Is It Legal?

Boy, what do you all think of this? Are you with the student or the school? What do you think should have happened? Is “hell” a really bad word to you? Where do you draw the line or shouldn’t this matter?

This entry was posted in graduation, Valedictorian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is It Legal?

  1. Laura says:

    Ok, my video is loading, so I’ll watch it and revise as needed. However from what I read? These people have sticks where they don’t belong. This young lady presumably worked her tail off to get where she is. To ‘misspeak’ a single word, especially “hell”, is not grounds for holding her diploma. Do they suspend every student they hear in the halls who is swearing? Honestly, I hear the f* bomb dropped by 6th graders!

    Frankly, I don’t care if it’s “legal”, I think it’s awful that they’re doing this. Unless, of course, every student in that school has a perfect 4.0, is graduating with a full scholarship to the university of their choice, is within the ht/wt guidelines, can play 3 sports at championship level, and can play a musical instrument like a virtuoso. If that’s the case? Then I’d say they’ve earned the right to be so petty. Otherwise… bigger fish to fry…

  2. skl1 says:

    I don’t think they can deny her graduation credentials. I guess they could keep her out of the ceremonial part of it. Though it seems that ship already sailed.

    I do not see why she would not apologize if it was truly a mistake. Is that not part of life – you admit your mistake and move on? When she has kids, is she going to want the school atmosphere to be full of crude language, sanctioned by the school? And if she did it on purpose, then she broke the rules (having the speech approved) while flaunting the privilege of being valedictorian. I’m not sympathetic.

    I do not believe this was the purpose of the first amendment.

  3. starlaschat says:

    Valedictorian? I think it is crazy as far as cuss words go that’s not a very bad one could have been worse. Navar says that a lot of the kids say Crap as a cuss word and that the kids don’t really consider that a cuss. I tried to help Navar before school started to clean up his laungage $5 dollars a cuss word. I did not include Hell so I guess there you go I did include Crap. :+) I made 90.00 before school started. I will just pay bill with the money so it’s not like I get to go on a spending spree drats.
    Cute header by the way! I Love laundry hanging there’s somthing whimsical about it. I also liked the little chipmunk header that was very cute too.

  4. Nikki says:

    What a joke! Protecting their students? Are they 4?! No, I don’t agree with this at all! I think it’s ridiculous that they are even making a stink about it! I’m shocked!

  5. Joy says:

    I also disagree. Maybe in my day this would have applied because we didn’t talk the way we do now but jeesh, now they call people bitches on TV shows. I really think this word probably just slipped out.

  6. Phyllis says:

    To hold a student’s diploma because of the word “hell” in the speech has got to be one of the most ludicrous things I’ve heard in a while! P-l-e-a-s-e! That said, however, I do think if the school feels an apology is required that the student should just simply apologize! What’s the big deal about a simple apology? It was a mistake, we all apologize for the mistakes we make.

Leave a Reply

