T.G.I.F.

I hope everyone had a good week. Mine was going pretty smoothly until Wednesday. Both Bailey and I started to feel the cold coming on. It was inevitable, it happens every September. Little germ monsters unite, and they usually win! Today, (Thursday) as I’m typing this I’m sipping on hot chicken broth. Campbell’s is mine and Bailey’s go-to comfort food when we’re sick. Jason’s is Lipton Chicken Noodle. What’s your go-to comfort food when you’re not feeling well?

This weekend. We have a family get together on Saturday with Paul, Joy, Toby, Sue, the kids, and grandparents. I’m sure we’ll be fine by then. I’m doing everything I can to get us better. I even kept Bailey home from baseball practice! *gasp* Saturday should be a good time. Hopefully it’s nice enough to sit out on the deck and visit.

Sunday is baseball. We’re in 1st place, with a record of 4-0. The boys, coaches and us parents are all very proud! Goes to show you, hard work pays off. They bust their butts at every practice. It’s been a blast to watch!

I know it’s been quiet around here. We figured, with no one really commenting, there is no point in posting. We’ll see how it goes. If it picks up, we’ll post more. If not, well…we’ll just play it by ear. Hope everyone is doing well! Feel free to vent or strike up a conversation over at the “What’s on your mind” tab.

Have a great weekend!!

This entry was posted in baseball, comfort food, family, TGIF, weekend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to T.G.I.F.

  1. skl1 says:

    Hi! Not much new for me to report. I am still sleeping off the “big deadline.” Today I woke up thinking I was caught up on sleep, then fell asleep and took a nap for half of the work day! I dreamed about organizing, of all things. Hint, hint!

    Tonight I had to go to a fancy dancy meeting/reception at “our building.” Thursdays are the wrong day for this for a variety of reasons, but I decided to be a good sport about it this time. My sister took the kids from school to karate, dinner, and gymnastics, and then I met them at home (after 9pm) where we reviewed spelling words & memory work, read for tomorrow’s book test, did baths, therapy, etc. I just hope the kids have enough sleep to get through tomorrow’s tests etc.

    This week was relatively normal other than this evening. We’re still working on getting into a rhythm. It seems to be getting a little easier.

    This weekend my only exciting plan is to go grocery shopping. If the weather is nice, we’ll hang out at a park for a while. I also want to start doing some math practice on the internet to shore up some weak areas and prep them for the coming week.

    Something funny I noticed about my kids’ school papers. They have some other kid’s handwriting on some of the answers. Nice, neat numbers that my kid most definitely did not write. What’s up with that? Are the kids mixing up their papers when they’re halfway through? Kinda hard to gauge progress if that is the case.

  2. Joy says:

    It’s very gloomy in our neck of the woods today. I’m polishing up the inside of my house today for our company tomorrow. We’re having a very easy meal. Steaks and or chicken breast, baked potatoes, Caesar salad, corn and green beans. YUM!!! It’s so easy that I’m freaking out today thinking I’ve forgotten something. Everyone else is bringing appetizers so there will be LOTS of food. Kathy is also bringing cupcakes and Nikki is making apple crisp. It should be a fun day. My brother is coming out this afternoon and hopefully the guys can golf tonight. It looks like it’s going to rain but that means NOTHING out here. It can look like this all day and not rain a drop!!

    I have three new little kittens that I did NOT want but just appeared here on Monday night. I think they were probably dropped off 3 or 4 days before that because Paul, Toby and I were outside and we heard a car in the driveway but thought it was just turning around. People who do that make me so mad. See a barn and it’s a free drop off for animals you don’t want so now it’s not your problem but mine!!! I’d much rather they not be here but I can handle 3 outside cats. They’re right around the 7-8 week mark. They are just adorable and so very friendly. I know they’ve been around people because they love to be held and cuddled and they are very clean and in good shape.

    I now have hives on my face and my right eye is so swollen that my glasses don’t fit right. I know it’s because I’ve been spending too much time outside and these allergens still aren’t gone. God I’ll be glad when it freezes. AND HARD. I’m so tired of this. I tried to make a doctor appt but couldn’t get in today. I hate to take a Benadryl. It makes me so out of it. I may take one when I fishing dusting and vacuuming. Then I can relax and have a snack and read a while. Darryl shouldn’t be here until later this afternoon.

    Everyone have a great weekend.

    • Phyllis says:

      How do you fish dusting???? LOL! I sure hope you’re feeling better. Benadryl knocks me out! An hour after I take it I’m sound asleep!

      As for the kittens…. what? These people never heard of an animal shelter? Or spaying/neutering? It’s just terrible to drop animals off and leave them to perish or survive according to survival of the fittest! 😦 Makes me just sooo darn mad!

      Sounds like family day will be a lot of fun. Enjoy!

  3. starlaschat says:

    No one really commenting? What am I chopped liver? I’m just teasing you. :+) I have bad allergys today it’s making me so tired I hardly have energy to type. They are loading the grain bins it’s so tough on my sinuses. I was actually thinking of taking a blog break yesterday, but today I don’t know. I would think with the colder weather people will be blogging more. Glad to hear the hard work is paying off with baseball. Enjoy your weekend.

  4. skl1 says:

    In other Friday news . . . I just spent 2 hours watching Queen videos on YouTube.

    I want to tell my kids about Queen, but Lord help us if they get overly inquisitive . . . . Miss E keeps a mental catalogue of how various rock stars died . . . did I mention she’s weird?

  5. Sue says:

    I thought she was loosing her mind 😉

  6. Laura says:

    I… have… a… week… OFF!!!!! No Scouts this week!! No parties or celebrations!!! All I have is Josh’s Football practice on Tues and Thursday! WOOHOO!!! It all starts up again the week after, but I get a week to breathe this week.

    My family is still here – they came out this week to help celebrate Josh’s birthday yesterday. We did the “kid party” at the local Forest Preserve. I was worried that the weather wouldn’t cooperate, but boy, did it!! It was windy and cold during the day, but around 4, the wind just dropped like a stone. It was about 60 and sunny and clear when everyone started arriving They hit the playground for a while, then we did a Nature Scavenger Hunt, had some hot dogs and cake, did presents, then hit the playground again. I wrapped the evening with a “night hike” of sorts – found a good dark spot in the woods and showed them that they don’t have to be afraid of the dark, that they can’t see color in the dark, and finished with the Wintogreen Lifesavers bit.

    It was a complete success…. AFTER I sent Mom and Dad back home to get the cake that I forgot!!!

  7. skl1 says:

    Sorry, I pushed some weird key and accidentally posted before I finished my comment.

    I was going to say that sounds like a perfect kid party and I’m so glad the weather cooperated for you.

Leave a Reply

