Changes, Changes…

Well, gang. As the saying goes, “All good things must end.” Well, I guess we might be coming to one of those.

(sorry to bump this in on your TGIF, Nikki… but I was so excited, I didn’t want to wait any longer to tell you guys this)

This morning (Thursday), I dropped off a signed EMPLOYMENT AGREEMENT!!!! WOOHOOO!!!! I’M GONNA GO BACK TO WORK!!!!

Frankly, between you and me, I’m a little bit beyond terrified. I haven’t “worked” for over eight years. I quit my last day-to-day job when I was about eight months pregnant with Josh. Since then, I’ve only had a short run as a correspondent for our local newspaper, and that was mostly on my own time… visit someplace cool, write about it.

But this. This is Big Time, y’all. I’ve taken a position as an Insurance-Agent-in-Training. Within about a month, I will be licensed, and then I will be researching and writing policies for car, health, home, stuff. I get a big office. With a door and everything.

I have to dress up. And not “add a necklace with those jeans” dress up, I mean DRESS UP. Like black pants and nice blouse, and NO GYM SHOES dress up. Holy crap!!

I start a week from Monday. Josh starts school the week after that. He’s pretty excited. He is expecting to come to work with me on Take Your Kid To Work Day. When is that, anyway?

It’s going to affect my work here, though. I already contribute a paltry amount, due to some craziness in my life, and now I fear I will have time for even less. I don’t even know if I’ll be able to visit every day. Maybe in the mornings after things calm down and I get into a routine, I don’t know. I don’t have a cool internet phone or a tablet or anything, and I won’t ‘surf’ at work; we’ll just have to see.

So if I’m quiet for a while, you’ll know why.

Wish me luck. I’m gonna need it, y’all. But I plan to rock this job. I feel all grown up and stuff!

This entry was posted in changes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Changes, Changes…

  1. starlaschat says:

    Congratulations Laura! That’s really great news. I’m excited for you! Funny about your new dress code. I’m sure you will be just fine. Once you get the hang of your new job maye you will still be able to blog from time to time. Best of Luck on your first day! Fun learning somthing new maybe a little stressful but I’m sure you will be great at it.

  2. Sue says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am very happy and excited for you 🙂 That is just great!!!!! I think we all understand that you might not be around as much, but how can we be upset with that? You landed a great new job and will be learning lots of new things so I am very happy for you! WAY TO GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. SKL says:

    Congratulations! I think you may be surprised at how quickly you get back into the swing of things. And I suspect you will have experiences that you are dying to blog about, so maybe you will be here more than you predict.

    Best of luck that all your coworkers are awesome people and the work is second nature for you.

    Thanks for sharing the good news!

  4. Nikki says:

    Congrats, and good luck! I understand you being nervous. It’s nerve racking. I’ll be there soon, too. I hope this is everything you want it to be, and more. A big step, but we all believe in you!!! 🙂

  5. Just a Mom says:

    Congratulations! I wish you all the best!

  6. Annebella says:

    Best of luck to you!!!

Leave a Reply

