items in your pantry/cupboards/freezer?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Question of the day from SKL

  1. Joy says:

    I had two jars of tostitos dip that expired in 09!!!! They are now in the garbage!

  2. SKL says:

    I think in our case, it may be old teas. (Does that count as a food item?) If teas don’t count, it may be noodles or expired spices or maybe some cans of beans that someone else bought long ago.

  3. Laura says:

    At the moment, I have a chicken breast stashed in the back of my freezer. It’s a year and a half old. But it’s intentionally back there – I vacuum-sealed it way back when I first got the sealer, so it’s there to see how well the seal works/holds. So I don’t know if that counts. Otherwise, it might be some packages of powdered milk from, I dunno, maybe ’07? How long does that stuff last?

    • Joy says:

      NO!! The chicken doesn’t count! LOL!!! Powdered milk should be okay unless you see worms or bugs in it. That stuff lasts way beyond the expiration.

  4. Just a Mom says:

    Mine would be old spices and tea bags. When my dad passed away half the food he had in his pantry was food that I had bought when I briefly lived with him in my mid 20’s. They were at least 15 years old!

  5. Karen joy says:

    Holy crap!This reminded me of the pail of pickles I wanted to throw out months ago!!Lol!!Its a pail of refrigerator pickles I made last summer and we haven’t eaten.

    I read the oldest as oddest and was wondering why you all were answering the way you were,lol!I think I need to call it a night,me brain is a wee bit tired.

  6. Sue says:

    Now it’s probably a box of something stuck way back in the pantry, but nothing too crazy. For years and years we had a can of chinese stuff way in the back from when we first moved in. I think it was there for 9 years before I threw it out! After the first couple of years I couldn’t through it away b/c it was one of the first things we bought on our first grocery trip in the new house. Weird I know, but when the can started to bubble, it had to go!

Leave a Reply

