Question of the day from SKL

What’s your idea of the ultimate vacation? 

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Question of the day from SKL

  1. Joy says:

    Minnesota’s North Shore. During the week. It’s so peaceful and so quiet. I love walking along Lake Superior and checking out all those small towns.

  2. SKL says:

    Something that mixes beautiful landscapes with cool historical sites and awesome weather, that you can do at a slow pace for a reasonable price. (I haven’t found this place yet. But maybe my kids’ birth country might fit the bill. They have cool ancient ruins and perpetual springtime weather in the rainforest. I’ll have to report back whenever we get a chance to go there.)

    Of course, for it to be a great vacation, I’d have to have all my work done in advance, stay healthy, and be well-rested when I leave and when I return. And my luggage would never get mysteriously separated from me, and I would always be able to find a clean, well-stocked bathroom when I need one. Again, I have not actually had this experience, but I can dream.

  3. Laura says:

    I have several, and all include the caveat, “money being no object…” My ultimate vacation takes several shapes, depending on where my mind wanders:

    The first is the simplest. Similar to Joy’s, but in Northern Wisconsin. This is the vacation of my childhood, and the place where I find peace when no other place yields it. A cabin on a lake, with a pier that I can go and sit on and listen to the loons. Little towns with mom-and-pop stores and restaurants to explore. Great fishing, or a pontoon boat to just let float in the middle of the lake while I read a book. Swimming and kayaking with Josh, teaching him the finer points of de-bushing your lures, watching the eagles fly…

    I’d love to visit England, Ireland, and Scotland. I could spend a month or more exploring moors, little towns, coastal villages, and big cities. Celtic music absolutely lives in my soul, I want to experience the neighborhood pubs and eat local food (except haggis. What the heck with the sheep intestines? gag)

    Take Josh to DisneyWorld, and while we’re at it, visit the Wonderful World of Harry Potter, SeaWorld, and of COURSE, LegoLand.

    My parents saw to it that I had visited the contiguous 48 by the time I was 16. I don’t see that happening for Josh, but I would love to try. I love our country’s National Parks – there is so much to see and learn. I don’t remember New England and the NorthEast, I’d like to go back. I want him to experience those places. And obviously, Alaska and Hawaii.

    The last involves a beach, a mojito and a 6’4″, blue-eyed, black haired cabana boy with an English accent… and nobody else… 🙂

  4. Karen joy says:

    Couldn’t even name a place right now.Can I say Away from all my problems?That would be great right now!Anywhere just away!I had a pretty nice day today at a family members cabin,I could see spending a week there so peaceful and beautiful just staring at the water.

  5. Nikki says:

    Somewhere warm and exotic, with a soft, white sandy beach. Relaxing whenever I want. But also, somewhere to hike, and sight see.

Leave a Reply

