A possible mercy killing

What do you think about this? Do you believe in mercy killings? Assisted suicides?

This entry was posted in assisted suicides, mercy killing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A possible mercy killing

  1. Laura says:

    This is such a sad, sad story. And one that just makes me want to close my eyes and ignore the world. But that’s what’s brought us to this point, I fear. We have a culture that so fears death that we will do anything in our power to avoid it, even if it means keeping our loved ones alive for years through artificial means. I have a real problem with that.

    As I said at that other site, those of us who own pets watch them closely. When we take them into our family, we make this silent promise to them to not let them suffer. When it’s their time, we will let them go, as painlessly as possible and with as much dignity as possible.

    And yet, when it’s our human loved ones, we keep them chained to life with tubes and ventilators. They might be long dead, but we cannot let them go.

    I believe the laws should be changed to allow merciful euthanasia – and there should be strict *and smart* laws governing it. This is a piece of legislation that should be carefully crafted and take a while to put together, not because of partisan bickering, but so that medical professionals and law professionals would have the time to put together the right boundaries. The legislation should include a Living Will created by the patient him/herself that indicates final wishes. I have an outline in my Living Will, and also a personal letter to my family that I’ve written – it says, essentially, that I do not wish to be a vegetable. If my brain is dead but my body doesn’t know it, please, let me go. It’s easier to just ‘get it done’ and give yourself time to grieve, than to hang on beyond the time to hang on, hoping that a miracle is around the next corner.

    As Dumbledore said, “Those that love us never really leave us.”

  2. Sue says:

    Well, this is a very slippery slope and since I already had my fill of that last weekend, I’m just going to say I don’t like what this guy did. Now, who’s to say she didn’t beg him to shoot her and how would that be any different from a loved one dying of cancer begging you to up the meds just a little more? IDK, there are too many what if’s!

  3. Laura says:

    PS, I don’t think this man should go to jail, either, if that’s what happened.

  4. SKL says:

    Mercy killing was my first thought when I saw that headline.

    The sad thing is, there are better ways to do it in hopeless medical cases. Just give a little too much pain medication; the doctors might even help you out.

    Mercy killing in general bugs me on several levels. The person isn’t alive to corroborate the killer’s story that the victim did not want to live any more. Legalizing “mercy killing” just seems to invite all kinds of creative twists of the word “mercy.” I’ve heard of doctors giving up because a case is hopeless, only to later find the person living a regular life. And I don’t necessarily believe in euthanasia just because “I” currently wouldn’t want “my” life to be like that. There are lots of things I never wanted when I was younger but I do want now, and vice versa.

    I also feel that if humans are going to be involved in someone’s death, it had better be no more painful than the pain it’s intended to stop.

    • SKL says:

      I was literally falling asleep when I wrote the above. I meant to add that I do understand the “mercy” aspect of it and how it can be more cruel to keep a person alive. I am not sure what the law should be on this, though. Playing God just doesn’t sit well with me, but that doesn’t seem to be a compassionate position in many cases.

  5. Nikki says:

    Gosh. I don’t know! I don’t know if we should have the right to take ones life, even if they ask us to. I do, however think doctors should be given that right. If my husband was in pain and clearly wasn’t going to make it, or live like a vegetable (which I know he wouldn’t want) I should be able to give permission to the doctor to “let him go” and not make him suffer a slow painful death. Most people in that position die of hunger, or thirst, very slowly. It’s sad.

  6. Joy says:

    There seems to be so much missing from this story but I truly feel sorry for this man and it breaks my heart.

    I almost fully agree with Laura though I know it’s a slippery slope. It’s hard to set parameters with something like this. You can’t just say if someone had X-Y or Z, you can over medicate them or whatever your choice of “ending” it would be.

    But I do think we show our animals more compassion that we do our loved humans. We’re allowed to not make or let them suffer yet we see humans lying and just waiting till death comes in terrible terrible pain. Why would it be wrong to give that person an extra strong sleeping pill? I don’t think anything is wrong with that. I don’t think in a case like that it should be against the law. We all know of “those” cases where loves ones have suffered. Whether it’s terrible pain from a cancer or emphysema or walking around not knowing who you are and ending up in a bed wearing diapers and being incoherent. Not knowing your family or kids. I wouldn’t want to live under either of those conditions.

    If you know for sure the end is near, I don’t see anything wrong with helping it along a little. I’m not talking about something that could overturn itself.

    Now shooting someone, I’m not up for that. That has to many “what ifs.” What if he miss-shot or hit her in a spot that didn’t kill her? I don’t like this but I don’t think this man should go to jail either. I wish we knew more about “this case” but in general, I don’t think shooting is the way to do it.

Leave a Reply

