Pull Up a Leaf

Yeah, yeah, I know. We’re not even through August yet. But I’m already pretty stressed, and I need a long walk down a quiet path in the woods, with the leaves crunching under my feet. While I did get a bunch of my Scout responsibilities caught up on, I still have a bunch to do, and 40 hours a week LESS to do it in. Josh’s birthday is bearing down on me like a runaway freight train, and I’m looking at the second week in September like a starving man looks at steak.

And on top of it, I got a teaser of gorgeous 65 and 70 degree weather, and this 85 stuff is slowly driving me mad. I know it’s not time for cool yet, but dangit, it was HERE!! I want it back!

So today, we’re taking a deep calming breath, and going for a nice, slow stroll. Not thinking about any of the responsibilities, just calming down and being for a little bit. And then we’ll dive back in to the deep end. Who’s with me?

This entry was posted in Pull Up Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pull Up a Leaf

  1. Joy says:

    The last two paragraphs sum me up pretty nicely too. I hate this hot and humid weather coming back. The nice crisp days were so nice.

    I’ve been fighting some kind of a rash. I went to the doctor last Wed and she put me on Prednisone and I did stop itching, the really bad itching, within a few hours but it’s been a slow fight. She said she’s almost sure it’s environmental and they’ve seen more rashes this year than ever before and as long as I haven’t changed anything vital (laundry soap, soap, perfumes) or been eating a bunch of new food, she said it’s more than likely something in the air. She said our seasons have gotten all mixed up and allergies this year have been off the charts. Spring in March and Fall in August is messing with things.

    She did tell me to try and stay indoors and take these meds until the rash is gone. It is going away and it does itch much less but it’s nowhere near gone. I was outside too much this weekend. We got the pool taken down and we’ve been working on power-washing the deck. Those damn spindles!!!! So today I’m not stepping foot outside. I’m going to get caught up on all things in the house.

    Have a great week all.

    • Laura says:

      Steve’s allergies have been really bad, too. Around here, they say it’s the drought. Everything is drier than normal, so the pollen really has an opportunity to fly around and annoy people. I’m SO glad I don’t have allergies, and feel for those that do (mostly. until STeve wants to keep the house hermetically sealed on a day when it’s 65 and breezy and sunny and gorgeous. Then I get cranky…) To hedge my bets, I’ve started eating a teaspoonful of local honey every day again. I did it when i was a kid and my doc said it probably warded off allergies. So I’m doing it again, and giving it to Josh, too.

    • Joy says:

      It’s getting very old I’ll tell you that. Sitting inside and watching the summer go by. At least in the winter I’m inside with everyone else. It’s hard to watch from the window. As someone like me also knows, it’s not about the temperature. It’s what’s in the air.

  2. Jenny says:

    So ready for fall!! The leaves are already starting to change colors. This weekend was boring for us. Jason and Hunter went to church yesterday. I stayed home cause I wasn’t feeling good. Made myself a dr appt for tomorrow. Having some stomach issues again, and I need to finally figure out whats going on. I thought last yr when I had my gallbladder out that all my problems would go away. But guess not!

    Tomorrow we have a potluck dinner at Hunter’s preschool. Get to meet his teacher and the other kids. So remember, Joy, I can’t do Paul’s massage tomorrow! Hunter is super excited to start preschool. He’ll only be going 1 day a week. I really wanted him to go 2 days, but the other day I wanted was full. The 2 days that I wanted were Tuesday and Friday. Those days would work with my work schedule. That way I didn’t have to drive to Cokato twice. So I’m on a waiting list for the Tuesdays.

    Well that’s it for me. I hope everyone has a good week!

  3. Nikki says:

    I’m ready, and I’m not. I like being able to be warmed by the sun, and not wearing jeans. I’m not ready for these leaves to fall, which some already have strated. I hate raking leaves. On the other hand, I love opening my windows, going to the apple orchards, all that fun stuff that comes with Fall.

    We had a good weekend, and have a very busy week ahead. I’m already looking forward to the long weekend coming up. Our last weekend before school starts.

    Today I am cleaning house while kids are playing. Bailey and I got our workout done this morning. He’s been my motivation lately. He’s been eating like a grown man (more than usual) and he’s finally starting to put some real weight on, so he has to workout to keep healthy. He’s been pushing me, and I need that.

    Hope everyone has a great week!

  4. starlaschat says:

    I’m having troubles commenting today maybe it’s my internet or who knows anyway I’ll come back later to comment. I just lost a long comment. sheesh

  5. SKL says:

    Hi guys! I’m a day late and a dollar short! Just spent about 24 hours in DC but it felt like a lot longer with those tight clothes on. I have to start doing my yoga every day!

    This business of travel while the kids are in school is for the birds. I can’t believe how many moving parts are involved in a one-night trip. Had to pack the kids’ pajamas, school clothes, homework, after-sch0ol snack, pre-dance snack, dance clothes, medicine, toothbrushes, special doll/bear, and who knows what else. Had to line up Nanny to take them from Sunday to Monday morning and get them ready/drop them off at school, then my sister to pick them up and get them to dance class and home, fed, and to bed. Made a map, gave detailed instructions (to kids, nanny, and sister), hid the keys in an outdoor hiding place. Despite all my preparation, Nanny mixed up the kids’ clothes and who knows what else. The kids were asleep when I got home, which means tomorrow morning, they’ll have to do baths, reading, memory work, and spelling practice in addition to the usual morning stuff and still leave for school at 8am. I’m getting nervous just thinking about it. I have no desire to do this again.

    I completely understand that feeling you’re talking about, Laura. I am feeling so overwhelmed right now. I don’t know when I’ll see light at the end of the tunnel. My “big deadline” is September 12, but there is another annual deadline September 15, a bunch of quarterly ones October 1, and a client says he wants me to finish a huge new project before they close their September books (sometime in October). Of course October also contains three birthdays and Halloween, not to mention I was hoping to take my kids somewhere in October (since it ain’t happening in the summer). Ugh. Ugh. Ugh. I won’t even get into November etc. Is it so wrong to want a little time off?

    Well anyhoo, I must get back to the daily (nightly) grind. I hope you all are having fun and I hope we all manage to carve out a little time to just relax!

  6. starlaschat says:

    I know it can be very frustrating staying indoors all the time especially in the Summer. It’s cabin fever no matter what the season. Fall is right around the corner so that should be a good thing. I know about allergies in the small town we live in now there is a huge grain elevators and some days I wake up with bad allergys. The honey idea maybe that could help here I may have to give that a try. Also I should tell my Dad he has awful allergies. Hope your rash is better Joy a note on that subject: When I was a laundress I use to get bad rashes mainly on my back it was difficult to pin point, but when I stopped using the fabric softner I can’t remember the name but I think it’s the same one you like because I rmember a post on it. Anyway when I stopped using the fabric softner and changed laundery soap to a fragrence free soap the rashes went away and the asthma was much better. I still get asthma but nothing like I use too. I know I am also very allergic to wild grasses and tree pollen oh well such is life. My Vet said about allergies with people and animals sometimes when we have several things we are allergic to it can be a perfect storm somtimes it’s not just one thing. I think that is true with me. Looks like that was more then two cents. I know everybodys different I just thought I would tell you what I found out for my case. It was really frustating trying to figure it out and cost me a lot of money going to the doctors.

    • Joy says:

      I agree with the “perfect storm” for allergies. We have corn planted on our land this year and the doctor told me that’s a huge trigger for allergies because the tassels of the corn hold in moisture and that causes a lot of allergens. I’m also terribly allergic to all the pollen’s and weeds. I never had an allergy a day in my life until my lungs gave out and I got this COPD. Now it seems like every.single.thing. makes me feel lousy. I do feel good in the winter. Go figure!

      I did stop using Downy (fabric softener) a few weeks ago but she pretty much told me it’s nothing I was using that was making me break out or I would have long before now. So I’m back to using it. I do use no dye, no perfume laundry soap but I need my clothes soft. I hated having my towels feel so rough and unsoft. LOL!!! I love my Downy and would only give it up IF I had to. I even bought a bar of Dove for sensitive skin but I will finish using that.

      I hope you feel better Starla.

      • starlaschat says:

        It’s interesting how the cold weather helps and hot humid weather makes it so much worse. That was the same thing with me when I was at my worst. Now most of my symptoms are head congestion and eyes. I feel for you COPD can be so rough.

        Downey that’s it! It sure is a great product it does a great job on making towels so fluffy and smells so good. I know it makes a huge diference with laundry.
        I’m also allergic to wood smoke which is tough during fire season or when I live in an area with a lot of wood stoves. :+) Anyway I hope the cooler weather is right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

