What Do You Think About Armstrong?

Well, the news came out yesterday… Lance Armstrong has finally quit something. After 13 years of trying to prove his innocence, he has given up the fight against the US Anti-Doping Agency and refused to go to arbitration. The USADA says they will now strip him of his seven Tour de France wins and his Olympic Gold Medals, and ban him for life from the sport of Bicycle Racing.

The Olympic Committee was quick to retort with, “show us the proof,” and the gold-medal-stripping has been dropped from the news stories. Nike, Anheuser-Busch, and Oakley have expressed their ongoing support for Armstrong.

What about you? Do you think Armstrong is guilty? Did you think that before he dropped out of the battle? Or were you with him until he quit, and now feel that if he won’t defend himself, that means he’s guilty?

This entry was posted in athletes, drugs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Do You Think About Armstrong?

  1. Joy says:

    I’m still kind of on the fence about this. One one hand, I’ve heard enough from enough people of what these guys did. ALL TOGETHER. I’m not sure why someone would turn in himself if he wasn’t also guilty of taking things. In this day and age, I just kind of feel in my heart he’s taken “something” at some point.

    On the other hand, they’ve given him every test. Tested EVERYTHING and he’s come up clean every single time.

    When I first heard this news I thought sure enough he was guilty as sin but as it sunk in, I understood his need to stop doing this. To stop putting his family (his kids are so much older now) through anymore of this. It’s got to be a tough thing being in front of the world like that.

    I just don’t know.

    • Karen says:

      No matter what anyone thinks of Lance Armstrong he has raised millions of dollars for cancer research. Hats off to him.

  2. Laura says:

    It’s always sounded pretty sour-grapey to me. The other guys that went down, there was proof that they did it in the form of failed drug tests, and they had confessions and eye witnesses. Armstrong has taken and passed something like 500 tests, and has denied the charges from day one. And still this group is requiring him to “prove” his innocence. How do you prove your innocence?

    The last I heard was that they wanted him to come to this arbitration without seeing any of the “evidence” they had against him. To show up, essentially, blind. And just stand there while the USADA trotted out person after person to accuse him, but he wouldn’t have been allowed to know who it was or what they were going to say beforehand. So he couldn’t even prepare a defense if he wanted to.

    I don’t blame him one bit for ending it. They’ve had 13 years to pin something on him. They couldn’t do it, so now they’re stomping their feet and acting like two-year-olds, saying, “if you don’t play, you didn’t win!!” Well, BS. EVERYBODY knows he won. Everybody knows the kind of athlete he is. He doesn’t need a hunk of medal or a ribbon to prove it.

    Do I think he took something? Sure. Do I think it was illegal? No. I think maybe the stuff might be illegal NOW, now that they know what it can do. But at the time, it was likely very similar to any of the supplements on the market now. And you can’t go back, after the fact, and say, “That? OH, that’s illegal now, and you took it in 2006, so…. Guilty! No medal for you! We strip you of your win!” No. And that, to me, is what it appears that the USADA is doing.

  3. Joy says:

    I agree with both Karen and Laura. Lord knows how many of those yellow bracelets I’ve bought myself. Hats off to that is right.

    This is why it’s so hard for me now.

    I think it’s stupid and very unfair that these “tests” and judgement’s KEEP coming up. I don’t blame him for wanting it to end.

  4. SKL says:

    I don’t know, I don’t follow this stuff. Honestly, I think this whole witch hunt business (of him and others) is ridiculous. If they want to make a rule, make it and enforce it by testing going forward. Don’t ask “were you naughty” as if you can actually tell who’s lying and who isn’t.

    I mean, have any of you ever committed a speeding violation? What if your boss came up and said, “you’re getting fired from your job if you ever went over the speed limit. Have you ever?” WTH?

    Bill Clinton and Barack Obama admit they’ve taken illegal drugs (illegal even at the time) and they got to be President. So this is really ridiculous.

    I also don’t understand why this is even such a big issue. I mean, maybe everyone who ever pigged out or smoked should get fired and banned from their career because we all know that’s harmful to our health. Why only certain athletes? Is it any worse for them to be stupid and risk their health? I mean, it’s their health, right? And isn’t playing highly competitive sports risky in itself? I mean, look at all the people who have been injured and killed while skiing, rock climbing, car racing, boxing, etc. Why is that OK? Why don’t we ban skaters and gymnastics athletes for doing stunts that are risky and could encourage others to try and hurt themselves? Maybe I’m just too stupid to understand.

    I think a protest is in order.

  5. What a mother @$%&%^&@$!!!! He STOLE the dreams of the others in that bike race by NOT FOLLOWING THE SAME RULES! I didn’t hear about this, this infuriates me!

Leave a Reply

