How Well Do We Really Know Our Neighbors?

It was just the National Night Out and I wondered if any of you did anything special for it?

This was the Good Question that night. How well do we know our neighbors?

Do you know most of your neighbors? Some? None?

What about when you were young? Did you know your childhood neighbors?

This entry was posted in national night out, neighbors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How Well Do We Really Know Our Neighbors?

  1. SKL says:

    When I was a kid, I knew my neighbors at least somewhat. About half of them were elderly, but at least we knew what they looked like, most of their names, who had a little dog or hated noise, etc. Of course at houses with kids, we knew them better than they probably wanted.

    Now we are hardly ever home. The neigbors do kind of know my kids, because I used to make them go for walks around the neighborhood whenever the weather allowed. But since they started going to daycare until 6:30pm, we’re hardly ever home during daylight hours. And when we are, we always seem to be in a rush to finish a list of tasks. We’re lucky if we go out and stroll once a month.

    So no, I don’t really “know” my neighbors much. I am not proud of that.

    But in my defense, none of them have young kids, so we don’t have anything in common.

  2. Laura says:

    We know our neighbors at least enough to wave at them when we pass each other on the street. (this is Iowa, we look at you funny if you don’t wave) Some, I know better than others. Across the street is the neighbor who brings me horses most summers. Next to them (we’re talking several acres away) is Haley’s family. “Next” to them? Is my doctor.

    On my other side, we have my eye doctor. And the girls who used to ride the bus with Josh. And then the guy who helps me with my lawn mower. Yeah, we know everyone’s name, and at least enough to say hi once in a while. There are really no kids around, though, except one family that’s about a mile up the road.

    When I was a kid? We knew EVERYONE, but then there were at least 6 kids on our block that were about my age. There were others who were a little older or a little younger, so the place was lousy with us at most hours. And many of our moms were friends, too. We never had block parties or anything like that, but all us kids hung at each others houses, walked to school, fought, formed alliances, hated each other, were BFF’s, had crushes on the guy who lived behind me, and rode our bikes everywhere ALL the time. Wish it was like that now. I wanted that for Josh.

  3. Nikki says:

    I lived in the same house from 1st grade until 8th, so we knew our neighbors pretty well. There were a lot of kids around. One of our close family friends still lives in the same house, right around the corner from my old one.

    Now, I only know one neighbor, well. I wave to the others, but only talk to one of them almost every day. He’s in his early 80’s, and likes the company.

    • Nikki says:

      Oh, and to answer your question about National Night out. No, it was the one night in that week that we didn’t have practice or games to go to, so we stayed home.

  4. SKL says:

    I didn’t even hear of National Night Out.

  5. starlaschat says:

    I know all my surrounding neighbors at our old place. The new place that we moved to I don’t know the neighbors very well. The neighbors across the way just seem to glare at us that’s not much fun.

  6. Joy says:

    We know most of our surrounding neighbors. People were pretty friendly to us when we moved out here. There is a “country nice” when you live in a small community. The people we bought our house from let us start bringing some of our stuff out here before we moved and keep it in a big shed and Sue’s grandpa came over to see who we were and what we were doing here because he saw a strange car here. That’s the kind of neighbor we wanted. He was a really nice guy.

    In the city, we still knew everyone. Almost all of us had kids. At least at one time or the other and that I think brings you closer as neighbors. The kids and moms wait at the bus stops with coffee and such. That was kind of nice. But once your kids are grown, you kind of want your own space again and that’s why I’m so glad we now live where we do. I love our privacy.

    We didn’t do anything on the National Night Out. We never have and I’m not sure why.

Leave a Reply

