Pull Up Something Cool

yeah, bad name. Sorry. Couldn’t really think of a good one. BUT. This weekend, we took Josh and his buddy Wyatt to our local science museum. It’s tiny, but really kid-friendly. The boys had fun learning about how tornadoes form, how pulleys work, how airplanes fly. They even took turns flying a computerized flight simulator. Wyatt did pretty good, but Josh is still in the “let’s see if I can crash it” phase. My favorite thing was the static electricity machine. My hair is very fine, and very light, and it TOTALLY stood on end!! Just like that little one’s up there! And it’s like a foot long (maybe more – it’s to the middle of my back), so it stood up really well. It was very cool.

So that was our weekend. It was too cold for pool, so we had to think of other fun to have. How about you? Any science museums or other cool ‘hands-on’ stuff you like to go to?

This entry was posted in Pull Up Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pull Up Something Cool

  1. SKL says:

    Working! I sent the kids off with the nanny most of the day Saturday so I could get more work done. That’s how a lot of weekends are going to be for the next six weeks. We did make it to church today, and my younger sister brought her kids over for an hour or so this afternoon. She mainly came to pick up a bunch of stuff I wanted to pass down to her kids, including the girls’ big play kitchen. It was nice to see that big pile of stuff go out the door. The kids were cute and fun, but I had not planned on taking that time off work, so I was a little stressed out. Plus Miss G is a little pistol. That’s a good thing, but boy can she scream when she doesn’t get her way. Her mom stresses out over it. Anyhoo, it’s nice to see them after being pretty much a stranger for a year and a half.

    Of course I have my own issues with my kids. This weekend Miss A “came clean” on some stuff she’s been sneaking. She’s got some odd wiring and I have my work cut out for me. I already kind of knew that, but I have a feeling this is not going to be an easy fix. Meanwhile, Miss E is sort of grieving over leaving her current school and worrying about the new one. She’s also having pains after eating, which may or may not be stress-related. Just another thing to keep me on my toes.

    Boy, has this weekend’s weather been a relief. The things we take for granted, huh?

    I don’t have anything exciting coming up this week. I will try to finish getting organized for the kids’ school and just in general. The county fair where my parents live is this coming week, and I’m not sure whether I’ll make it or not. Most likely I’ll send the kids off with my sister and pick them up that night. I would like to make an appearance at my parents’ house since I haven’t been there since May. So we’ll see how it goes. Wouldn’t it be great if I was so efficient all week that I could take half of Sunday off? I can dream, right?

    Have a great week, you guys.

  2. Nikki says:

    Something cool? How about 2nd place in our tournament! That’s pretty dang cool. To us, anyways. 🙂 There were 8 teams, all solid 12 year olds. The majority of our boys were 10 and 11, with only a couple 12 year olds. We won the first 3 games, all in very exciting last innings, down by 1-2, 2 outs, suicide bunts to bring the winning runners in. That was the most exciting baseball, I’ve seen in along time, maybe ever. And what’s better is, we had a huge hometown crowd, some didn’t have kids in the tournament! It was a successful, and FUN day of baseball, Saturday! 12 hours at the ball field, and they never gave up.

    Sunday, we did NOTHING!!!!!! Absolutely nothing. I barely left my LazyBoy, and Bailey didn’t leave my bed except to eat, and go to the bathroom. He was so sore, still is. So we’re going to have another low-key day.

    The weather is perfect! I have every window open, bed clothes hanging, all my plants outside. It feels so good to open everything up.

    Hope everyone had a good weekend, and have a great week!

  3. Joy says:

    We had a very quiet Saturday. I was still really dragging from the heat and humidity of the last few weeks and Paul had a really bad stomach ache. I worried after a while because he stayed in bed all day. He got up around 7 PM and we watched some Olympics and I made him some Lipton chicken noodle soup and we were in bed well before midnight. Kind of weird for us on a Saturday. He felt quite a bit better on Sunday but I still made him take it easy.

    Sunday was so wonderful. I didn’t even feel like I was sick anymore. It’s so nice to feel that way. I got to go grocery shopping with jeans and tennis shoes on!! It felt so good. The windows were wide open and it was almost nippy at times. It felt wonderful. I am going to turn the a/c on in a little bit though because it’s supposed to get into the high 80’s late this afternoon and that’s getting to hot for my comfort. I love opening up in the mornings and closing up in the afternoon. As long as it’s not humid. Otherwise it’s too hard on your a/c.

    I’m just puttering around today. I’m putting new stuff on my shelves and stuff like that. The pictures I ordered for Christopher’s scrapbook came in on Sat so Paul will bring them home today so I’ll be able to start scrapping tomorrow. I’ve really been good about staying off the computer more. I feel better too. I sure wish I could have gone to watch Bailey play ball but I just couldn’t. I couldn’t even go to the fair. Having to miss those kinds of things really makes me depressed after a while. I really can’t wait for August to be over and I’m praying Sept is nice and cool and crisp.

    I’m also taking the next weight loss challenge so I’ve been trying to “think differently” and I’d been terrified of stepping on the scale and yesterday I did the deed and couldn’t believe what I saw so I had Toby come over and weigh himself because he knows how much he weighs and he said the scale was right. I was so HAPPY! I thought it was off by *minus* 15. I thought I would weigh WAY MORE than I did. Which doesn’t mean too much because I’ve still lost all the tone and stuff I had but I thought I gained all the weight I lost back and I only gained half of it back. That was a really nice “surprise!” It was so funny because when I got on it I thought it couldn’t be right and I reset it and it said the same thing so I changed the battery…….lol……

    Everyone have a good week.

    • Nikki says:

      Well, it’s a good thing our regular games don’t start until September 9th! 🙂 There will be plenty more games to catch, but you were very missed!!! I’m sorry you felt so crappy, and grandpa was so sick. Enjoy this morning, it really is so nice out. Makes me want Fall, and you know how much I love summer. It’s just been too awful this year to really enjoy it.

      Way to go on your weight! Isn’t that nice?!

    • Joy says:

      I was just terrified to step on that scale and what happened when I did was kind of humorous. I’ve still put on 13 pounds of FAT that I already lost once. That ticks me off but yes, it was a nice surprise.

      I was able to come to all the home games last fall and I’m planning on that again 🙂

    • Laura says:

      I LOVE it when the scale errs in my favor!! I just take it. I don’t question the batteries, I don’t argue, I just take it. 🙂

  4. starlaschat says:

    Such a cute photo. At first I thought the photo was of a dandylion untl I scrolled down. Sounds like you guys had a lot of fun at the museum. I’m still cleaning and organising at a lot of procrastination to go along with the first two sigh……

    • Laura says:

      I wish I’d had a good camera with me. I couldn’t believe that my hair stood STRAIGHT UP!!! It was hilarious. All the hair on my arms, too. But the machine was right by the window, so the light was weird and the phones’ cameras wouldn’t pick it up. If we go again, I’ll be sure to take my good camera. Photos will be worth it.

      I getcha on the procrastination. We’ve got people coming for a cookout on Thursday evening. Barbecue required, which means that the back yard and balcony are required. And they’re a mess right now… *sigh*

Leave a Reply

