Question of the day

How are your gardens? Are they done? Did you can anything?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question of the day

  1. Laura says:

    oh MASSIVE eyeroll on this one. My basil went gangbusters, so did the dill. Steve’s peppers did really well, as always. And Josh even got a stalk of corn (only one, but with three ears) out of the deal. But our cucumbers??? Holy buckets!! I accidentally bought “pickling cucumbers”, so you’d expect them to be small, right? BIG YELLOW FOOTBALLS. Like, overnight. I swear, if you sat out there and watched, you’d see them grow.

    And our tomatoes never turned red. Got lots of them on the vines, but not a single one turned red. Not one. Unbelievable.

  2. Sue says:

    You are creeping on my pictures 😉 LOL! That garden was last years garden. This years garden did fine, but doesn’t look that neat! I give up on growing melons. We have lots of watermelons and cantaloupe, but they just don’t turn out. This year the cantaloupe were still green, but rotten already. Can’t figure it out. The watermelons just never ripen fast enough! Oh and the peas never do much either. Enough for one or two meals for ourselves, but not much else. Our tomatoes have gone to town like usual and if Toby doesn’t get out there soon, a lot will be wasted. The squash look great and the pumpkins! Oh, you guys should see how big they are!!!!!! Most of them will need the tractor to haul them. yes, that big 🙂

  3. SKL says:

    The only creatures eating the produce from our garden are the deer. We rarely do anything with it, and this year we were especially busy, so, let’s just say we’re glad there are farmers.

  4. Nikki says:

    Well, I don’t have my own garden but I eat fresh just about everyday thanks to my neighbor!

    His garden did okay for the most part. His tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and zucchini all did well. His beans didn’t do as well though. The plants themselves grow like crazy but they didn’t produce very much, and now they have a weird texture. His onions were really good.

    I’ll do a small one next year. My neighbor said he’d help me.

  5. Jenny says:

    This yr we only did cucumbers, onions, & watermelons. The onions did excellent, cucumbers were ok- ended up with a bitter taste on the peel, and watermelons well so far we had 1 good one. We had some tomato plants & pepper plants on the deck. Came back from our SC trip and they were all fried. Guess I forgot to tell my mom to water them. The pepper plants came back though. Can’t wait for those habeneros! YUM

  6. Karen Joy says:

    My pea plants were huge,just massive but produced small old pea pods,very strange.My beans did well but I couldnt pick them when they were producing so they went to waste.Tomatoes are doing great for the first time ever for me so we’ve been eating on them.And this yr I planted red peppers for the first time and they are just now turning from green to red.So Id say it was mostly success this year.Oh my beets did good to,Still some in the garden.

Leave a Reply

