Question of the day from SKL

What kind of trees, shrubs, or plants do you have on / in your property?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Question of the day from SKL

  1. SKL says:

    Well, a little of everything. Some evergreens, maples, oaks, elms, and miscellaneous flowering trees (I don’t know their names). some bushes around the porch and here and there. Some sort of creeping vine with red-orange flowers growing up the side of our house, along with some roses. Some perennials and ivy and who knows what else, growing randomly on our hill. Some daffodils in the spring and some other flowers whose names I don’t know. Mint leaves. Grass.

  2. starlaschat says:

    I have a honeysuckle plant and lots of very tall trees, and some scrub brush.

  3. Sue says:

    Trees we didn’t plant but were here: a row of boxelder trees. Things we have planted: lots of pine trees, Sugar Maple, Red Maple, Silver Maple, Poplar, Oak, Mountain Ash, dwarf cherry tree, Weeping Willows, and Lilac bushes. There’s a lot of money out in our yard now that I think of it! We’ve lost a fair number of trees too b/c our soil sucks and the young trees can’t make it through the winter 😦

  4. Joy says:

    We have your normal “junk” trees that we’re slowly getting rid of now. Most of them are box elder. We have too many to name. We’re completely surrounded by trees. In the winter it’s very nice. We’re kind of sheltered.

  5. Nikki says:

    A row of huge pine trees, separating our property line. Oaks, maples, lilac bushes. Mics. bushes, that I couldn’t tell you what they were. All here when we moved in.

    We’ve planted a lot of flowers, and I couldn’t begin to tell you all the names. A LOT of lilies from Joy’s yard. We did transplant a pine tree Bailey got on Earth Day, and it’s growing pretty fast. I think I want to move it though. I wasn’t thinking long term when I put it there, and I think it’ll be too close to the tire swing when it’s big…in 20 years!

  6. Laura says:

    Everything that I *shouldn’t* have. TONS of mulberry bushes that are tree-sized. Rams-horn Sumac trees are taking over the place, and more scrub Spruce than should be allowed anywhere. We’ve got stinging nettle by the bushel, and the other day I discovered some poison ivy. We have a “fun” weed here, too… (oh whathtehell is it called?) Bedstraw. That’s it… the sticky stuff. I read that it can be used for medicinal purposes, but I’m going to have to go back and check that before I try using it for anything.

    The ones we SHOULD have are kind of old. We have a row of Willows bordering the pastures, as a windbreak, a couple of Shagbark Hickories, and lots of really old Oaks, that are gradually coming down in strong storms.

    yeah, I’m a little overwhelmed by our property. It’s kind of gone back to nature…

Leave a Reply

