Mattress’s

Can you even imagine a $$33,000 mattress? Check out this Good Question. You’d think it would be filled with gold dust.

Do you think a mattress affects the way you sleep? I do. Before I got my new mattress, I hadn’t slept good in years and it really did affect the way I slept and the way I felt when I woke up from such a good sleep. I had no idea what I’d been missing.

I have a  queen size Select Comfort and I’d never have any other kind of bed. I LOVE my bed.

Do you love yours? Do you have a good mattress? What size and what kind do you have?

This entry was posted in good question, select comfort and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mattress’s

  1. SKL says:

    I have a very old, cheap mattress. Buying a new one is “on my list of things to do,” but obviously not my highest priority.

    I have no idea whether I would sleep better on a different mattress. I’ve slept in plenty of hotel beds, including some very nice ones, but my back almost always hurts the first night of a new-to-me mattress, so it’s hard to say. The only mattress that I really felt great sleeping in was in a luxury hotel at Disney World. (I had gotten free tickets, travel and lodging because of a contest I won.) I do not remember what type of mattress that was, but I assume it was an expensive one (they were advertising it). I am such a cheap person, it would take a lot to get me to pay big bucks for something as mundane as a mattress. You’d have to be able to guarantee it would make things a lot better for me.

    I do have some kind of issue with sleeping and waking up. I mean, I have no trouble falling asleep and rarely any trouble staying asleep, but I never seem to feel really rested. I always feel kind of sluggish and it affects my attitude and my productivity. If you could convince me that a mattress would fix that, I might be willing to try it.

  2. Karen joy says:

    We have a Simmons mattress.You know the bowling ball bed commercial?Well maybe you don’t get that.Anyhow!We are really happy with it .I’m sure I’d buy another.I wouldn’t chance changing brands.We have a queen now as its all thst fits in this room but we will get a king when and if we move.Would be so nice not to get elbowed during the night:)

  3. We have an sealy king size cashmere pillow top mattress and my husband has never slept that well on it. I often have backaches and attributed it to getting older. Recently I stayed at my nieces house where her and her husband share a $10,000 Tempur-Pedic bed. I slept like a rock and didn’t have any backache!!! It was amazing. They even had 1/2 dozen Tempur-Pedic pillows on their bed as well (each one feels like it weighs 3-4 lbs too and your head just sinks down into it), and I kid you not – it was like sleeping in heaven. I have some research to do as we are due for a new bed – but $10,000 is so steep? I’m sure a major part of the cost of product is due to advertising? I wonder if there is a bed just as good but more of a “no name” brand? I’d love to see my husband get some good sleep. The poor guy – he’s been having back-pain for the first time recently too.

  4. Laura says:

    We just bought a new mattress about a year and a half ago. It’s one of the new “hybrid” ones. I think it’s a Simmons “Nathaniel”, one of the upper echelon (did you know that each store has different names for the same mattress so you can’t really shop around? It’s bizarre).

    Anyway, it’s a regular spring mattress, but it has a couple inches of the memory foam on top. I tried the solid memory foam bed and couldn’t handle it. I need a little “bounce” in my bed, and the Tempur-pedic was like laying in sand. I didn’t like it at all. My bestie has one and absolutely LOVES it.

    I would have liked to go with a Sleep Number, but those are wicked expensive, too.

    But since we got our new bed, I’m sleeping WAY better than I did before. SKL, it’s worth it. Get a new one!!

  5. Nikki says:

    I’m not sure what kind we have off hand. We got it a couple years ago. We both love it! It’s thick and VERY comfortable, soft, but not too soft. King size, and I’ll never go back to queen now that I’ve had all that room. I think it makes a world of difference. I don’t like hard mattresses, but I also can’t sleep on something that has no support.

    Maybe someday we’ll get a sleep number bed, but it’s not on the top of our priority list. I’ve heard wonderful things about them.

  6. Joy says:

    I really do love my Select Comfort but I’d have been really happy with any kind of “good” mattress. Part of the big “lure” for me was that these beds come in pieces and are then filled with air. I couldn’t have gotten a queen size bed up our stairs. I’m kind of thinking we wouldn’t have gotten a double box spring up there either. There is no way I could sleep on a twin. There used to be an outside door at the bottom of the stairs and I’m sure in the “old days” that’s how these guys got stuff like that, things that didn’t “bend” up there. It was a straight shot but when we moved in that door was closed off so we are very limited as to what goes up there so the Select Comfort was perfect for me.

    I do think it’s worth it to spend money on certain things. Take my glasses for example. I just had to get new ones and they cost thisclose to $600. My stupid lenses are $350! But I wear them every single waking moment. If I’m up, I’m wearing them. Take for example you spend $150 going out to dinner. That money is just gone. Do that a few times and that’s the cost of the glasses. My bed was almost $4,000 but Paul spends almost $1,000 a year on golf dues. I sleep in my bed every night for at least 7 hours and he golfs once a week.

    Sometimes I think people don’t really think about what “other” things money is spent on. Me, I’d rather have a decent bed than a vacation.

    • Laura says:

      Can’t I have a decent bed AND a vacation? I’ll trade every meal out for the next however long to get it…

    • Joy says:

      LOL!!! It kills me when people say what they can’t afford and then I see what they spend on other things, that are over in the blink of an eye, but yet a bed you’d use every day and sleep is SO important. I’m weird that way.

    • VERY TRUE. Great way to put things into perspective! And, I love that Laura described the Tempur-Pedic as “sand” YES! That’s a perfect description! I loved it though. It is like sand and I don’t think i could have come up with that word. Perfect.

  7. Jenny says:

    I’m always turning our mattress cause it seems after a week my back starts hurting. We just bought our mattress maybe 2 yrs ago. Can’t remember what it is. I would love to try a sleep number but don’t have that kind of money to be spending on a mattress!

Leave a Reply

