Question of the day

Are you a rule keeper or a rule breaker?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Question of the day

  1. SKL says:

    It depends on the rule! I like to feel like a rebel attitude-wise, but I have no desire to have a criminal record or anything of that sort. So I’m more likely to break social norms than actual rules and regulations.

  2. zachfoster71 says:

    Reblogged this on zachfoster71 and commented:
    A little bit of both, depending on the mood of the day 🙂

  3. I’m a total rule follower, to the letter *laughing at myself*. I remember when I was 21, newly pregnant and my younger sister called and asked if she could borrow my drivers license to get into a bar. I said, “No.” She was shocked. I didn’t give in, I couldn’t begin to imagine letting her go get drunk on my name – God forbid something should have happened to her, it would have been MY FAULT! I stuck to it, I told her no way. I have OCD. I LOVE RULES! The frustrating part about rules is that not everyone follows them- and the rules are not always enforced, which makes it unfair to the person who is a rule follower.

    At my job, we are to be at our desk and taking calls at the beginning of our shift time. I am always 20 mins early, setting up my desk, getting my java, etc. Then you have those that come in AT their start time, make their coffee, wander around, and finally get on-line taking their first call 20 minutes after their start time. While they were dilly-dicking around, I was taking their call volume! Yes, the boss knows – yet, why is it still happening after 10 years?

    I follow rules, and I work so hard to do so; think of all the rules you follow in your life. You cannot drive un-insured in Illinois (our auto, home, and life ins are always paid on time), and the list goes on forever. So, when someone plows into your family or friend and are driving un-insured it’s frustrating and mind boggling. Sure, I’d love to not have to follow the rules. But, I have OCD and I have to! LOL. I think about this stuff a lot. Can you tell, LOL!

    Lastly, (sorry I know this is a long-winded response- I’m passionate about rules, what can I say?) when I first visited my son (in the Air Force) and stayed their house on base – I was in awe! I realized, I missed my calling – what a PERFECT place for someone like me. You must follow the rules in this little closed-off “society” if you will. I don’t think my son appreciates it BUT, think about it – to me it’s a safe haven. They don’t lock their doors, they don’t lock their car – they can walk outside at 2am and not worry about getting mugged. When the rules are in place and actually enforced- life is good to me that way. I sleep better at night knowing my daughter-in-law, son, and their 8 month old baby girl are safe. I should have been in the armed services, I seriously missed my calling. I’m not even joking.

  4. Nikki says:

    For the most part, I follow the rules. It depends on the day, or my mood.

  5. Joy says:

    I’m a keeper. I do speed 6 miles over the limit on a highway and that’s my rebel side!!!!!

  6. Laura says:

    It depends on the rule…. some are made to be broken.

  7. Dina says:

    Keeper for sure! Its what I get paid to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

