Screen Time

I make no secret of the fact that I am a HUGE fan of Figure Skating. It’s a fact that, if a piece of music gets ‘under my skin,’ my brain will start skating to it. Good thing, because I look like a fool if I actually try to physically skate to it. Probably if I had taken lessons as a little girl, I’d be able to hit the triple salchows, lutzs and flips, but now, I’m happy with a wobbly spin. ANYWAY. Because I can’t DO it, I watch it.

I also love to watch Dance. Irish dance, particularly, like Riverdance and Lord of the Dance – what some call “clogging” and others call “tap”. THIS, I used to do. Ballet, pointe, and tap, for a while. I quit doing it, but the love remains.

So here’s my problem. I love to watch this stuff on TV. During the ‘90s, there was a HUGE market, thanks to Scott Hamilton and Kurt Browning, and the crowd they hung with, for Skating Shows. Champions on Ice and the like. During skating season, January and February, there were lots of skating specials on. When they started, they were awesome – the focus was completely on the skaters, and you got to see lots of different styles, stuff you didn’t see during competitions, like back flips and Bounce Spins (that’s where the guy holds the woman’s feet and spins, swinging her up and down and NOT bashing her head on the ice).

But then they started inviting bands to accompany the skaters. They’d erect a stage at one end of the rink, and the band would do their thing – stand and play/sing – and the skater would do her thing. Axels, sit spins, flying camels. And the TV camera? WOULD FOCUS ON THE BAND!!! I had to stop watching the shows because I saw more washed up bands with bad plastic surgery than I did of the skaters.

So Joy puts a link up on my FB last night of a dance group called All That, who performed on America’s Got Talent. I watched, eager to see what they could do. And they were awesome. And then the camera… started showing Sharon Osborne!!! And Howard Stern. I know what these people look like! I don’t need to see them, they’re sitting on their butts in chairs! But I missed several measures of flying feet. To look at Osborne’s dyed hair and Stern’s nose.

Honestly, why do they do this? I know the band deserves “face time”, but the skater is MOVING. Doing stuff. Have the band play a single without the skater and give them that whole time. The judges of AGT are going to get five minutes to blather on. Do they need to take time away from the act, as well?

So is this a common pet peeve, or am I off my rocker, as usual?

This entry was posted in pet peeves, tv and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Screen Time

  1. Joy says:

    No. This irritates me to no end too. They do it in sports ALL.THE.TIME!!! I can’t stand it.

  2. SKL says:

    I don’t get much screen time to begin with, but I agree – when you’re watching somethign where movement is the whole point, you want to see all of it. I love to watch dance, figure skating, gymnastics, etc. I would definitely be ticked if it got taken away like that.

  3. Joy says:

    I can’t believe it but “All That” didn’t make it tonight. Crap! It’s the first time I voted and I loved them but a magician (ICK) beat them 😦

    • Sue says:

      Yes they did!!! Sharon picked them as a Wild Card spot! They’re moving on!!!!

    • Joy says:

      “Kind of” I guess. I LOVE THEM.

    • Joy says:

      What does it mean Sue to be a “wild card?” I’ve never watched this show before.

      • Karen Joy says:

        Yea what is a wild card?I was watching the show but our satellite went out,I didnt see who made it even.The magician made over them?Dumb!I could care less about that “mind reader”!

      • Joy says:

        The little dogs made it which Paul and I were happy about and the guy with the stringed instruments. I voted half my votes for him. I LOVED that. Then that magician! Mind reader! Whatever. I don’t believe in that stuff and don’t care for it at all.

  4. Nikki says:

    Bailey likes that show, but we’ve never been loyal watchers of it.

    I don’t know why they do this. They do it all kinds of shows. Maybe to see their reaction, but I couldn’t care less what they look like during their reaction. That can wait until after the performance is over.

  5. SKL says:

    I guess they think people watch the show because they love those “charismatic” judges. (Blech.) That could be why I DON’T watch the show.

    I mean, how many different ways can the same person make their “wow” face?

    I was you-tubing once and there was a Chinese version of this talent tv stuff and there was this little blind, handicapped girl who could play the piano like anything. They kept panning over to the Chinese judges and audience and it was exactly the same as the US version. (The “wow, I can’t believe this” looks.) I am sorry to say that would get old for me very fast. I mean, yeah, these folks are great, that’s why they are here. But do I really need to see those judges’ faces over and over again?

  6. Joy says:

    I can’t even begin to tell you the words that fly when the cameras aren’t following the football plays during a game.

Leave a Reply

