Question of the day

Which sex do you think has it easier in our culture? Have you ever wished you were of the opposite sex?

This entry was posted in Question of the day, questions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Question of the day

  1. Laura says:

    This is a really hard one. I’ll answer the easy part first. No. I’ve never had any desire to be a guy. Wished for some of the conveniences they have, like their attitude of “the world is my urinal”, but otherwise, no.

    But the rest? My knee jerk reaction was, “men have it easier”, because we give them so many passes – we roll our eyes when they pee on a tree, for example. Or when they do a lousy job at housework. We chalk it up to them being “men” rather than holding them accountable. But then I look at the larger picture, and see that they are more expected to provide for a family than women are. They’re expected to know everything about how things work AND be able to fix it without calling a repair guy in. They (white men especially) are the last group that it’s ok to discriminate against.

    I think it’s all in the perspective… both sexes have their advantages, both sexes have their trials. In the end, it’s a wash.

  2. skl1 says:

    Honestly, I think that in American society, women have it better, because we have a much broader range of choices in so many areas. I also happen to think that women have a broader range of useful capabilities.

    But in some ways, men have it easier, because they are able to take a more one-dimensional view of things. I mean, even if society didn’t expect women to view things on the intellectial, social, and emotional levels all the time, we would anyway. It’s how we’re wired. And sometimes, less is more.

    When I was a kid, I wished I were a boy, because girls had more restrictions on them then. For example, the requirement to often wear dresses and thus be unable to climb trees and such. And the time there was a karate mini-course at school that was only open to boys. (The girls’ choices were cake decorating, candy making, and hair styling.) And in gym, when the girls had to take dance while the boys took self-defense. And being allowed more free range because boys were considered less vulnerable than girls. Even in church, only boys could be acolytes etc. But nowadays, most of those restrictions are gone.

  3. Sue says:

    I have never wished I was a guy and don’t ever want to be! LOL! Like Laura said, each sex has it’s advantages and disadvantages. Adding to her list, they also are expected to not be afraid of things and kill any wild animals that may invade your home or check out the dark nasty part of the basement, or crawl under anything to fix whatever might be wrong. Nope, I don’t want to be a guy!

  4. Jenny says:

    No I have never wished to switch. However, I have wished that guys could feel what women have to go through each month!!!

  5. Nikki says:

    I’m not sure which one has more advantages. It could go either way. On any given day, men and woman are expected to do things the other isn’t. I think Laura put it well.

    I would never ever want to be a man!!!

  6. Joy says:

    I have never wanted to be a guy. Laura’s right. Society expects a lot of them and I agree with Sue, they have to get rid of the icky stuff. It would be nice to stand to pee though!

  7. skl1 says:

    Oh, you ladies would figure out how to do all that icky stuff if you had to – or how to hire a guy to do it! LOL.

Leave a Reply

