Question of the day

Do you like to “rough it,” as in camping?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Question of the day

  1. Laura says:

    There are several types of “roughing it”, and I can tell you, I’ve done some of the rougher ones… I can honestly say that I’ve dug my own latrine because we were in such primitive country. I have not, however, backpacked in, and had to backpack my stuff out. That’s where I draw the line.

    I like “medium-primitive” camping. I like to have a tent available, although I’m just as likely to throw down and sleep under the stars. I don’t mind cooking over a fire, though I like to have a grill and a few pans, as well as “dry” and “cold” coolers. Also, I like to have running water available (after my “lead” incident this summer, though, I’m wary of hard water), as well as relatively clean outhouses. Flush toilets and showers, to me, are absolute luxury.

  2. Sue says:

    I can’t even tell you how I read that at first!!!! LOL!! Especially with the book under Nikki’s name right now!

  3. SKL says:

    Well, I used t0 love to “rough it,” but I haven’t done much of that for a long time. I’m not really sure whether I’ll like it now or not. I have to try it though, for my kids’ sake.

    When I was 16, I did the backpacking thing (hiking, then sleeping in a pup tent, then hiking some more). It was fun. But I have always had a bad back, so that’s not something I could ever really do with abandon. So my initial plans are to rent a campsite and drive my car right up to it, pitch a tent, light a fire, and hang out overnight. If we all live through that, I might try for something more next year, or maybe I’ll just do the cabin thing! I ain’t no spring chicken after all.

  4. Nikki says:

    God, Sue really has me laughing now, so I don’t know how to answer!!!! LOL

    Okay, for camping….not too rough! I can tent it, but I like to have a shower!

  5. Laura says:

    Geez. I can’t leave you people alone for ten minutes!

  6. Just a Mom says:

    I love camping! Give me a fire, a sleeping bag and a tent and I am in 7th heaven! I have slept under the star on a tall ship and I have backpacked up a mountain in New Mexico. I am trying to convince my Girl Scouts to try backpacking. They are a little bit prissy but I am determined to change that!

Leave a Reply

